top of page

Player Profile: Ryan Russo (Harrisburg, PA)


Name: Ryan Russo


Height: 6-2


Position: Shooting Guard/Point Guard


High School: Bishop McDevitt (PA)


Graduation Class: 2022


AAU Club: Team Final Black


GPA: 3.6


Status" Uncommitted


Favorite hobbies outside of basketball: Playing football and working out.


Expectations heading into senior season: "I'm looking forward to playing in the Giant Center this year. I believe we can get there and it has always been a goal of mine. I'm hopefully looking to pick up some college offers."


Ryan Russo is a 6-2 Guard from Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. He's a rising senior at Bishop McDevitt High School (HBG) and ran with Team Final Black on the AAU circuit. Russo originally attended Central Dauphin for his first two years alongside older brother, Rance Russo (Class of 2020), but has transferred to McDevitt last summer. Russo has had an active summer touring with Team Final Black throughout the live period and the young man's game has skyrocketed. He's a strong guard who's dead accurate from deep and can create his own shot off the dribble. His highlight dunks throughout games are eye catching and if I were you, I would not sleep Mr. Russo. Let's get to know more about the McDevitt guard!

 

Breakdown:


Strengths

- Athletic Guard

  • "Shows flashes of his athleticism when playing above the rim."


- Can score at all three levels.

  • "Confident shooter and can create his own shot off the dribble."


- High IQ Player

  • "Very intelligent prospect who makes everybody around him better with his playmaking ability."


- Improved On-Ball Defender

  • "Playing against some of the best players in his class during the live period, Russo has gained confidence in his defense as he's more prepared now on that side of the ball."


- Knockdown Shooter

  • "Buries the trey ball with accuracy."


- Plays strong above the rim.

  • "Highlight reel dunks are starting to become a thing for Russo."


- Tenacious Rebounder

  • "Using his 6-2 frame and broad shoulders to use, Russo gets the best of rebounds."


Things to improve on

- Adding more to his game.

  • "Russo is looking to spend some time in the post for the Crusaders because of size so he'll need to add a decent post game to use to his advantage against smaller defenders."


- Conditioning

  • "As a two=sport athlete, Russo said that he tends to get out of shape at the beginning of the basketball season due to football. The sports are a lot different in the way of football players playing a down, then they stop to reset. While a basketball player is running up and down the floor until a whistle is called. It happens to every football player at the beginning of their basketball season as I've seen guys in high school have the same issue. Russo will need to manage his time and recovery process to make sure he transitions properly into basketball shape. But being in the Crusaders' football program, they normally play into late November-early December so he'll have to use his time wisely."


- Off-ball Defense

  • "Russo told me this is something that he has to work on to become sharper at it."


Below is my interview with Ryan Russo.

 

RYAN RUSSO Q&A

When did you first start playing basketball?

  • "I've been playing basketball for as long as I remember. I want to say around kindergarten, or maybe a little after."


Describe your game.

  • "I see myself as a well rounded player that can score at all three levels. I can pass, rebound and play good on-ball defense."


How was your junior season?

  • "My junior season definitely had a weird feel with all the COVID restrictions and on top of that, I was at a new school. I had some solid games, but I'm expecting a lot more from myself this year."


What is an adjustment during your transfer process of going from public to private school?

  • "Transferring was definitely a huge adjustment for me. McDevitt is much different from CD both on and off the court. Basketball wise playing for a different coach, and teammates instead of the ones I have been playing with for so long was something that I had to get used to."


How was the Spring/Summer Live Period?

  • "The NCAA Live Period was a great opportunity. It was awesome to be able to play in front of hundreds of college coaches in person. My AAU experience this year was one to remember. Team Final Black is based out of South Jersey so it was a huge commitment to make it to practices, but it was more than worth it. Playing under TFB, I got to play teams like Team Final EYBL which is a level of competition I wouldn't have experienced if I stayed local. On top of that, the high level teams we got to play and exposure gained, I also formed amazing relationships and with my coaches and teammates."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "As far as basketball training, I make sure to workout individually every day whether it is on the driveway or if I can get into an indoor court. I also try to play pickup as often as possible. For off court work, I lift 4 days a week."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "Mac McClung is my favorite athlete."


Who do you look up to as a role model(s)?

  • "I look up to my parents because I respect their work ethic and values."


It’s still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

  • "Going into my senior year I have high expectations for the whole team at McDevitt, as well as for myself. I think we can make a deep playoff run and it has always been a goal of mine to play at the Giant Center before I graduate. I’m looking forward to being able to play in the playoffs this year since I couldn’t last year because of transfer rules. As far as personal expectations I’m hoping to earn some offers this year. I definitely need to have a big season since college coaches will be able to come watch games this year. I had a great AAU season with Team Final Black where I felt like my game developed a lot and I plan to keep building on that and be a leader for McDevitt this year as one of the only seniors on a very young team."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "Control what you can control!"



Ryan Russo Summer 2021 Highlights (Team Final Black)


Twitter @ryanmrusso


High School Coach Information

Mike Gaffey - Email


AAU Coach Information

Don DeLeo - Email

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page