top of page

Player Profile: Merit Innocent (Nigeria)

Updated: Aug 12, 2022



Name: Merit Innocent


Height: 6-2


Position: Center


High School: Busche Academy (NH)


AAU Club: Albany Lady Stars (Updated)


GPA: 3.9


Status: Uncommitted


Merit Innocent is a 6-2 Center from Oyede, Delta in Nigeria. She's a rising senior at Busche Academy. Innocent is an international prospect from Nigeria who first arrived to the states in the summer of 2019. She was participating in the Jr. NBA Global Championship games representing Nigeria. A couple months later, Innocent transferred into Harrisburg Christian School, a small Christian private school 12 miles north of Downtown Harrisburg. She spent her first two years at Harrisburg Christian doing her part in the classroom and contributing towards her team's success in picking up a District 3 1A title and being named to the 1A All-State basketball team during her sophomore campaign. Innocent is looking forward to facing the competition in the NESPAC league and making the most out of her last two years. Let's get to know more about the Nigerian hooper!

 

BREAKDOWN


STRENGTHS:

Athletic Forward

  • "With a solid frame and strength down low, Innocent is known for being a scrappy basketball player in many areas on the court."


Physical Rebounder

  • "One of her best traits, you will always find Innocent active on the boards and ready to dominate on the glass. Her rebounding ability sets her apart from others in her class."


Runs the floor hard.

  • "As mentioned before, in some matter, Innocent does the little things that most prospects wouldn't do. I've noticed in her film that Innocent always involves herself on the fast break where she receives her buckets away from posting up. She's still developing an offensive game but if I was a college coach, I'd take note of this."


Solid Post Game

  • "Innocent is still a product in the making but right now in her development, she's pretty solid around the basket. Regardless of the competition she faced at Harrisburg Christian, I seen flashes and the potential that Innocent has as a basketball player. Thankfully enough I was able to catch an AAU game during her time with Team Pennsylvania playing alongside Kiahna Jones and Jenadia Jordan. Innocent's size up game is a positive as of right now with how she takes her time in reading a defender and making a move. Other dimensions will need to be added to her game to make her a complete post, but I see sparks in Innocent's game!"


Tenacious Defender

  • "Innocent takes pride on the defensive side getting the best of steals and rebounds. Playing in a more competitive league now up North, she will be able to unleash and become the best version of herself!"


THINGS TO IMPROVE ON:

Adding a jumper to her game.

  • "Adding a jumper to her bag would help Innocent tremendously. Nothing too crazy like shooting 30 feet out like Steph Curry, but adding a mid range game would benefit Innocent to show colleges that she's skillful."


Being conditioned

  • "One of the biggest things that Innocent preached to me throughout the project. Innocent said that she needs to work on her stamina in order to not get tired throughout games. Being in the best shape possible will benefit Innocent tremendously.”


Continuing to build her offensive game.

  • "Now playing at a prep level, it's time. Innocent will need to continue working on her offensive game and becoming sharper down low. Adding a consistent hook shot and taking her time to face up more, Innocent has a lot of potential to be special!"

 

MERIT INNOCENT Q&A

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "February 2018"


Describe your game.

  • "I play center most of the time and I’m a really physical player. I enjoy playing the post and just doing my thing down in the paint. That’s my area."


How was your sophomore season at Harrisburg Christian?

  • "My sophomore season at HCS was exactly what I wanted it to be while heading into the season. Although, we were not the state champions. I loved that we went as far as being the district champions and I’m glad I was part of that history making team."


How was the live period for you?

  • "It was my first actual year playing AAU because my first year was messy due to COVID. It was nice playing against people with my equal amount of skill set and better. It helped me realize what I needed to work on to improve myself for the next level. It was also thrilling having college coaches come watch me play."


Leaving your home country during must've been very hard for you. How was the process of you coming to the states in order to achieve your dreams?

  • "Coming to play basketball in the US had always been a goal of mine ever since I started playing basketball. Leaving my family and everyone I know to come to the States was a really big step to take. Most times I do get home sick and just want to be back home with my family, but days like that, I look at how far I’ve come and how far I have to go. Then I’m encouraged because I’m doing this to make myself, my family and everyone back home proud."


Why did you decide to transfer from Harrisburg Christian to the Hoosac School this fall?

  • "I transferred because even though I loved being at Harrisburg Christian School, Basketball wise the league wasn’t as competitive as I would have loved it to be. I personally felt I need harder competition so I could improve as a player. The NESPAC league I’ll be playing in while at Hoosac seemed like a very competitive league."


Also, how has the semester been for you thus far?

  • "So far it’s really going well. Hoosac is really a good fit for me!"


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "I’m working on improving my game and my mindset on and off the court because basketball is also a game about mindset."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "Giannis Antetokounmpo"


Who do you look up to as a role models?

  • "I look up to all my coaches I’ve had since I started basketball because I’m driven by the talent they see in me and also by the passion they have for the game which makes them put their all into people like me."


It’s still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your junior season?

  • "I’m looking forward to making myself known, since it’s a new environment for me I want to be able to make people and coaches notice my presence every game. I’m also looking forward to making history here at Hoosac."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "It doesn’t get easier, but if you put in the work, have faith, and a positive mindset, everything will fall in place. Just trust the process!"



Merit Innocent - Hoosac School - Class of 2023


Merit Innocent 2020-2021 sophomore highlights at Harrisburg Christian.


MEDIA COVERAGE ON MERIT INNOCENT

Harrisburg Christian’s Andjela Pavicevic and Merit Innocent earn spots on Pa. Sportswriters’ 1A All-State basketball team https://www.pennlive.com/sports/2021/04/harrisburg-christians-andjela-pavicevic-and-merit-innocent-earn-spots-on-pa-sportswriters-1a-all-state-basketball-team.html


Merit's Contact - Email


High School Coach Information

Isiah Anderson - Email



Recent Posts

See All

Kommentarer


bottom of page