top of page

Player Profile: Naomi Gonzalez (Havana, Cuba)

Updated: Jan 24, 2022


Name: Naomi Gonzalez


Height: 5’10


Position: Small Forward/Shooting Guard


High School: Lancaster Catholic High School, Class of 2022


AAU Club: Central PA Elite - Alyssa Thomas Elite


Current GPA: 2.8

Offers: Alderson Broaddus, Manhattan and Saint Leo University


Status: COMMITTED - Delaware State (11/21/21)


Favorite hobbies outside of basketball: Fashion


Expectations heading into your senior season: "WIN EVERYTHING!"

 

Naomi Gonzalez is a 5'10 Combo Guard from Havana, Cuba. She's a good mix of a combo who can slash to the rim against bigger players, but has some strong guard skills to take her out of the paint. Gonzalez is originally from Havana and spent some time there in her childhood before moving to the United States and ending up in Lancaster. She's currently a junior at Lancaster Catholic High School and runs with Alyssa Thomas Elite on the AAU circuit. Gonzalez also holds offers from Alderson Broaddus, Manhattan and Saint Leo University. I first discovered Gonzalez when watching her play Bishop McDevitt this past season. I remember seeing this tall girl on the court, but her game was so aggressive as she was attacking the basket strong, sliding her feet and ball watching like a cornerback, It caught my eye and I was like, "She can hoop". Looked up the name, read some media coverage on her and I was impressed. Gonzalez had a pretty solid season despite being injured at the beginning with ankle problems, but stuck through it and helped lead Lancaster Catholic to a District 3 Playoff berth. Let's get to know more about the Cuban hooper!


BREAKDOWN:


STRENGTHS

  • Absorbs contact on the drive and finishes strong at the rim every time.

  • Elite Defender, strong defensive player who can hold her own.

  • Has a great feel for the game.

  • High Motor Player, a true spark for any team she's on.

  • Improved Mid Range Game

  • Leadership ability is off the charts.

  • Natural Born Playmaker, makes everybody around her better with her court vision and strong ball handling skills.

  • Off-Ball Ballhawk, tons of steals in passing lanes - great hands.

  • Strong Rebounder

  • Understands where she needs to be on the floor.

  • Uses a variety of ways to score.

  • Versatile player who can play multiple positions.

Naomi Gonzalez is a special player who can pretty much do it all. From scoring in bunches, locking up a team's best player on defense and providing a certain type of leadership that you don't see from young players, Gonzalez is cementing her name in the state of Pennsylvania. It doesn't matter what anybody thinks, she can flat out play and improves her game every single year that she laces up. Gonzalez is a combo player with a solid mid range game, but can put it on the floor as her best skill is slashing to the basket. On the defensive side, Gonzalez is a lockdown defender. She continuously slides her feet when guarding the ball and has cornerback like vision as she picks off a lot of passes off the ball. Gonzalez is an international prospect with lots of upside. Sky's the limit for her!


THINGS TO IMPROVE ON

  • Being Consistent

  • Extending her shooting range.

Naomi Gonzalez does a lot of good things on the court, but every good player can add more to their bag. Consistently will come for her being one of the main options for the Crusaders next season, but touching up her shooting can make her more dangerous. If Gonzalez can expand her shooting range to the three point line it will help her space the floor more and force bigger defenders to step out. She already has the athleticism and ball handling skills to blow by people. Once she adds the three ball, she will be so much more effective on the court!


Below is my interview with Naomi Gonzalez.

 

NAOMI GONZALEZ Q&A

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playin game basketball when I was about 8 in 3rd grade."


Describe your game.

  • "I would say my strengths are that I'm the energizer, rebounding, put backs, defense, being a spark, understanding of where to be on the floor, reading a steal. Then, some of my weaknesses would be 3pt game, and being consistent with my left. Shooting has definitely improved, but consistency is key you know."


How was life growing up in Cuba?

  • "I grew up in Cuba. I spent time in Cuba at a young age then came to the States. But I did this thing where I would live there for a few years, then come here, then go back and then finally decided to stay in America. For celebrations, New Year’s is the most fun tradition to celebrate in Cuba in my opinion."


What is your role on Lancaster Catholic’s basketball team?

  • "My role on the Lancaster Catholic team is to be a leader and to keep up the intensity and energy throughout games, practices, etc."


How was your junior season?

  • "My junior season was not bad, but could’ve been way better. We were the only team in our district that was still playing that had got shut down for 2 weeks and we missed games that couldn’t be rescheduled so we went 14-4. Then, first game of the season at ELCO, I hurt my ankle I missed like 2-3 weeks. But after that I had to get my confidence back and it took me awhile but it got there a little bit. We then fell short twice this year in the league championship and Districts because we were basically like a whole new team. We were young, but overall I wish it would’ve ended differently but I can’t complain we were fortunate enough to get there even when no one expected us to be playing in those championship games."


How has your college recruitment been?

  • "My college recruitment has been getting better. I have 3 offers from Saint Leo University, Alderson Broaddus, Manhattan College. Interest from American University, University of Vermont, Indiana University, and etc."


What are your plans for the Spring/Summer?

  • "I’ll be playing for Alyssa Thomas Elite 17U."


Having a great sense of style, what does fashion mean to you?

  • "Fashion is taking a 20$ shirt and making it look like a 200$ shirt. I personally like to thrift some of clothes, but I wear honestly any brand but I like the store PacSun and I love Vans and Converse."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "I manifest a lot because I feel like you repeat the same things to yourself you’ll believe it and confidence is key when it comes to basketball."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "Kobe Bryant and Kyrie Irving.


Who do you look up to as a role model?

  • "I would say I look up to my mother honestly she’s the strongest woman I know and I admire her work ethic and determination."


It’s still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

  • "I WANT TO WIN EVERYTHING THAT WE DIDNT WIN LAST YEAR! But I also want to develop on the court but most importantly I want to develop in life."

Editor's Note: Naomi screamed this through the phone and almost shattered my screen. Nah, I'm just kidding.


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "My only thing I would emphasize is to BE DIFFERENT, Be You everyone else is taken."



Naomi Gonzalez, Lancaster Catholic High School Class of 2022


2020-2021 Lancaster Catholic Lady Crusaders Basketball team


Naomi Gonzalez Summer 2020 Highlights with Philadelphia Belles EYBL


Naomi's remaining tournaments with Alyssa Thomas Elite

May 8-9 - Takeover Tournament (D.C)

May 14-15 - Philly Expo Center (Philadelphia, PA)

June 19-20 - Prime Event Spooky Nook (Manheim, PA)

June 26-29 - Hershey Showcase (Hershey, PA)

July 5-8 - Run for the Rose (Louisville, KY)

July 10-12 - Nike Tournament Of Champions (Chicago, IL)

July 20-23 - USJN Nike National (D.C)


MEDIA COVERAGE ON NAOMI GONZALEZ


Twitter:


High School Coach Information

Charlie Detz - Email


AAU Coach Information

Tina Thomas - Email

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page