top of page

Player Profile: Natalie Freed (Camp Hill, PA)


Name: Natalie Freed


Height: 6 Feet


Position: Shooting Guard/Small Forward


High School: Trinity (PA)


Graduation Class: 2024


AAU Club: Team Pennsylvania


GPA: 4.1


Status: Uncommitted


Favorite hobbies outside of basketball: Cooking, Hangout with friends and family, swimming and working out.


Expectations heading into sophomore campaign: "I’m super excited for this season. I’m glad that COVID will not be a scare throughout this year. Last year we were constantly in fear of shutting down and someone getting sick on the team. I am expecting to get a good amount of minutes this year and I am looking forward to playing with Lauren Trump and Mandy Roman especially more."


Natalie Freed is a 6 Foot Wing from Camp Hill, Pennsylvania. She's a rising sophomore at Trinity High School and runs with Team Pennsylvania on the AAU circuit. Freed is one of the premier sharpshooters in the area and continues to get better every time she's on the hardwood. She is a big guard who controls the flow of the game with her high IQ play and ability to play inside-out. Freed went down in her last AAU tournament with a lower leg injury and has been rehabbing the last couple of weeks, but she has been following her doctor's orders and has remained positive. Under the guidance of Kristi Britten, Freed will play an important role for Trinity this upcoming season teaming with Lauren Trumpy (Northwestern commit), Mandy Roman (2023 Guard), Adrianna Stricek (Wilson College commit) and a young Shamrocks team in hopes of another District playoff run. Let's get to know Natalie Freed!

 

BREAKDOWN:


Strengths

Big Guard Status

  • "My favorite three words as I was once a bigger guard during my time. Freed, standing at 6 feet, has an advantage on the floor which allows her to see the floor easier than others and create for herself in many areas. Very intelligent player"


Can score at all three levels.

  • "Freed does a well done job of scoring from the perimeter and in the paint at an efficient rate."


High IQ Player

  • "Very intelligent player, no question about how she plays the game of basketball. Always takes the opportunity to score when it's presented to her, but looks to make the right play no matter if it's a good pass or, more than likely, looking to Trumpy for an easy 2 points."


Knockdown shooter from the perimeter.

  • "Her best attribute. Freed is a smooth shooter from the outside and rarely misses. She always stays shot ready and knows how to finish when getting her shot off. One of the most proficient shooters in the area regardless of skill level and experience!"


Rebounding

  • "Uses her length to grab the best of boards inside."


Things to improve on

Base in her jumpshot

  • "Freed is an excellent shooter who can knock it down from wherever. But I believe that she can tweak her shot just a tad bit. Freed has a habit of leaning into her shot when she's off the ground. The follow through is solid and she shoots above her chest, but if she can fix the habit of not leaning into her shot and going straight up and down, it can make a difference."


Becoming a better defender

  • "Freed's game is based more on skill than athleticism. She's not bad on the defensive side, but she can be better. Freed isn't relied on for her defense as much as her offensive game, but if she can improve on becoming an on-ball defender and a more active shot blocker, she could be an all around threat against anybody she battles with."


General Strength

  • "Freed is still in her young developmental stage in her career. Only a sophomore. But once she gets stronger throughout these next few years, she will start to discover more about herself as a player. Being able to go through contact when driving, handling the ball better and becoming a tougher post player if she'll have to substitute more down low. Now dealing with a leg injury, now is an important time for her to really work on strengthening herself going into the season."


Below is my interview with Natalie Freed.

 

NATALIE FREED Q&A

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball in 1st grade on an upward team. My siblings really influenced my choice to start playing so young because they were always outside playing and myself, a little 1st grader, would go join them."


Describe your game.

  • "If I were to describe my game in one word I would say versatility. My versatility has helped me become the player I am today. I am a shooting guard but can mix it up down low if needed. Throughout the game I find myself all over the court in multiple positions based on the situation. I can score at all three levels and am a prominent shot blocker and rebounder."


