top of page

Player Profile: Nitish Sharma (Canada)

Updated: Jan 11, 2022


Name: Nitish Sharma


Height: 6-7


Position: Small Forward


Hometown: Brampton, Ontario


High School: Excel Hoops Prep (Brampton)


Graduation Year: 2023


AAU Club: CIA Bounce EYBL


GPA: 3.7


Status: Uncommitted


Nitish Sharma is a 6-7 Small Forward from Brampton, Ontario. He's currently a junior at the Excel Hoops Training Institute in Brampton and runs with CIA Bounce on the Nike EYBL circuit. Sharma grabbed my attention during the early part of fall with his performance at the Elevation Nation Showcase. The Canadian prospect is one of a kind with strong play from inside-out creating his own shot. He reminds me a lot of Chris Bosh as Sharma can flat out dominate and being a lefty, he's able to get to his spots. Off the court, Sharma is a well respected person who's wise beyond his years. He prides himself on being a role model for the young hoopers of the south asian community in Brampton. Sharma is looking to change the narrative and wants to be the guy to set the blueprint. Let's get to know more of 'Tish Sharma!

 

BREAKDOWN


STRENGTHS:

Can score at all three levels.

  • "One of his best traits is scoring. Being able to score from all three levels at 6'7" is very impressive. Give Sharma the ball and it is a guaranteed bucket when he goes super saiyan."


Elite Shot Creator

  • "Being a bigger guard, Sharma takes advantage of defenses and creates for himself in many ways. Read the next note for more clarification."


Killer Mentality

  • "The famous quote, 'Kill or be killed,' by Jack London applies to how Sharma operates on the court. Dude is a beast when he's playing confident and is aggressive with the rock. He can either shoot it from 15 feet out, take you to the post to take advantage of the mismatch, or put you in a twister working you into a clean stepback. Elaborating more on the first note above."



Smooth Jumpshot

  • "Sharma is a smooth shooter from the key. International players are known for being able to light it up from the perimeter and Sharma is no different. With a nice lift and elevation on his shot, it's a knockdown every time for him. Very skilled in this area!"


Strong Post Game

  • "Using his size and frame to his advantage, Sharma keeps his post moves in handy punishing defenders in the paint scoring in bunches."


THINGS TO IMPROVE ON

Getting back in rhythm.

  • "Canada is now starting to open up again for interscholastic sports and getting back in basketball rhythm and shape is key at the moment. Many hoopers up north are hungry and itching to get after it again and I wish Sharma the best of wishes during his junior campaign."

 

NITISH SHARMA Q&A

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball in grade six."


Describe your game.

  • "As a player I am always a threat and can do it all. I take pride in my skill set as normally players my height and body are post dominant or one dimensional, but I can create for myself and teammates."


Canada suspended all interscholastic sports last season. During the year off, how have you been taking care of yourself and improving your game?

  • "My biggest weakness was body so over quarantine I began eating more healthier foods and lifting. I did ball handling drills and shooting drills on my net outside my house to stay ready for anything."


What is a typical day for you like at Excel Hoops?

  • "A typical day at excel for me is 6 AM skill development workout followed by school. I have basketball class first, so that's another skill session and after that I have lunch. Then, I go to weight room for an hour after that I have class again and then study hall and then practice. So, basically three basketball oriented and one weight room session daily."


From what I know, you are of South Asian descent. Being in a sport where South Asians are very overlooked, describe what it means for you to be a south asian player and having a chip on your shoulder.

  • "For me being South Asian, I want to be a role model for other south Asian kids and other cultures that are overlooked by making it far and having a successful career. With basketball so the kids that look up to me can say if he made it, so can I. I want to change the narrative."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "Like stated previously, I am constantly in the gym perfecting my craft taking no days off. My work ethic is what allows me to be the best version of myself."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "I look up LeBron because he does so much outside of basketball like speak up on global issues and create for his hometown. I respect what he does for the less fortunate and how he made a school."


Which coaches, teammates or other figures do you look up to as a role model(s)?

  • "I look up to many people but the one person I look up to most is my mom. Not only is she a single mother, but she works very hard to support my dreams. Without her, I would not be the person I am today."


It’s still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

  • "The season is young and some of my long term goals for my junior year is to play my hardest every game and never take a play off. I want to show people that I can hoop and play at the next level."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "Some encouragement for the people is to just be yourself and believe in yourself because if you don’t then no one else will."



Nitish Sharma - Excel Hoops Prep - Class of 2023


Nitish Sharma Elevation Nation Showcase Highlights



High School Coach Information

Edson Jones - Email


AAU Coach Information

Nicholas Davis

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page