top of page

Player Profile: Sarah Batra (Lebanon, PA)

Updated: Sep 13, 2022



Name: Sarah Batra


Height: 6-1


Position: Power Forward/Small Forward


High School: Cedar Crest (PA)


Graduation Class: 2022


AAU Club: Alyssa Thomas Elite (Central PA Elite)


GPA: 4.7


Status: COMMITTED - Williams College (04/18/22)


Favorite hobbies outside of basketball: Hanging out with friends and traveling.


Expectations heading into senior year: "I'm really looking forward to winning a lot of games and just having fun with my teammates in my last high school season. We lost 5 seniors, so I know that I will need to step up and be the best leader I can be both on and off the court."


Sarah Batra is a 6-1 Forward from Lebanon, Pennsylvania. She is a senior at Cedar Crest High School. The first thing that really impressed me from Batra were her grades. I have never met someone with a legit 4.7 grade point average in school and it's GREAT to know that there are student-athletes out here who take the classroom seriously and not just "getting by" to stay eligible. Let's get back on subject though. The 4.7 comes in handy as Batra always looks to make the right play. She's the typical player where she reacts more of instinct and uses her fundamentals rather than playing bully ball in the post. Batra is able to hit the jumper from 15 plus feet out and knows how to set up her teammates. She can switch more to a small forward at the next level if she If continues to work on her three ball. But if any college program needs a forward who's able to get it done in and out of the classroom, she's your girl. Let's get to know more about the Lebanon product!

 

BREAKDOWN


Strengths:

Bigger Guard

  • "I believe that Batra is more of a big guard with her high IQ style of play. With what she lacks in athleticism, she makes up for with her decision making. Her ability to see over the defense and use her 6-1 frame against smaller defenders, she's a very versatile player if used the right way!"


Finishing in the post.

  • "Batra's ability to square herself up and finish is pretty solid. She has a sense of awareness in knowing where to put the ball in the hoop and going through defenders."


Shooting the mid range

  • "One of the better mid range shooters that I've covered, this is possibly Batra's best trait as she always looks to score in this area and down. Doesn't hesitate to shoot and is always shot ready."


Shot Blocking Ability

  • "Batra uses her height to her advantage to block shots at a high rate on the defensive side!'


Shows signs of scoring at all three levels

  • "Batra is a pure stretch forward who plays inside and out but has also been developing a consistent three ball, from what she told me, Although she's still working on it, she's showing signs of being able to handle being around the perimeter."


Things to improve on:

Consistent Three Point Shot

  • "One of the biggest things for Batra if she wants to transition into a guard is working on her three ball. The mid range game is gold in the basketball world but with new age basketball, you have to be able to showcase the three on a consistent basis."


Defending Quicker Guards

  • "Another thing for Batra to improve on is being able to defend quicker guards. She rarely sees taller players who are quick on their feet, but that doesn't mean they won't come around at the next level. Just a thought, but this would certainly help her."


Rebounding

  • "One of my biggest takeaways of Batra's game. Batra is one of the smartest players on the court every time she's out there, but she's going to have to get mean on the glass moving forward. I've watched games and sometimes Batra struggles with getting rebounders over opposing teams and this is the biggest thing that she needs to work on competing at the next level."

 

SARAH BATRA Q&A

When did you first start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball when I was in kindergarten with a team at the YMCA."


Describe your game.

  • "I would say I’m a very versatile player who can score inside and out. I always play the center position in school ball, so I think I surprise people when I step out and shoot the 3. I’d also say I provide a strong defensive presence inside with my shot blocking ability."


How was your junior season?

  • "My junior season went pretty well. It was obviously weird with COVID, but we were lucky enough to get through the season without missing any games besides that 3 week statewide shutdown. We also had a new coach so that was different, but he did a great job of making sure we were prepared for everything. We didn’t make league playoffs because they cut down on the number of teams allowed in, but we did make it to the first round of districts. I think we had a lot of potential and could’ve gone further, but I’m just happy we got to have a season."


What is your role for Cedar Crest?

  • "My role for Cedar Crest this year is to be a strong leader both on and off the court. We lost 5 seniors, so I know I will need to step up by providing a reliable scoring option, being a strong rebounder, and being a good communicator on the court."


How was the live period for you?

  • "The live period went well. I played with Alyssa Thomas Elite the whole summer. It was great to have college coaches actually there on the sidelines this year. I’ve received interest from multiple schools so that was definitely exciting. The AAU season as a whole was just so much fun. I didn’t know anyone on the team at first, but we became a family very quickly. It was so great to play with new people and I’ve definitely learned a lot from playing with them. We played very good competition, so that will definitely help me in school ball. The team and coaches definitely made my last AAU season one that I’ll remember forever."


You're still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "Now that AAU is over, I’m focused on school ball and preparing for that. My school team has been having open gyms and we also played in a summer league so that’s been great. Other than that, I’ve been training on my own time as well, just getting lots of shots up and working on perfecting my post moves. I’ve also been watching film from last season to see how I can improve. My mentality right now is just to keep working hard even though there’s a lot of time until the season. It’s hard not having games, but I know it will all pay off when the season starts."


How important are academics to you?

  • "Academics are very important to me. My parents have always made sure I understood that school comes first. It can be hard to balance everything during the season, but I always work hard to make sure I keep my grades up. I also tutor a couple of my teammates. It’s really important that everyone on the team is eligible and able to play."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "I look up to a lot of people. One person I admire a lot is my older sister. She works very hard for what she wants and she is also a very kind and giving person. An athlete I look up to is Joel Embiid. I love his game and how he plays, but he also uses his platform to give back to his community."


It's still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

  • "I’m looking forward to improving my game. I think this AAU season has helped me a lot, so I’m excited to see how that translates to school ball. Our team goal every year is to win the section and at least qualify for the league and district playoffs. We came up short on 2 of those goals last season, so I’m excited to have another chance this year. I think a lot of people are counting us out because we lost 5 seniors and we’re a pretty young team, but that just motivates me even more."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "Always work hard and never be satisfied with where you are, there’s always something you can improve on.


MEDIA COVERAGE ON SARAH BATRA


Twitter @sarahbatra_


High School Coach Information

Will Wenninger - Email


AAU Coach Information

Tina Thomas - Email





Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page