top of page

Player Profile: Sophia Formica (Harrisburg, PA)

Updated: Apr 2, 2021


Name: Sophia Formica


Height: 5’3"


Position: Point Guard/Shooting Guard


High School: Bishop McDevitt High School, Class of 2024


AAU Club: Team Pennsylvania


GPA: 3.9


Status: Uncommitted


Favorite hobbies outside of basketball: Exercising, Dancing, Baking.


Expectations for your sophomore season: "I am looking to be a leader for my team, and to focus on locking up on defense along with being a big offensive threat and getting my teammates involved. I am also going to continue to work hard so that I can develop my game and get better everyday."



Sophia Formica is a 5'3 Combo Guard from Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. Sophia primarily plays on the wing, but is looking to run some point for the Crusaders next season. She's currently a freshman at Bishop McDevitt High School and runs with Team Pennsylvania on the AAU circuit. Sophia is a rising prospect who will become a name to remember these next few years. She's a smooth lefty who can create her own shot and her attention to detail is on point. I rarely see young prospects as polished as Sophia with her footwork and it's something that stands out to me in her workouts!

Sophia swung this year between JV and Varsity, but next season she's looking forward to taking on a bigger role. She'll be teaming up with Kennedy O'Brien (2022 Guard), Sanai Moore (2022 Guard), Taylor Foster (2022 Wing) and the rest of the Crusaders. Let's get to know more about the smooth lefty!



 

BREAKDOWN:


STRENGTHS

  • Agility

  • Attention to detail is on point.

  • Ball Handling Skills

  • Can score from all three levels.

  • Court Vision, very skilled passer.

  • Excellent Agility

  • High IQ Guard, always makes the right play.

  • Knockdown Shooter

  • Size up game is pretty solid.

  • Uses a variety of moves to score.

Sophia Formica plays above her years and that's why she has seen some Varsity minutes. I had a feeling that she was going to get moved up from seeing parts of her offseason during the fall, but she is a special prospect and here's why. Formica's ability to size up a defender and take her off the dribble is pretty elite for someone her age. For only being 5'3", she is a relentless finisher who absorbs contact in the paint and finishes strong every time. Formica is also a knockdown shooter who buries the trey ball once her feet are set. One thing that stands out to me about her game as mentioned before is her attention to detail. I seen her offseason workout mixtapes created by Kee Vandaway and RISE Sports and I was highly impressed with her attention to detail in her agility, foot placement, staying low to the ground on moves, etc. Those little things are often overlooked by young athletes and the fact that Sophia naturally moves like that with the ball in her hands, she will be a force for a long time!


THINGS TO IMPROVE ON

  • On-Ball Defense

  • Physicals- Getting Stronger and Faster

  • Rebounding

  • Shooting Habits

Sophia Formica plays above her years, but there are a few areas in which she'll need to her improve her game. Over time, Formica has mentioned that she'll need to work on getting stronger, rebounding and her on-ball defense. She's still young and can hold her ground, but it will be important for her to work on getting more physical as a player as this will help her develop into a complete player. One thing I noticed about Formica's game is her shooting form. Formica shoots the ball well once her feet are set and she releases at a quick pace, but sometimes I caught her release at her chest and not shooting up. A lot of young players often shoot from their chest and this creates problems as it can cause a delay for the shooter to get their shot up and makes it easier for defenders to block it. Once Formica adds the physical strength and change certain habits, her shot will look way more fluent and effective each time she's loading up! I asked Sophia several questions so you guys can get to know her better.



 

SOPHIA FORMICA Q&A

When did you first start playing basketball?

  • "I first started playing basketball when I was 5 years old and I played on a team with all boys and one other girl."


Describe your game.

  • "I am a crafty guard who likes to get everyone involved in the offense. I am shooter, can knock down the three, and can take you to the basketball off the dribble."


How has your first-year experience been at Bishop McDevitt?

  • "For being a freshman, I think that Bishop McDevitt was very welcoming. There was definitely some ups and downs especially because of the pandemic but we always stayed together as a team. I think for our team it’s just the beginning and that there is a bright future for Bishop McDevitt."


How was your freshman season?

  • "I work very hard all throughout the quarantine and the summer before my freshman season to make sure that I was getting better and ready to perform in high school. I was able to start on varsity for our first game of the season and that was definitely a great opportunity. I think overall the season was great, but I am going to continue to work so I can build my game and be able to be a leader and help my team for next season."


What are your plans for the Spring/Summer?

  • "During the spring and summer, I usually have multiple trainings almost everyday so I am going to continue to go to them. I am going to be playing with Team Pennsylvania for AAU and I am also going to hopefully attend basketball camps and clinics."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "To make myself the best player I can be I attend multiple trainings every day which consist of basketball skill work, shooting, conditioning, and strength training. I don’t take trainings off because I try to separate myself and better my game. I study the game and watch film, and I also try to make sure I am mentally prepared because I know being mentally tough is a big part of basketball."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "I would say although she is still young, I probably look up to Paige Bueckers the most because she plays the game with such pace and doesn’t let anyone change her pace. I think she is mentally tough and just an overall poised player who can do anything that a coach wants her to do."


Which figures do you look up to as role models?

  • "My trainers and coaches, Nashon Walker, Bryan Majors, Corey Dickerson, and Shawn Lewis are probably the biggest role models in basketball that I look up to. They want the best for all players that they train and they taught me how to be a role model and how to be the best version of myself on and off the court."


It’s still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your sophomore season?

  • "In my sophomore season, I am looking to be a leader for my team and am looking to be a big offensive threat while also focusing on locking up on defense. As a team we are looking to win games and play our best basketball."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "I would say that if you want something you really have to work for it and every time you want to take a day off just think that there are so many other people that are out working you. You always should want to outwork and out hustle everyone. Always have confidence and never set limits for yourself because the only barrier is yourself. There are going to be ups and down all the time but you have to stay mentally though and keep working."



Sophia Formica, Bishop McDevitt High School Class of 2024





2020-2021 Bishop McDevitt Lady Crusaders Basketball team

Some highlights from Sophia's 8th Grade Offseason - RISE Sports HD https://www.risesportshd.com/



Twitter:


High School Coach Information

Kevin Dupes - Email


AAU Coach Information

Taylor Dippery - Email

Corey Dickerson - Email

Greg Cavoli

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page