top of page

Player Profile: Myles Grey (Reading, PA)

Updated: Jul 5, 2022


Name: Myles Grey


Height: 5-10


Position: Point Guard


High School: Reading (PA)


Graduation Class: 2023


AAU Club: Team Final Red HGSL


GPA: 3.7


Status: Uncommitted


Myles Grey is a 5-10 Point Guard from Reading, Pennsylvania. He’s a rising senior at Reading High School, and runs with Team Final Red in the Hoop Group Showcase League. Grey is one of the best kept secrets in Pennsylvania.


I first discovered Grey through one of my recruit searches during my hiatus last winter. Taking that time, about two-three months, to sit back and watch prospects hoop, it’s a good time to reflect and rebrand my site. And, knowing the basketball culture under Rick Perez at Reading High, I found a gem by watching Grey.


In his junior season, Grey averaged 10.4 points, 4.1 rebounds, 3.2 assists and 3 steals per game, which included 57 threes and shot 42% from behind the perimeter. And, what really put me on notice was his career high game 30 points, including 10 3’s against Twin Valley this season for the Red Knights.


Reading has a storied history of guard play, and with the emergence of Grey throughout the AAU circuit, Lehigh Valley and Philly Live period showcases, the best is yet to come for the Eastern Pennsylvania guard.


I caught up with the 2023 prospect on a breakdown of his game, defining the “R” culture and preparation heading into senior season.

 

Breakdown


Strengths:

Ball Handling

  • ”Every attribute a true point needs, Grey is able to handle the ball in a comfortable manner. Facing contact and creating for himself in the open court, Grey is more than capable of running the show.”


Can score at all three levels.

  • ”Just like his teammate and D1 recruit Ruben Rodriguez, Grey can also provide a spark from anywhere on the court. Getting downhill for a quick two? No biggie. Pulling up to change scheme? No issue. Showcasing the three ball? No problem at all. Grey is starting to become one with himself in his offensive game.”


Knockdown shooter from deep.

  • ”Scoring 10 3’s in a game is impressive. No matter the comp. Even adding this on as an improvement to become an even better shooter, Grey is very comfortable shooting from 20 plus feet out. Even taking the time to be more creative with stepbacks and a ‘tween into a three ball, he’s looked like a complete guard throughout June.”


Physical Strength

  • “Being 5’10”, I don’t see too many short guards who aren’t afraid to get physical. Well, Grey doesn’t care if you’re sticking him. He will try to outsize you. Grey’s ability to be strong with the ball while getting bumped on offense is impressive. To take a hit, recover and compose yourself is something that you can’t teach as a coach. Even on the defensive end, Grey is a silent assassin who will attack when called upon. Next take..”


Tenacious Defender

  • ”One of his best traits. The Reading basketball program produces the best defensive teams in Pennsylvania. It’s not an argument from a team point-of-view, and I believe that Grey is one of the elite on-ball defenders in the state. His ability to take cookies with active hands, and get an easy 10-count is second to none. But the thing I love the most is he doesn’t have to brag about himself. No matter the side of the ball, he flat out plays.”



Things to Improve On:

Embracing physical and weight training.

  • ”More for next level preparation, but Grey will need to continue on building up his strength. Whether it’s hitting the weights, physical training doing outside work and even recovery exercises, taking care of your body is a must.”


Staying in-control

  • ”One of the biggest improvements Grey will have to work on. Staying in-control as a scorer is a must. At times, Grey catches himself flying off the handle in the paint. He looks much more composed throughout June when scoring in the paint, but finding rhythm and self control with the ball will only help him move forward as a guard!”

 

Myles Grey Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • “I started playing basketball when I was in first grade, so I was about 6 years old.”


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • “I feel as if I am a very skilled point guard that can make plays for myself, and more importantly my teammates. I am able to shoot, and score the ball very well. I am also able to really lock up on the defensive end.”


How was your junior season?

  • “My junior season was very great to be honest. I came out of my shell and started to play like I actually play. My team performed very well. We beat some very tough teams, captured our county championship and won our second straight district championship. But we unfortunately fell short in states.”


Playing at Reading High takes a lot of commitment as a team player, and individual. Watching Reading High for years even in my high school days, its been my favorite program to watch as a public school. Being under a coach like Rick Perez and around achieving individual as teammates, how’s your experience been?

  • “To put it simply, going through this program was nothing short of a blessing. My game has changed drastically, and my skill set has also developed as well. Since I was an eight grader, I came into the program but more importantly I’ve become a better person. I’ve learned so much that I’ve applied to my life outside of basketball. I’ve learned how important hard work, out working your peers, loyalty, family and commitment really is. They’ve mentored me so much I could honestly talk all day about what this program has done for me but all in all, they have shaped me into the person I am today.


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • “Honestly, I really just try to find ways that I can better myself at all times and in any way. That can be working on my game, my athleticism and mobility or just being a student of the game. When I’m not lifting with my high school, I’m either lifting at Garage Strength trying to become stronger, or i’m at Retro Fitness working out with Janet Hangen trying to become more athletic, flexible and mobile.


What are your plans for July?

  • “I’ll be playing with Team Final Red this summer playing in many Hoop Group tournaments.


As you’re now at the age where you’re starting to look for college basketball opportunities, what do you ideally look for in a college?

  • “I really am just looking for a college basketball program that’s going to believe in me and just give me an opportunity to continue my basketball career. I am also looking for a college that is great academically and will set me up for the future as well. I would love to try and venture away from my hometown to try and experience a new location and get away from my comfort zone.”


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • “Stephen Curry and Chris Paul. I really like the way they both play.


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • “I look up to my parents. They both worked extremely hard, and never complained about any situation they were in. They have so much wisdom that they constantly share with me.”


I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

  • “Winning all 3 championships with counties, districts and states.”


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • “At the end of the day, no one really cares about what situation that you’re in. So you either feel sorry for yourself and stay where you are, or you raise your level and get to where you want to become. God has a plan for you, everything will come in time and fall into place.”


Myles Grey - Reading ‘23 | Dan Hilferty @shot.by.dh


Myles squaring off against top 100 recruit, Mikey Wiiliams | Danny Kurtz @dannykurtz_media


2021-2022 Reading Red Knights basketball team


2022 Team Final Red 17U - HGSL


Myles Grey 2022 Donofrio Classic Mix


Media coverage on Myles Grey



Reading High’s Myles Grey, Xavier Davis are students of the game of basketball https://www.readingeagle.com/2022/03/10/reading-highs-myles-grey-xavier-davis-are-students-of-the-game-of-basketball/amp/



Twitter @grey_myles


High School Coach Information

Rick Perez - Email


AAU Coach Information

Joe Proctor


Contact Tyreese Smith

Instagram: http://instagram.com/rpnfactory

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page