top of page

Player Profile: Teagan Colvin (Liberty Lake, WA)

Updated: Jan 25, 2021


Name: Teagan Colvin


Height: 5’7


Position: Point Guard


High School: Liberty High School, Spangle, WA, Class of 2024


AAU Club: Northwest Blazers GUAA


GPA: 4.0


Offers: Butler, Eastern Washington, Grand Canyon, Montana State and Washington State.


Status: Uncommitted


Hobbies outside of basketball: Cooking, Listening to music, Reading.


Expectations heading into your freshman season: "I’m really hopeful that I’ll still get to have my freshmen season. That’s the only thing that I’m focused on right now."



 

Teagan Colvin is a 5'7 Point Guard from Liberty Lake, Washington. She's currently a freshman at Liberty High School and runs with the Northwest Blazers on the Under Armour AAU Circuit. Teagan is a ESPN Top 25 player in her class and her game proves it. She received her first offer from Eastern Washington (WA) in the 8th grade and hasn't slowed down since. Teagan is an aggressive player who plays the right way. Great scoring instinct and a tough defender, she's a special prospect who has a great feel for the game and plays hard EVERY possession. Teagan also holds offers from Butler (IN), Grand Canyon (AZ), Montana State (MT) and Washington State (WA) before playing in a official high school basketball game. Teagan will be joining the Lancers of Liberty High School (2019-2020 WIAA 2B State Champions) under her dad and head coach, Chris Colvin, who's a prominent basketball figure in the Northwest. Here is my breakdown of the top guard!



 

BREAKDOWN


STRENGTHS

  • Can create her own shot

  • Fundamentally sounded guard

  • Great instincts - Very elite with change of direction, ball fakes, using different moves on defenders

  • Has a great feel for the game

  • Knockdown shooter

  • Strong ball handler

  • Strong pull up game - Mid Range

  • Strong slashing ability - Goes straight through contact to finish strong at the basket.

  • Tough all around defender

I like to call Teagan a typical "Coach's Kid". Why? Well she is Coach Colvin's daughter, but she's a fundamentally sounded guard who's always working on her offensive game. Teagan works with Pro Trainer Nate Bowie and he brings out the best in the young prospect. Teagan is a division 1 prospect who has a great feel for the game of basketball. She's able to score at all three levels and has a variety of moves to shake or cause a defender to think twice about guarding her. Teagan's jumper is still developing within her form, but for a young prospect she's very consistent of releasing the ball at a timely manner and goes straight up and down on the jumpshot. What stands out to me that I don't see from a lot of players is that Teagan loves contact. She will go right through you on layups and isn't afraid to go for loose balls and steals on the opposite end. Teagan's tenacity sets her apart at her age and she will have a lot of basketball success as she continues to grow and gains experience at the prep level.



THINGS TO IMPROVE ON - ADD TO HER GAME

  • Gaining Experience - Soaking in information from her coaches, trainers, etc and her play throughout her high school/prep career.

  • Rebounding

There isn't much for Teagan to work on from what I've seen, but two things that she can add to her game is gaining experience and a strong rebound game.


Gaining Experience - Teagan is just getting started and has a lot of successful for being a freshman in high school. Being a national player now, It'll be up to Teagan to see if she can handle what comes with it. Already claiming offers before high school, competing on one of the highest levels in AAU basketball, Playing under her dad with a state championship caliber team, Teagan has all eyes on her now and staying level headed and ready will benefit her throughout her journey. This comes with carrying herself as a student-athlete on and off the court, becoming a good role model in her community, getting stronger as a player, soaking in information from her trainers and coaches, and giving her all every single play. Teagan is fully capable of becoming a top dawg if she sticks to her plan!


Rebounding - One thing that Teagan told me that she can work on is rebounding. She already loves contact and is very aggressive, but adding a strong rebounding game can help rise her stock and more to her game.


I asked Teagan several questions so the audience can get to know him better.


Interview is below ↓


 

TEAGAN COLVIN Q&A

When did you first start playing basketball?

  • "My whole life I’ve always played up. I’ve never really played with kids my own age. I first started playing basketball when I was about four with kindergarteners. I wasn’t very good, I just played for fun. And I always had a smile on my face. I didn’t really care to score I just loved to run back and forth and up and down the court and be with my teammates. Then in 2nd grade I started to work on the actual skills of the game. In 3rd grade was when I started playing AAU. By 4th grade I could really start shooting and making threes. In 5th grade my AAU team started traveling outside our local area to play club ball. 6th grade was when I really started to put together a more complete game offensive and defensively. Then the summer before my 8th grade year, I received my first D1 offer. The summer before my 9th grade year I played for an Under Armour sponsored team in Pennsylvania, Iowa, Nevada, and Arizona. During those events I was blessed to be seen by multiple other college coaches and received 4 more D1 offers. Now I’m preparing myself to play in my first high school season."


