top of page

Player Profile: Sebastian Perry (Oklahoma City, OK)

Updated: Aug 30, 2021


Name: Sebastian Perry


Height: 6'1"


Position: Point Guard/Shooting Guard


High School: Heritage Hall School


Graduation Class: 2023


AAU Club: Team Run OKC/COOZ Elite UA


GPA: 3.9


Offers: East Central University (OK)


Favorite hobbies outside of basketball: "Hanging out with my family, being with friends, staying in the gym and working on my craft. Mainly being with my family. They make me who I am. Without them I wouldn’t be able to play the sport I love because their support is everything to me. Knowing that I can do what I want with their full support no matter always makes it easier for me to perform at a high level."


Expectations heading into your junior season: "Heading into my junior I plan on working on my overall game. I want to attack all my weaknesses and make them strengths. I want to win the state championship of course, but I want to build a brotherhood with my team and have fun with them. I want to be the leader and make sure everyone is on the same page and that’s to win no matter what. I don’t want to be complacent at all, so it’s mandatory to stay putting in extra work."


Postseason Accomplishments: All-State Class 4A Honorable Mention, Little All-City Honorable Mention, OSSAA 4A All-State Tournament Team


Sebastian Perry is a 6'1" Point Guard from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. He's a rising junior at the Heritage Hall School and runs with Team Run OKC/COOZ Elite Under Armour on the AAU circuit. Perry also claims an offer from East Central University. One trait to describe Perry's game: Toughness. The Oklahoma native is a do-it-all undersized guard who plays with a certain level of toughness and chip on his shoulder that separates him from many prospects. In his previous season, Perry averaged 12 points, 2 assists and 3 rebounds per game for Heritage Hall while teaming up with Creighton commit, Trey Alexander (4 Star Guard). Perry was also recognized for his hard work having several postseason accomplishments such as All-State Class 4A Honorable Mention, Little All-City Honorable Mention and OSSAA 4A All-State Tournament Team. Let's get to know more about Sebastian Perry!

 

BREAKDOWN:


STRENGTHS

  • Athleticism is off the charts.

  • Can score at all three levels

  • Definition of "Heart over height"

  • Elite Playmaker, natural born ability to always make the right play.

  • Elite Shot Creator, finds ways to hit difficult shots.

  • Has a great feel for the game, very smart player.

  • High Motor Guard

  • Knockdown Shooter around the perimeter.

  • Plays strong above the rim.

  • Plays with pace.

  • Smooth finisher around the rim, has a crafty layup package and finishes through contact.

  • Uses a variety of moves to score on the offensive side.

  • Very Competitive Player

Sebastian Perry is a special prospect who's game is well beyond his years. Being undersized doesn't concern him at all. Perry is a natural born playmaker who scores at all three levels with pace, He's able to score in three dribbles in the one on one game while hitting difficult shots throughout games. Perry has shown flashes of playing above the rim throughout the AAU season flushing the ball and sometimes catching a "body". My basketball heads know what I'm talking about *laughs*. Perry is also an excellent shooter who stays shot ready and always sets his feet before firing. His competitive fire, athleticism and High IQ are what define his game as Perry continues to produce every time he touches the rock. Very promising player!


THINGS TO IMPROVE ON

  • Handling the ball with off hand.

  • Not overthinking the game.

  • On-Ball Defense

Sebastian Perry is a offensive threat, but every solid player still has things to work on. Three things Perry needs to improve on is handling the ball with his left hand, overthinking the game and on-ball defense. Every guard can recognize when they need to strengthen their handle. Well pretty much every basketball player can recognize that. But Perry told me working on his left hand will improve his game so much. He also told me that he tends to overthink a lot and once he cleans this up, the game will flow more naturally to him. There's cons with being smart as you see. Last but not least, Perry uses a lot of energy throughout games and feels that he tends to slow down on defense. He's been working on endurance and leg strength for stability in order to become more sharper on defense. I can't wait to see Perry's progress throughout these next few years!


Below is my interview with Sebastian Perry. He provided a lot of thoughtful answers!

 

SEBASTIAN PERRY Q&A

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I was 3 years old and my father and mother had always allowed me to play any sport I wanted but I stuck with basketball."


Describe your game.

  • "I’m a shot creator who loves to be a playmaker. I can get to the rim when I need to but can also hit tough shots whether it’s step backs, contested, or just deep shots. I’m very athletic and shifty so I use it to my advantage to score."


What is your role on Heritage Hall’s basketball team?

  • "On heritage hall my role this year is to lead the team. I will give my all to scoring, defense, rebounding, and playmaking. I will be stepping up as one of the leaders so I’ll be prepared to take us through the storms we’ll face and end up winning."


How was your sophomore basketball season?

  • "Last season was great, we all bonded as a family. We had Creighton commit Trey Alexander who is a 4 star who helped us with our success big time. We came runner ups in 4A but we’ll bounce back this year for sure. I stepped up big time I earned 4A All-State tournament team, along with honorable mentions in All-State team and All-Little city team. I was able to average 12 points, 2 assists, and 3 rebounds. Next year I hope to see all those stats go up."


What are your plans for the Summer?

  • "I’ll be playing for COOZ elite on the UA rise circuit this summer. I plan to have the best summer and hopefully see more offers come around. I’m just staying in the gym and waiting for god to shine the light for my path to success because patience makes a path easier most of the times. I’m just staying humble and waiting patiently that’s it."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "This year I’ve been staying in the weight room a lot more to get a lot stronger because of my size. I’m still a growing athlete but just want to be stronger. I’m working really hard on ball handling because I want to make little to no mistakes while dribbling, my left hand has never been as strong as it has been and I’ve been able to do a lot of things on the court easier. Shooting I put up game type shots which means a lot of off the dribble work, I always work on combos that will free me up for a shot, but I make them as hard as possible so when the situation comes in game it’s not that big."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "Damian Lillard, he’s just like me kind of undersized was overlooked but plays with a chip on his shoulder and that’s how I feel. I love his confidence in himself which makes him play to level he does. He’s also an amazing shot creator and sometimes it’s unbelievable what he does. He’s loyal to the core which makes it even better to look up to him."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "Trey Alexander, he was an amazing role model on the court and off. He would give me tips on the game and what to do or what to expect. He never was “big time” either. He was the most humble teammate I’ve played with all the accolades he had. My father is one of my biggest role models he’s been my coach since I was young. He’s my coach as of right now and pushes me to go harder everyday. My brother Miles Perry, he’s older than me and graduated this year. He’s played with me since I was young because I played up with him. He’s always been my backbone when I mentally needed support. He knew what I needed and he was my support during the hardest times on the court. I will always be appreciative of that and I will use him as my mental support forever."


It’s still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your junior season?

  • "Heading into my junior I plan on working on my overall game. I want to attack all my weaknesses and make them strengths. I want to win the state championship of course, but I want to build a brotherhood with my team and have fun with them. I want to be the leader and make sure everyone is on the same page and that’s to win no matter what. I don’t want to be complacent at all, so it’s mandatory to stay putting in extra work."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "Be you and be devoted for change. Because with success comes risk and the ones who take risks normally are the ones who became successful."


Sebastian Perry - Heritage Hall - Class of 2023


2020-2021 Heritage Hall Chargers Boys Basketball team


2021 Team Run OKC/COOZ Elite 16U Team


VIDEOS

Sebastian Perry June 6-7 Tulsa Team Camp Highlights with COOZ Elite


OTHER MEDIA ON SEBASTIAN PERRY


Twitter


High School Coach Information

Chris Hamilton - Email


AAU Coach Information

Kevin Perry - Email



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page