top of page

Player Profile: Nikole Thomas (Tri-Cities, WA)

Updated: Jan 24, 2022


Name: Nikole Thomas


Height: 5’9


Position: Point Guard


High School: Kamiakin High School, Class of 2023


AAU Club: Northwest Blazers GUAA


Offers: Eastern Washington, Memphis, Montana State, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, Washington State and Weber State.


Status: COMMITTED - Memphis (12/25/21)


GPA: 3.9


Hobbies: Listening to music, Solving puzzles and Spending time with family and friends.


Expectations: “My personal goals are to improve my overall stats such as scoring, assists, rebounds, steals and increase my basketball IQ. Also, to lead my team deeper into the postseason playoffs.”


 

Nikole Thomas is a 5'9 Point Guard from the Washington Area. Nikole is originally from Memphis, Tennessee but moved to Tri-Cities, Washington during her elementary years. She's currently a sophomore at Kamiakin High School and runs with the Northwest Blazers on the Under Armour AAU Circuit. Her dad, Nick Thomas is a football and basketball coach at Kamiakin and is the CEO and Head Trainer at Xplosive Performance Training. Nikole is listed as a 3 Star recruit on the ESPNW rankings and holds offers from Eastern Washington, Montana State, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, Washington State and Weber State University. Nikole is an athletic, high IQ lefty who plays hard on both sides of the ball scoring at all three levels, a defensive menace and sets her teammates up to score. She has been in the gym with Nate Bowie of International Elite and competing with the prestigious Blazers program all summer. After a solid freshman year, Nikole is set to have a huge sophomore campaign and isn't settling for less. Here is my breakdown of the smooth lefty!



 

BREAKDOWN


STRENGTHS

  • Can score at all three levels

  • Elite Defender

  • Elite Facilitator

  • Explosive off the dribble

  • Finishes strong at the basket

  • Rebounding

  • Strong Mid Range Game

  • Uses a wide set of moves to score.

  • Versatile Player

Nikole is a smooth and fundamental left-handed guard who can pretty much get to wherever she wants to on the court. Working in the gym with her dad and basketball sessions with Nate Bowie, Nikole doesn't shy away from a challenge and she is a superb athlete. From breaking down her defender, driving through the lane and stepping out to knockdown a mid range or a three, Nikole has a wide set of moves to score. She is also a tremendously solid facilitator who always gets her teammates involved. Nikole's defense is a huge part of her game as well as she harasses ball handlers and makes highlight plays with thunderous blocks off the backboard. Nikole has a bright future at any school that she commits too and her game speaks for itself!



WEAKNEESES/THINGS TO IMPROVE ON

  • Ball Handling

  • Boxing out on Defense

  • Finding consistency in her game

  • Getting more creative after performing combo moves

  • Over committing on help side defense

  • Shot mechanics

A couple things for Nikole to improve on moving forward is her defensive awareness, finding consistency in her game and shot mechanics. Nikole will need to improve on boxing out once the shot goes up by locating a girl and her help defense needs work by "biting" less on the midline which allows the off ball player to get a shot off. Offensively, Nikole will need to work on being more creative after moves instead of just setting up to drive. Her shot is gold on open shots, but adding more creativity to her game such as pulling up in-control, stepback, and side step moves to help her shake the defender and get her shot off. Being consistent is something that the Washington prospect will figure out and it will come with experience and high level play, but best believe it that Nikole will be a complete threat in no time! I asked Nikole several questions so the audience can get to know her better.


Interview is below ↓


 

NIKOLE THOMAS Q&A

When did you first start playing basketball?

  • "​I fell in love with the game watching my older cousins play high school basketball in Alabama. Then my dad job moved us to Tri-Cities, Washington and my parents signed me up for AAU basketball to start learning the game and meet friends."


Describe your game.

  • ​"My aggressive defense creates my offense. I am constantly in attack mode on defense which translate over to the offensive side of the game. As far as my skillset, high basketball IQ, athleticism, and heart are some of the attributes that I bring to the game."

What is your role on Kamiakin’s basketball team?

  • "​On Kamiakin's basketball team my role is to be the team leader. With this responsibility I am expected to be the extension of the head coach on the floor. Making sure that everyone on the court knows what defense we are in and what plays we are running on the offensive side."


How has the experience been so far playing with the Northwest Blazers?

  • ​"Playing with the Northwest Blazers has been an amazing experience. All the coaches are completely honest with you whether you are doing good or bad and push you to be the best player you can be."


How has your recruitment been over this past year?

  • "​It has been super exciting and informative! Talking to different coaches across the country and listening to their view of the game has been insightful. The first offer I received was from Washington State University. It was different because at first, I did not understand the recruiting language and she was actually offering me a scholarship. As we continued to talk, I came to the realization that I just received an offer and excitement, happiness, and complete shock came over me. Since then, I have received four more offers from Weber State University, Eastern Washington University, Montana State University, University of Texas at Rio Grande Valley. I am receiving strong interests from schools in different conferences SEC, PAC-12, Big 10, WCC, WAC, BWC, Big Sky, MEAC, Big South, Horizon League, and Ivy League."


All eyes are on you now. How does it feel to be an ESPNW Prospect?

  • ​"Being ranked in the ESPNW is a huge accomplishment and it feels amazing. From a young age I have always dreamed of being nationally recognized for my basketball skills, and now I have been more motivated than ever to get better and accomplish my biggest goal of playing in the WNBA or professionally overseas."


What are some of your favorite activities to do outside of basketball?

  • ​"Some my favorite activities are solving puzzles such as sudoku or word search, hanging out with friends, and working out."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "​I am becoming more of a student of the game. I watched old game films from my past season and critique myself and see what I need to improve on. Twice a month, I work out with trainer Nate Bowie to work on my skillset. Improving my diet by eating more nutritional food and less junk food."


What do you look for in a college?

  • "​In a college, I look for a program that fits my game style such as aggressive defense, likes to get up and down the court, have high energy, and girls treat each other like family. As far as academically, I would like for the school to have my academic program Kinesiology because I want to become a physical therapist. I would like for the college to be somewhere I want to be on and off the court and very diverse."


How has the preseason been for you?

  • ​"The preseason for me has been a great opportunity for me to really focus on my education and begin to prepare for my SAT. My preseason training has increased to more days of the week and has focused on my weaknesses."


What are your expectations heading into y our sophomore season?

  • ​"As I mentioned before, my expectations are to improve my all-around stats such as scoring, assists, rebounds, steals, and increase my basketball IQ. To lead my team deeper into the postseason playoffs."


What is one message of encouragement or motivation that you would give to people?

  • "My top five things I would share with them is stay positive, focused, goal- oriented, continue to work, and if you have a dream never give up on your dream!"






Nikole with trainer Nate Bowie.


Nikole Thomas Freshman Season Highlights (2019-2020)


Nikole Thomas Offseason training with Nate Bowie.


OTHER LINKS ON NIKOLE THOMAS




Twitter:


High School Coach Information

Lane Schumacher - Email


AAU Coach Information

Steve Klees - Email

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page