Describe your game.

  • "I’m a fierce competitor on both sides of the court. I hate losing more than I love winning. I’m a vocal leader for my team. I do a little bit of everything in order to help the team win. Scoring, rebounding, passing, being a tenacious on ball defender and jumping passing lanes to get steals when off the ball."


What will your role be this year for Liberty High?

  • "I think my role on our high school team will be pretty similar to my role on our club team. I’ll be the primary ball handler, and I’m going to be the same type of leader on and off the court, and do everything that the coach asks me to do to help our team win a state championship."


You received your first offer from Eastern Washington back in the 8th grade. How did it feel getting your first offer before playing a high school game?

  • "I’m very passionate about the game of basketball so I’m very honored to have a coach recognize my game and the hard work I put in every day. When receiving the offer I was very proud to see that my hard work was starting to pay off, it also motivated me to continue to keep working and making my game better and better each day."


How was the summer for you?

  • "The summer was great, my AAU team played in many tournaments around the country and we went 30-2. Training was unusual this year because all our gyms were shut down, I did a lot of training in my garage and shooting in my driveway. I didn’t get to go to the showcases I was invited to because they were canceled due to COVID."


How has your recruitment been over this past year?

  • "My recruitment has been amazing so far! I currently have 5 D1 offers from Eastern Washington University, Washington State University, Grand Canyon University, Montana State University, and Butler University. I’ve gotten interest from many schools in several conferences, mostly in the Western states, but I’m open to going to school anywhere in the country. For me it’s about fit more than location."


All eyes are on you now. How does it feel to be ranked in the ESPN Top 25 in your class?

  • "It feels good to be recognized on a national level with many other girls that are also considered top players all around the country. It motivates me to work harder to continue to grow my game."


What are some of your favorite activities to do outside of basketball?

  • "Outside of playing basketball I like to watch as many games as possible on TV. That’s probably the best part of school being online, I can watch games all day long. I also enjoy reading, listening to music, working out, lifting weights, and cooking."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "I’m continuing to advance my game by watching players that are playing at a higher level than me, lifting weights, conditioning, doing speed and agility work, as well as basketball skill development, and shooting."


Which athletes do you look up to the most?

  • "I look up to Jayda Noble who is a true freshman playing at the University of Washington. She was a former player in our club and she’s a great leader who brings tons of energy to the floor every time she plays. She’s an amazing person to be around and learn from. I also look up to Hailey Van Lith who’s a true freshman starting at the University of Louisville because she’s a fierce competitor. No one works harder than her, and her hard work has allowed her to excel at the Olympic level and now in college too. She’s also a former player from our club."


What do you look for in a college?

  • "Academically I’m interested in accounting, so I wanna go somewhere with a good business school. The size of the college, the conference they play in, or how well known the college is doesn’t matter to me. I want to go to a school where I know the coaching staff wants me and believes my skill set can help the team succeed."


Which coaches or teammates do you look up to as role models?

  • "A coach who I look up to as a role model is Duke University Women’s Basketball Head Coach Kara Lawson. She inspires me to do great things on and off the court, and gives me a better understanding of how basketball translates to life. I watch all her videos on social media and am able to learn something new and interesting every time."


How has the preseason been for you?

  • "I’m completely doing virtual school and we haven’t been able to train as a high school team at all. So I’ve continued to train at home on my own, keeping myself ready for whenever our season starts."


What are your expectations heading into your first high school season?

  • "My expectations for my freshman year are to learn and grow as much as I can as a player. To do everything necessary to help us win a state championship."


What is one message of encouragement or motivation that you would give to people?

  • "Find someone or something that pushes you to work hard towards your goals everyday."






Teagan in her training session with Nate Bowie.




Teagan is expected to do big things at Liberty!


2023 NW Blazers UAA Basketball team


How A Top Player In The Nation Trains!!! Teagan Colvin Workout w/Pro Trainer Nate Bowie


Teagan Colvin 2024 | 5’7 PG | NW Blazers Fierce 15U GUAA | Nike TOC Session 1


Teagan Colvin 2024 5’7” PG | NW Blazers 15U GUAA | NIKE TOC Iowa


OTHER LINKS ON TEAGAN COLVIN


Twitter:


High School/AAU Coach Information

Chris Colvin - Email


Recent Posts

See All

댓글


bottom of page