top of page

Player Profile: Shawna Beatty (Queens, NY)

Updated: Jan 5, 2023

Name: Shawna Beatty


Height: 6-2


Position: Power Forward/Center


High School: Liberty (PA)


Graduation Class: 2025


GPA: 3.7


Status: Uncommitted


Shawna Beatty is a 6-2 Power Forward from Queens, New York. She's currently a sophomore at Liberty High School. Beatty grew up in the Queens section of New York City, but moved to Easton, 18 miles east of Allentown, in 7 grade. Mark my words, Beatty is going to be a special player once she hits a stride. Already being 6-foot-2 as a freshman and overpowering girls in the low post, she has a high upside in her game. But from the skill standpoint, Beatty developed at a quick pace since being an eighth grader in Spring 2021. From finding coordination within making moves, blocking shots at a high rate and rebounding, Beatty has come along well on the court. My new nickname for her is "The Bully" with how she bullies kids in the paint *laughs*. And, once her skill matches her frame and learning control, Beatty is going to be dangerous and a catch for college coaches. I believe that the New York product will be a tough out, and I'm blessed to give her this early opportunity. Let's get to know more about Shawna Beatty!

 

Breakdown


Strengths

Development as a player.

  • "Beatty's development as a player has been a great sight to see. Starting to play high level basketball at the end of her middle school years, she caught on to the game at a fast pace. Hitting 6-feet as an eight grader to being 6-foot-2 present day, Beatty has so much potential that will be un-tapped in the next couple of years."


Mid Range

  • "Being able to hit the fifteen foot jumper, Beatty does a solid job in the size up game. The mid range jumper is an important tool that every hooper needs, and the New York product is able to pull that out her bag."


Multi-Positional

  • "Me and Beatty discussed this throughout the last few months. Not just being a threat in the paint, but showing flashes of a perimeter game and taking girls off of the dribble is key for her. Beatty is a fan of bully ball in her offensive game!."


Rebounding

  • "Using her frame and length to an advantage, Beatty pulls down the best of rebounds standing at 6-foot-2."


Shot Blocking

  • "The best trait that I've seen out of Beatty, the NYC product's elite ability to send shots is second to none. Beatty dominates within her shot blocking as she times up an opponent's shot, and it can either go to a wall or in the stands, you choose. But Beatty was ranked fifth in the Lehigh Valley during her freshman campaign for the Raptors. Check out the clip below."




Things to Improve On

Soft touch around the basket.

  • "Beatty is a force around the basket, but controlling herself is something that she is still learning along her journey. Don't get me wrong, it's not a bad thing to muscle your way through, but developing a soft touch around the basket will help Beatty tremendously."


Stretching the Floor

  • "The biggest thing that I will be on Beatty about. Being dominant in the paint, great, but taking advantage of the freedom in today's game is even better. Becoming a threat inside and out will be crucial for Beatty. Whether it's working on her three ball, pick and pop game or learning how to take advantages of mismatches, Beatty has so much to un-tap within being a power forward. I'm really excited for her future!"

 

Shawna Beatty Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball when I was 5 with my dad."


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • "I’m an aggressive player I work well in the paint but I also got a mid range jumper. If needed I can handle the ball or spread the floor."


How was life growing up in Queens?

  • "It was good lots of basketball opportunities I played for two AAU teams. There was a lot to do, but it’s New York so you definitely had to work for what you wanted."


How was your freshman season at Executive?

  • "I think my freshman season went well. I chose Executive cause I knew coach Maurice Moore was going to get me where I wanted to be. I got to work with an amazing team with a hard working coach. I got to see how other girls want it as bad as me, and how hard they are willing to work. I think I learned how to go with the fast varsity pace. I got conditioned into being a varsity player, so I can handle tougher competition."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "I’ve been working on my footwork to make it faster and so it can come automatically. Doing a lot of calisthenics to build important muscles to avoid another injury. I go to the gym, and lift weights on weekends. To get my endurance up, I run a mile or more everyday after school."


What are your plans for spring/summer?

  • "For this summer I’m going to play AAU and summer league to practice the new things I learn. I’m going to work everyday on my handles and shot to make it consistent. I’m learning every position to make myself as useable on the court as possible."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "I've looked up to Brenna Stewart since I was younger. I used to watch her UCONN games. I like how physical she is, and her skill set is what I want to be like. She handles the ball, but isn’t afraid to post up. She plays hard all the way through even through injury."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "I look up to Ernest Hernandez as a role model. He played ball overseas when he was younger. I’ve watched how good my dad is, and how smooth he is with his game. He pushes me to be better than him. My whole life I’ve simply worked to beat him one on one. Even as a man in his late 40’s, he gives teens and early 20 year old's buckets."


I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your sophomore season?

  • "I’m looking forward to getting back to working for the district title. I’m looking forward to figuring out how the new team is gonna work. I’m also excited for another chance to get as far as possible."


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • "Thank you for having me. I think people need to hear basketball might feel like it’s losing its love. But in reality, it's just asking you to prove how much you want it. Yeah it may be harder, but you owe it to yourself to beat all obstacles."



Shawna Beatty - Executive Charter - Class of 2025


High School Coach Information

Maurice Moore


Contact Tyreese Smith


Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page