top of page

Player Profile: Trey Martin (Boiling Springs, PA)

Updated: Jan 24, 2022


Name: Trey Martin


Height: 6’4’


Position: Point Guard


High School: Boiling Springs High School, Class of 2022


AAU Club: Philly Pride Gold/Big Shots CPA


GPA: 4.0


Status: COMMITTED - Shippensburg University (11/2/21)


Favorite hobbies outside of basketball: Fishing, hanging out with his family, friends, and dog.


Expectations heading into your senior season: "Compete for league title, improve upon our win total and qualify for districts."


Trey Martin is a 6'4 Combo Guard from Boiling Springs, Pennsylvania. Trey is a primary ball handler on most of the teams that he plays for, but also spends some time on the wing. He is currently a junior at Boiling Springs High School and runs with two different clubs, Philly Pride and Big Shots CPA (South Carolina) on the AAU circuit. Trey is one of the toughest guards in the Central Pennsylvania area that I have seen in recent years. He's a smooth scorer at all three levels who always takes what a defender gives him and the 4.0 GPA comes in hands as he's a very smart basketball player. The Junior guard averaged 22.6 points, 6.6 rebounds and 1.8 steals per game for the Bubblers throughout 14 games. Trey has been successful throughout his individual performances, but in his senior year he is looking to lead the Bubblers to a District playoff appearance. Let's get to know more about Trey Martin!


 

BREAKDOWN:


STRENGTHS

  • College Ready Prospect

  • Elite Scorer, scores effortlessly at all three levels.

  • High IQ Guard, always makes the right reads on the floor.

  • Knockdown Shooter, can extend his range.

  • Natural Born Leader

  • One of the hardest working individuals that I've met.

  • Plays Above the Rim

  • Strong Ball Handler

  • Strong On-Ball Defender

  • Will have a big summer with his recruitment taking off.

Trey Martin is a one of kind player who you would love to have on your team. Martin's strengths are making the right reads with the ball in his hands, scoring efficiently at all three levels and shows promise on the defensive end by playing hard defense. Only knowing the young man for a week now, Martin holds himself to a high standard and the way he comes off as a person, I've been highly impressed. He puts so much time into the game such as his individual workouts and watching film as you don't see many young players taking the time to do these things. I'm telling you Martin is going to go places and work his butt off as long as he stays poised and mentally prepared towards the game of basketball.


EXTRA NOTES

Some other aspects that I will talk about is Trey Martin's preparation towards the game. As I've mentioned before but from what he told me, Martin told me that this offseason he will focus on getting his shot sharper and continuing to watch film and up his conditioning to make sure he's a complete player. Martin went down with a minor injury in his first game against Bermudian Springs and he said he had struggled getting back into shape despite him going on scoring runs. The mental game is the most important part for Martin this offseason. I asked Trey several questions so you guys can get to know him better.



 

TREY MARTIN Q&A

When did you first start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing in 2nd grade at the YMCA youth league. I had been around basketball since I was born though because my father was the head boys basketball coach at Big Spring at the time."


Describe your game.

  • "I try to be versatile on the court. I think I can score at all three levels and I can guard the 1-4. I also try to be fundamentally sound and make the right basketball plays."


What is your role on Boiling Springs basketball team?

  • "I have been the captain the past two years and my goal is to help lead the team. I am relied on to score consistently also."


How have you been keeping yourself busy during the early part of the pandemic?

  • "I worked out a lot during that time. I was in the weight room 5 days a week at Power Train. I was also playing in a lot of open runs and open gyms."


How was your junior season?

  • "Looking back on it, it was a good season. We were happy to be playing because of the pandemic, but overall I enjoyed my junior season."


They say this time of year is called “Separation Season”. How important is it for you to travel to new places and get the right exposure for your game?

  • "I’m excited to be playing on Philly Pride Gold which is coached by former Penn State assistant, Brian Daly. It is extremely important to travel outside of Central PA to get exposure. For example, last year I made the trip down to South Carolina to play with Big Shots CPA and played a lot in New Jersey with Difference Makers and the Miller Report. That definitely helped out my exposure."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "I am in the weight room four days a week and I try to get in the gym 20 hours a week of individual work. I also plan on playing in some open runs somewhere. I took up yoga too to help with my flexibility and core strength."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "Michael Jordan definitely. I loved his mentality of always wanting to win and his competitiveness. I can also appreciate his work ethic."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "I look up to both of my parents. They are amazing people and I wish to be like them one day. I also view Eddie Carrai as a role model. He is one of my fathers former players and he is like a big brother to me. He’s helped me along in my career and made such a big impact on my life."


What do you look for in a college?

  • "I look for a great academic program that I am interested in. I also look for the right fit environmentally, academically, and basketball wise."


It’s still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

  • "I am looking forward to playing summer league and team camp with my teammates. Open gyms and workouts with my teammates also. The rides almost over with my high school career, so I’m just trying to enjoy it and put in as much work as I can to be successful."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "Enjoy the journey because it goes very very quickly. Through the ups and downs, you can always look back on your times in high school and have good memories especially with your team!"






2020-2021 Boiling Springs Bubblers Basketball team


Trey Martin - 2019/2020 Sophomore Season Highlights


OTHER LINKS ON TREY MARTIN


Boiling Springs’ Trey Martin ready to prove he is among Pa.’s best basketball players https://www.pennlive.com/sports/2021/01/boiling-springs-trey-martin-ready-to-prove-he-is-among-pas-best-basketball-players.html


Twitter:


High School Coach Information:

Joel Martin - Email


AAU Coach Information:

Brian Daly - Philly Pride Gold

Nate Owens - Big Shots CPA


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page