top of page

Player Profile: Mya Hatchett-Groce (Pasco, WA)

Updated: Oct 13, 2021


Name: Mya Hatchett-Groce


Height: 5’7


Position: Point Guard


High School: Pasco High School, Class of 2022

Running Start/Dual Enrollment student at Columbia Basin College


AAU Club: FBC Northwest Alliance


GPA: 3.75


Offers: University of the Southwest

Status: Uncommitted


Favorite hobbies outside of basketball: Hanging out with family and friends, dancing, drawing, running, shopping and working out.


Expectations for your junior season: "To have a season first of all! But go in ready to take the leadership role and make it to states."


Mya Hatchett-Groce is a 5 foot 7 Point Guard from Pasco, Washington. She's a primary ball handler, but is very dimensional in her game who spends time on the wing off the ball. Mya currently attends Pasco High School and will be joining the FBC Northwest Alliance for the 2021 AAU season. She's also a running start student at Columbia Basin College. Running Start, or Dual Enrollment students are high school students who have excellent grades and exceed requirement to start their college coursework early while still being in high school. I was a dual enrollment student during my senior year of high school. But back to the topic on Mya. Mya is a two way guard who's a natural born leader on the court. She has many tools in her bag with scoring the ball, tenacious defender and gets everybody involved. Mya is very passionate about the game. I've been very impressed with her approach and attention to detail while working with her on this project. She's been working out with International Elite Coach and Trainer Nate Bowie on adding more to her game over the past year. Mya is set to have a big junior season for Pasco and isn't settling for less. Here is my breakdown of the Pasco guard!


Breakdown is below ↓


 

BREAKDOWN:


STRENGTHS

  • Active Rebounder

  • Creative Player

  • Excellent Ball Handler

  • Finishes at the rim with both hands

  • Strong Perimeter Defender

  • Uses a limited amount of dribbles to break down a defender and score.

Mya is a very energetic player and has a lot of creativity in her game. Mya is a true point guard who's getting better year in and year out. She has a strong handle where she is able to power through tough defenders on the perimeter. Mya uses a limited amount of dribbles to get to the rim and you don't see that from many young players. She finishes well around the rim with both hands and she can get going when she plays aggressive. Mya is also a tough perimeter defender who's quick on her feet and slides with discipline. Mya's best quality is her leadership. She can control the flow of the game and is a great leader for Pasco. Mya will have a bright future at whatever school lands her and the best is yet to come!


WEAKNESSES/THINGS TO IMPROVE ON

  • Being more aggressive on offense

  • Developing a consistent jumpshot

  • Mid Range Game/Pull Up

  • Shot Creation

Mya has all the tools to be a monster on the court, but adding more to her game for year 3 will be crucial for her. Being more aggressive on offense will be much needed for Mya. This year she needs to be more in-control and take more shots on that side of the ball to be a threat to whoever she plays. She's a very unselfish player who wants to get everybody involved, but now at this point in her career she's going to have to takeover more. By getting more aggressive with the ball, Mya will need to develop a consistent jumpshot from every area of the floor. Adding a three point game, a mid range and pull up off the dribble will benefit Mya's scoring attack. I believe Mya can easily be a top guard in the state of Washington if she starts to take over more! I asked Mya several questions so y'all can get to know her better.


Interview is below ↓



 

MYA HATCHETT=GROCE Q&A

When did you first start playing basketball?

  • "I never had any interest as a young kid to play the game of basketball. my parents signed me up in my small town for a club called 'Court Kid’s'. I was about 4 or 5 when I first started playing. I began AAU and started getting more serious in the 1st grade. I played with the Tri Cities Lady Hoopsters and till this day as a junior in high school, I still play with multiple players that started out with me."


Describe your game.

  • "My strengths are definitely being a team player and being able to create open looks for my other players. I can finish at the rim with both hands along with being able to dribble with both hands. I’m an above average free throw shooter. My perimeter defense is a great strength of mine, and being an active rebounder."


What is your role on Pasco’s basketball team?

  • "My role for Pasco high as a point guard is being a leader, being a person my younger players can look up to, keeping a good attitude, spreading positivity, sharing the ball, etc."


How was the summer for you?

  • "Summer was somewhat fun. I played in as many AAU tournaments as I could due to COVID. It wasn’t as easy to get in the gym. I worked out almost every day at the track, staying in shape was one of my top priorities. I spent a lot of time at home and with family. I tried to keep the group of friends I hung out with which is sort of small."


What made you decide to join the FBC Northwest Alliance for the 2021 AAU season?

  • "It’s an opportunity to help build a program."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "Getting in as much gym time as possible and staying in shape."


What do you look for in a college?

  • "I am working on getting my AA right now and plan to be done with it when you graduate. I am looking for a school that will be a good fit for me basketball wise that will allow me to continue my education to pursue my bachelors and masters degree, or a degree in medicine, depending on what I decide."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "I’ve always looked up to Skyler Diggings as a role model. Not only is she a great ball player, but a gorgeous model for multiple brands. And has a beautiful family. I inspire to be like someone like her. I also looked up to Kobe as a role model. The way he was so passionate about the game and helping out the community was such a big aspect in his eyes."


How has the preseason been for you?

  • "It’s been different, i have lots of school work and limited gym time. Trying to get back in shape after being sick and stay focused on what’s important."


What are your expectations heading into your junior season?

  • "My expectations are to mainly get better. I want to improve my skill set. Score more, be a better leader, win games."


What is one message of encouragement or motivation that you would give to people? "

  • "Don’t hold anything back ever. give your full effort at any occasion because you never know who’s watching."







Mya with trainer Nate Bowie.


Mya Hatchett-Groce, Pasco High School Class of 2022


OTHER LINKS ON MYA HATCHETT-GROCE


Twitter:


High School Coach Information:

Aaron Barcot - Email


AAU Coach Information:

Cartiea French-Toney


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page