top of page

Player Profile: Skylar Forbes (Canada)

Updated: Feb 21, 2022


Name: Skylar Forbes


Height: 6-2


Position: Small Forward/Shooting Guard


High School: J. Addison School (Ontario)


Graduation Class: 2022


AAU Club: A Game Canada


GPA: 3.7


Offers: Anderson, Drexel. East Tennessee State, Gardner-Webb and Western Michigan University.

Status: Uncommitted


Skylar Forbes is a 6-2 Wing from Markham, Ontario. She most recently graduated from the J. Addison School and plans on running with 'A' Game - Canada on the AAU circuit. Forbes currently holds offers from Anderson, Drexel. East Tennessee State, Gardner-Webb and Western Michigan University. Forbes is one of the more versatile prospects that I've had in my network. I discovered the Canadian prospect in her OSBA game against Markham Prep. Standing at 6-foot-2, Forbes uses her height to an advantage in the open court. From being able to knock it down from the perimeter 23 feet out to putting a girl in a picture taking moment in the paint, Forbes elite scoring ability is top notch and she tends to get real hot.


Although she's a monster on the court, and not just with her size, Forbes is one of the most laid back people that I've talked too. She's a comedian let me tell you *laughs*. But I've had a blast working with Forbes as she's well beyond her years, and always knows when to put a smile on someone's face to make their day better. But enough of me gassing her up, let's get into the project. Here is Skylar Forbes!

 

BREAKDOWN:


STRENGTHS

Athleticism

  • "Forbes showcases a strong level of athleticism with her ability to see the floor and outmuscle opponents."


Can score at all three levels.

  • "One of the smoothest big guards that I've seen. Forbes excels at game like reads and always looks to make the right play. Highly impressed with her approach to the game."


Deep Accurate Shooter

  • "A real cold player from three, Forbes is always shot ready and has the elite ability to score from the mid range area and beyond with a fast release."


Elite Playmaker

  • "Forbes makes everybody around her better through her ability to see the floor. As mentioned above, the Division 1 recruit excels in the passing game in setting others up. Being tall is beneficial for Forbes as a bigger guard."


Solid Inside-Out Presence

  • "Forbes is an inside-out threat who's an automatic mismatch against any team. Having the ability to shoot, take girls off the dribble and put her back to the basket, Forbes has so much versatility to her game."


Strong Shot Blocker

  • "One of her best traits, Forbes is an elite shot blocker. Using her 6'2" frame to her advantage, Forbes blocks the best of shots in the paint even sending some off glass. The girl's ceiling is through the roof on both sides of the ball!"


THINGS TO IMPROVE ON

Finishing strong in the paint.

  • "Forbes is a very athletic prospect, but sometimes she throws herself off balance in the paint. If Forbes can work on her stability and agility throughout the offseason, best believe she can become a monster in the paint."


Mental lapses throughout games.

  • "If you don't know miss Forbes by now, she is a very goofy person who laughs at anything *laughs*. But in a basketball sense, she sometimes catches herself having mental lapses and not being sharp. It's basic human things but if Forbes can work on dialing in more for a full two halves of basketball, it would help her a lot as attention to detail is huge at the college and pro level."


Rebounding

  • "Another part to the mental lapses, Forbes sometimes gets caught ball watching on the defensive end. In order to be an efficient rebounder, being alert would be beneficial to her game as it's something she needs to work on."

 

Skylar Forbes Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball the summer before grade 9."


Editor: "Mind yall, she is from Canada so she says things like "grade 9" instead of freshman year. You know how backwards they are compared to us. Just for anybody who was confused by that *laughs*."


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • "Versatility is the best word I can use to describe myself as a player. Getting to the basket or shooting the ball. Whether it's mid range or a three, are the strongest aspects of my game. My game is the strongest on the perimeter. I see the court well and am able to help lead my teammates on and off the court. I am good on the defensive end as well. I can block shots, steal the ball and interfere passes, however, I am always ready to take a charge. I also play according to my role on each team, which means that I play the 1 through 3 on one team and the 4 or 5 on the other."


COVID-19 has impacted the world and especially with your previous season being postponed. How has the adjustment been getting back in the swing of things and finding rhythm?

  • "COVID-19 didn't negatively impact me mentally as much as I thought it would, especially with doing school online and being in a constant lockdown. I personally enjoyed online school more, because it worked better for me and my schedule. Because school was only 3 hours, it allowed me to be able to train at the gym daily for 6 - 7 hours from March until I left for AAU. Nothing really changed for me, therefore the 'normalcy' that I have now, feels the same as it did last year."


How has your senior season been up north?

  • "My senior season's been good for the most part. It's been a little rocky with us playing in the OSBA for the first time. Our team is relatively new and a majority of us have never played with each other before. We're getting better as the days go by, and our chemistry is so much stronger than before."


How’s your college recruitment been throughout the past year?

  • "It's been a great process. I currently have offers from Drexel University, Western Michigan, Gardner-Webb, East Tennessee, and Anderson University. Over the years, mainly from this past AAU season, I have received interests from Long Beach State, James Madison, UMass, Western Carolina, Kansas State, and a few more."


Who will you be playing AAU with this upcoming live period?

  • "If I come back for a fifth year, I'll be playing with 'A' Game basketball. We'll be going to May Madness in Kentucky, which is from May 19 to 21. Run 4 the Roses in Kentucky from July 5 to 8 and the National Championship from July 21 to 25."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "Getting into the best physical shape I can be in. I've always enjoyed lifting weights, hence going to the gym to lift, for a run on the track, or to get extra shots up. Those have been things that are benefiting me to become a better player."


This is off topic, but what is your favorite social media app?

  • "If Netflix counts as social media, then Netflix. If not, probably TikTok."


Editor: "See how she didn't just have one answer? Such a Skylar Forbes response. If you ever worked in a group project with her, you would know exactly what I'm talking about *laughs*."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "Michael Jordan and Sue Bird are two athletes I look up to because of their work ethic and constant dominance."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "My parents are my biggest role models. They've sacrificed so many early mornings and late nights for me to be able to something I love. It's always amazing to have them cheering in my corner."


I know it is still early, but what is the outlook on your future plans as of now?

  • "As of right now, visiting the other schools that have offered me will further my decision as to whether I'm going reclassify or not."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "Take it on day at a time. There's only so much you can take on in one day."

 

Skylar Forbes - J. Addison School - Class of 2022


Skylar Forbes 2019-2020 Sophomore Season Highlights (@jaddisongbb)


Skylar Forbes 2019-2020 Sophomore Season Highlights Part II


Skylar Forbes 2021 Summer AAU highlights


Media Coverage on Skylar Forbes


High School Coach Information

Christopher Francis


AAU Coach Information

Paul Weekes


Contact Tyreese Smith


Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page