How was your freshman season?

  • "My freshman season went very well. I decided to make the switch over from Camp Hill to Trinity in hopes playing on a more challenging team and earning a varsity jersey as a freshman. Which I did, but an unexpected circumstance resulted from the pandemic. Because of the pandemic, we were not able to swing players up from JV to Varsity so it was either all JV or all Varsity. I made the choice to stay on varsity with all upperclassman and work to earn playing time and get better practicing with the amazing players above me. Throughout the season I earned more and more playing time as we advanced through winning districts and having an 18 game winning streak. Playing during a pandemic was hard at first, but we all did it the right way and wore masks and just played our hardest. Individually I would say when I got in the game I made my minutes worth it. I felt I mixed it up on the court and positively influenced the team."


What is your role on Trinity’s basketball team?

  • "My role this year on trinity’s team will be providing a scoring punch, rebounding, aggressive defense, and stepping up to fill the shoes of the four seniors who graduated."


How was the live period for you?

  • "The live period was a great and eye opening experience for me. I play for Team Pennsylvania’s 2024 Showcase team coached by Taylor Dippery. Our team played at Run for the Roses in Louisville, Kentucky, USJN Nationals in Hershey, and USJN Nationals in Washington D.C. The competition was very high at all three tournaments but that has nothing on my team, we are willing to step up to any challenge brought to us. We advanced in all 3 tournaments."


Describe the relationship between you and Taylor Dippery not only as a coach, but as a mentor.

  • "Taylor Dippery my AAU coach for the past 4 years is one of a kind. Taylor has one of the biggest hearts ever while still constantly pushing our team to be the best we can be physically and mentally. Taylor is also a mentor to the girls and I. She acts as a tough big sister to us and is always 100% behind us. Our team would not be what we are without her support on and off the court."


You went down with a tough injury in the last tournament. How have you been since the fall and how’s your recovery been going?

  • "I went down with a tough injury at my last live period tournament in Washington D.C. It was very scary because I had never felt pain like it before I knew it wasn’t good. It took a toll on me emotionally right away because I knew I wouldn’t be able to finish my last tournament with my team. It has been very hard not being able to participate in summer training at Trinity, but I am healing well and following the doctors orders."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "To make myself the best player I can be I am constantly in the gym getting shots up, individual training, strength training and working out with my AAU team. As well as just going out in my backyard shooting and working on my ball handling."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "An athlete I look up to is Sydney Parish. Sydney Parish plays for the Oregon Ducks. I look up to her because she is a very kind hearted athlete. She used her social media platform to find out where young athletes were playing and went to those tournaments. She came to our tournament in Louisville and even met some girls on my team. As well she is a very hard working and successful athlete."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "A teammate I look up to is Lauren Trumpy. Lauren plays on my school team at Trinity. Just a couple weeks ago she committed to play Division 1 basketball at Northwestern. Lauren is always supporting her teammates and pushing everyone to work their hardest. I am very excited for our next season together. A coach I look up to is my head coach at Trinity, Kristi Britten. She is so loyal to her players and an amazing coach. As well Coach Kristi played at the highest level. I also look up to all three of my AAU coaches Taylor Dippery, Greg Cavoli and Corey Dickerson. All three of them are super hard working individuals and their drive to be the best constantly motivates me to keep working hard."


It’s still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your sophomore season?

  • "I am looking forward to increased playing time, great competition, another run to districts and hopefully the opportunity to play in states again."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "Some motivation for the people is the only thing that a player can control 100% is her effort so give it your all every time out!"


Natalie Freed - Trinity High School '24



Natalie with teammate and close friend, Lauren Trumpy (Northwestern commit)


All photo credits belong to Lisa Schlager.


MEDIA COVERAGE ON NATALIE FREED



High School Coach Information

Kristi Britten - Email


AAU Coach Information

Taylor Dippery - Email



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page