top of page

Player Profile: Timi Akisanya (Columbia, MD)

Updated: Apr 20, 2022



Name: Timi Akisanya


Height: 6-8


Position: Power Forward/Center


High School: Chapelgate Christian (MD)


Graduation Class: 2023


AAU Club: Central PA Elite


GPA: 3.2


Status: Uncommitted


Timi Akisanya is a 6-8 Power Forward from Columbia, Maryland. He's currently a junior at Chapelgate Christian Academy and runs with Central PA Elite on the AAU circuit. Akisanya is the first Maryland prospect that I have worked with in my network. Akisanya had a solid junior campaign earning MIAA All-Conference First Team honors, and averaged 10.4 points, 9.7 rebounds, and 2 blocks throughout 33 games for the Yellowjackets. I invited Akisanya to the RPN as I believe that the young man can be very special one day. So let's get to know more about big Tim!

 

Breakdown


Strengths

Back-to-the-basket Game

  • "One of Akisanya's best traits, the 6-foot-8 product uses his size to his advantage to back down opponents. Akisanya told the RPN that he has a lot of post moves in his arsenals, as well as counters. The young man knows how to put the ball in the basket, no matter what you through at him!"


Finishing in the paint.

  • "As I mentioned above, Akisanya knows how to put the ball in the basket, no matter what you through at him. In this case, he knows how to put the ball on the floor. Even if it's 15 feet away from the basket, Akisanya shows flashes of putting the ball on the ground to score at will."


Rebounding

  • "Another strong trait of his, Akisanya is a rebounding machine. When it comes to his ability to rebound, he reminds me of a younger Oscar Tshiebwe with his aggressiveness. Akisanya is a hungry dog down low who even had 14 boards in one game. It's some pretty high level stuff!."


Shot Blocking

  • "Have you ever heard the basketball saying, "Not in my house." Well, this applies with how Akisanya is active in the paint. Akisanya blocks the best of shots as he uses his frame to an advantage."


Things to Improve On

Getting Stronger

  • "Look, Akisanya is pretty strong for a youngbull youngbull *laughs*. But there is nothing wrong with getting some extra work in. Once Akisanya works on his body this upcoming offseason, he's going to look like a baby Shaq and dominate above the rim."


Working on his jumper.

  • "The biggest thing Akisanya preached to me was developing his jumper. Spending so much time in the paint, he never had to worry much about shooting. But re-evaluating himself, he expects to work on it and start shooting more middy's in the 15 foot area. Consistency wil be key for Akisanya."

 

Timi Akisanya Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball when I was 7 years old. I started with camps and moved my way to rec leagues and then AAU."

Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • "My skill set revolves around post scoring for the most part. I have a lot of post moves and counter moves that I'm able to count on a lot of the time. I can also use my strength to my advantage. I'm a great shot blocker and rebounder. I can pretty much get to the rim at will as well."


How was life growing up in Maryland?

  • "Life growing up in Maryland has been great. I've always had a pretty good life for the most part. There have been some small bumps in the road, but I've been able to overcome them thanks to the glory of God. Growing up in Maryland has led me to meet a lot of people that benefit my life still up until this day."


How was your junior season at Chapelgate?

  • "My junior season was fantastic. We had a team record of 19 (wins) and 14 (losses). I averaged 10.4 points, 9.7 rebounds, and 2 blocks per game. I was also added to the MIAA All-Conference First Team as of recently. This year, I stepped into a really big role as the starting big man for my team that was full of guards. I also was able to get my name out and get some recognition."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "As of right now, I'm training and still going to open runs to keep my game sharp. I also plan to start weight-training again very soon and keep improving my game every day."


What are your plans for spring/summer?

  • "This summer I'll be playing with Central PA Elite under coach Jalen Archer. We're going to several states and cities including King of Prussia, Pennsylvania, Pittsburgh, Georgia, Las Vegas, New Jersey, and Philly."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "I mostly look up to Stephen Curry. He's been my favorite player for years. I've always loved watching him and how fun he makes the game. However, some players I look after to inspire my game are Giannis (Antetokounmpo), Zion (Williamson), Joel Embiid, and Kevin Durant."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "First and foremost my number one role model would be my mom. She's always been so strong and loving towards my siblings. Even when she was going through it herself, and I thank her for that. She always makes sure that we have what we need and will quickly do anything for us if we need it. I love her to death. I also look up to Jordan Praylow who is a guard at Lancaster Bible College. Being that I was a freshman on varsity, Jordan took on the big brother role very fast. We're still very close even as he's in college. I see him every time he comes to Maryland. He never fails to give me advice whether it's on or off the court. My last role model would be someone very close to me, Skyy Landrum. Skyy has been by my side through thick and thin. I've made endless memories with her that I'll cherish for a long time. She's also very quick to celebrate with me in times of triumph, and mourn with me in times of sorrow. She always tells me what I have to hear, and is there for me in good times and bad times. I thank Skyy for being in my life, and everything that she has done by my side."


I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

  • "In my senior season, my goal is to make All-Conference again. I also want to make All-County next year. I plan to take Chapelgate deep into the playoffs and hopefully go on a championship run. Hopefully, by then I'll be committed to a school as well. I hope to average a double-double next year as well as I was .3 off this year with the numbers."


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • "Thank you for having me. I would tell people to just never give up and have faith in your future. Keep working hard. Hard times will make the good times even more worth it. Lastly, stay in check with your mental health, and remember the Bible verse Romans 8:18."



Timi Akisanya - Chapelgate Christian Academy - Class of 2023





Timi Akisanya 2021 Junior Season Highlights - November (1st-Half)


Photo Credits

Richard Brown


Twitter @TimiAkisanya


High School Coach Information

Frick Frierson


AAU Coach Information

Jalen Archer


Contact Tyreese Smith

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


bottom of page