top of page

The Aric Hicks Interview (Harrisburg, PA)


Name: Aric Hicks


Height: 6-Feet


Position: Point Guard


High School: Columbia (SC)


Graduation Class: 2024


AAU Club: Carolina Underdogs


GPA: 3.5


Status: Uncommitted


Aric Hicks is a 6-foot Point Guard from Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. He's currently a sophomore at Columbia High School, and runs with the Carolina Underdogs on the AAU circuit. I first discovered Hicks on Instagram through his basketball work. Watching his past film from the winter, Hicks is an athletic guard who moves at a different gear. Showing some flashes of DJ Steward, former Duke standout, Hicks excels at the change of direction game while scoring efficiently at all three levels. Yes, he is A. Hicks and not DJ Steward, but the young man has a bright future and wanted to bring him to my network to introduce him to the world. I caught up with the 2024 prospect on life in Carolina, his sophomore campaign and preparation for junior season.

 

Aric Hicks Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

"I started playing basketball since i was young. I would play at the parks. When I started to take basketball seriously, I was at 10 years old. That's when I started playin aau with Harrisburg Cougars."

Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

"As a player, I'm a crafty guard with good vision and I like to play defense."

How is life living in South Carolina?

"Life in South Carolina is hot and good vibes out here. It's not a lot to do out here, but if you got a fun group of friends around you, you will have fun out here. I like South Carolina it's cool. All I do is hoop, and go home so my experience has been okay."

How was your sophomore season?

"My sophomore season was okay it had a lot of ups and downs. The season didn't go as we wanted it. We had to deal with injuries and transfer rules, so it was a tough year. Now that everybody is back healthy and eligible to play, we should have a better year next season."

You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

"What I'm doing to make myself the best player I can be is getting in the gym on my own way more. I'm actually working on game, and my weaknesses that I have. I just got done doing with track and was a state qualifier, so I was kinda slacking with getting in the gym. My training schedule now though is getting in the weight room three times a week, and going to the gym outside of AAU practice. Also, been going to the park to get sum work in if we have no practice."

What are your plans for this summer?

"I will be playing with the Carolina Underdogs, and we will be going to Atlanta, Alabama, Florida, North Carolina and Rock Hill, South Carolina."

Which athlete do you look up to the most?

"The athlete I look up to the most is Chris Paul, Ja Morant, Sharife Cooper, Simon Wheeler."

Who do you look up to as role models?

"My role models is my mom. I see how hard she works to take care of me, makes sure I have everything I need and helps fulfill my dream. So I want to work hard and make it, so I can repay her for all the sacrifices she made for me to be where I am now."

I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your junior season?

"What I'm looking forward to is going to playoffs, and making it to state that's the goal. I also want to get a offer before, and or during the high school season."

Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

"I would say if you have a goal or a dream you want to achieve, go for it and put your all into it. Don't settle for less, and don't let haters or people get in the way of your goal and dream. Also, keep god in your life to always stay prayed up, and pray for your love ones too."

HUDL Film


Twitter @kraftyboogie


High School Coach Information

Casey Geter

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


big head
big head
Aug 25, 2022

My little dude. He and my son Ashton Neely stayed in the gym together all last summer when he visited Altoona... I have mad love for this kid like if he was my son, literally watched how hard he work... Very proud of this young man

Like
bottom of page