top of page

Player Profile: Tristen Waters (Harrisburg, PA)


Name: Tristen Waters


Height: 6’2


Position: Point Guard


High School: Bishop McDevitt High School, Class of 2023


AAU Club: Philly Pride UAA


GPA: 3.0


Status: Uncommitted


Favorite hobbies outside of basketball: Video gams and hanging out with friends.


Expectations heading into your junior season: "Getting tall and building some muscle. Also having some type of offers, if not some attention on my name."



Tristen Waters is a 6'2 Point Guard from Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. He's currently a sophomore at Bishop McDevitt High School and runs with Philly Pride on the Under Armour circuit. Waters is a smooth athletic guard that can create his own shot and has elite court vision. He's a tough motor prospect that makes everybody around him better through his energy throughout games on both sides of the ball. I first discovered Waters through his sophomore season highlight tape and I was sold on his game. Waters will be taking on a bigger role next season for the Crusaders with the departure of Kenyon Elliot. Let's get to know more about the McDevitt star!

 

BREAKDOWN:


STRENGTHS

  • Knockdown Shooter, shot ready and sets his feet up on the catch.

  • Quick first step off the dribble.

  • Shows signs of playing strong above the rim.

  • Smooth scorer from all three levels.

  • Tenacious Defender, active hands on and off the ball.

  • Very athletic guard, moves extremely well on the court.

Tristen Waters is one of the smoothest sophomores that I've seen from this past season. The McDevitt guard is an efficient two-way player that impacts the game in many ways. Waters is a smooth scorer who can consistently score at all three levels. He's very quick off the dribble as he uses his athleticism and length to beat defenders in the one on one game to get to the cup. Waters also shows the ability to shoot at times off the catch. One thing I like about Waters' game is his fast break dunks. He's also a tenacious defender with great hands and once he strips the ball from his man, sprints up the court then flushes the ball, that is something that many prospects don't do. This kid is going to be special as I have a good feeling about Tristen Waters!


THINGS TO IMPROVE ON

  • Ball Handling

  • Consistently shooting the ball

  • Getting Stronger

  • Playing in control when finishing in the paint.

Tristen Waters does a lot of things right on the basketball court, but every young basketball player has something to work on. Getting stronger is a must for Waters. He's a very athletic guard who's talent and motor is out of this world and if he puts on more muscle this offseason and general strength, he can create more mismatches for himself. Getting stronger can also go into finishing better around the paint with self control and his ball handling facing contact. Another thing for Waters to focus on is consistently shooting the ball. If defenses catch on to Waters' inside attack, he'll need to become consistent in his mid range and 3-point game to show that he's a do-it-all guy.


Below is my interview with Tristen Waters.

 

TRISTEN WATERS Q&A

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball when I was 4 in Boys and Girls Glub and Hard2Guard clinics."


Describe your game.

  • "I’m a very long 6’2" guard that has pride in playing defense. I have a lot of athleticism, a quick first step, very lethal in translation and in the triple threat. I'm also consistent off the catch and shoot."


What is your role on Bishop McDevitt’s basketball team?

  • "Main scorer and a star player for McDevitt."


How was your junior season?

  • "My sophomore season was great because during the shutdown. I would say that was when I have been the most serious about basketball and getting better but when it comes to the team, I would say it wasn’t that bad. I would have rather seen fans and went to summer leagues and tournaments with my teammates but it’s all good. If I’m being honest there really wasn’t any chemistry, but the scary thing about that was that we made it to the second round in playoffs so I would say our success was good."


How’s the experience been so far playing with Philly Pride for AAU?

  • "The experience has been a movie", Waters laughs, "Traveling to Philly 2 out of 3 times a week but it’s all worth it because I’m going against d1 talent and competing at a very high level. Every day over there is a learning experience for me and it’s only gonna make me better."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "Just working out, watching my old film and building from it. Competing against people who are gonna push me and get me to a level I don’t even think I can reach."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "Paul George, I just had always tried to resemble my game around his as a little kid. I just love how shifty he is and how he can get a bucket, but also lock up at the other end."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "My family is a very big influence on me. How they always are dedicated just as much as I am and wanna see me win in life to be the best person I can be. I owe them a lot and I hope won day I can repay them for all they have done for me."


It’s still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your junior season?

  • "Winning a championship and just looking at my sophomore accomplishments and aiming to beat those and make history at Bishop McDevitt."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "Just have tunnel vision. Don’t look what’s around you, just keep working and your time is gonna come."




Tristen Waters, Bishop McDevitt High School Class of 2023


MEDIA ON TRISTEN WATERS

- HUDL - Sophomore Season Highlights http://www.hudl.com/v/2FE3nM

- Tristen Waters, Kenyon Elliott combine for 37 points as Bishop McDevitt defeats Bermudian Springs in District 3 4A tourney https://www.pennlive.com/sports/2021/03/tristen-waters-kenyon-elliott-combine-for-47-points-as-bishop-mcdevitt-defeats-bermudian-springs-in-district-3-4a-tourney.html


Twitter:


High School Coach Information

Michael Gaffey - Email


AAU Coach Information

Kevin Stewart - Email


Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page