top of page

Player Profile: Maddie LaFrance (Harrisburg, PA)


Name: Maddie LaFrance


Height: 5’9


High School: Central Dauphin High School, Class of 2021


AAU Club: Team Pennsylvania


Offers: Arcadia, Brandeis, Catholic University, Fordham (Walk-On), Goucher, King's College, Millersville, University of Sciences and Tusculum.


GPA: 3.7


Favorite hobbies outside of basketball: Hanging with friends and shopping


Expectations heading into your senior season: "Definitely having another great and solid team. Definitely going to keep adding banners to be held up in our gym. All we wanna do is win and this team is willing to do whatever it takes to be at the best level. We want to win championships, period."



 

Tyreese Christopher Smith is a Trinidadian American creative and influencer. Tyreese found his success in late 2019 after creating his first blog, "Diversity Collection" where he showcased his poetry. Since then he has opened up his services to musicians, athletes and has connected with many other creators all over the world. In today's article, he has another special product from CD High School. She holds several offers going into her senior season and is a sharpshooter with RANGE. Here is Maddie LaFrance. Welcome to the blog Maddie!


Maddie LaFrance is a 5'9 Shooting Guard from Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. She is primarily used on the wing as a shooter, but at times brings the ball up the court where she's able to play the point as well. Maddie is a senior at Central Dauphin High School who ran with Team Pennsylvania during the AAU circuit. She holds offers from Brandeis University (MA), Catholic University (D.C), Goucher College (MD), King's College (PA), Millersville University (PA), University of Sciences (PA), Tusculum (TN) and has earned a walk-on opportunity at Fordham University (NY). Maddie is a true combo guard who has put together a nice resume in her high school career. She is a Mid Penn Commonwealth First Team All Star, Miss PA Tremendous 25 Selection, A Co-Player of the year for the Linglestown Gazette Sports Fab 15 while averaging 11.7 points per game for the Rams last season. Maddie played an impactful role in the Rams postseason run last year as she help led her team to a Mid Penn Conference Regular Season Title, Mid Penn Tournament Championship and a District 3 6A Championship. I first noticed Maddie when she played against Trinity in the Mid Penn Championship Game last year. She played a solid game, but from hearing the announcers on High School Sports Live praise her game, that's what impressed me a lot! Maddie is a kind hearted individual who puts her heart into everything she does. Off the court, she is an exceptional student in the classroom and an even better person who sees the good in everybody. I've heard a lot of great reviews on Maddie as a student-athlete and this girl has the world in her hands. I believe that Maddie will have a strong senior campaign during a very different PIAA Basketball season. She's looking forward to helping the Rams go on another deep run this upcoming season alongside teammates Marlie Dickerson (2022 Guard, Division 1 recruit), Caroline Shiery (2022 Center, Division 1 recruit), Izzy Vogel (2022 Guard, holds several offers) and the rest of the Rams. Watch out Mid Penn -- Central Dauphin is BACK! Here is my breakdown of the sharpshooter!


Breakdown is below ↓


 

BREAKDOWN


STRENGTHS

Maddie is a very skilled and high IQ combo guard who is able to control the flow of the game. Maddie is a volume shooter who is a scoring threat on the perimeter. Once a defender gives Maddie room and she sets her feet, it's over. She reminds of Klay Thompson based off on form and being able to get a shot off quick without a lot of dribbles. Another thing that I am impressed with about Maddie's game that a lot of young players don't do is that she moves without the basketball. She's always moving on offense and this gets her a lot of touches and to her designated spots to shoot on offense. Maddie is always working on her game at Advanced Hoops and the Cavoli Barn to make sure her game is on point!. From watching film, Maddie is one of the smartest offensive players I have seen. When she's not scoring she's always looking to set up her teammates to score by MAKING THE RIGHT PLAY. Maddie is a fluent passer who's able to make the extra pass by reading the defense and can thread the needle through tight windows. Maddie LaFrance is a special player who I believe can play at the highest level of basketball as long as she puts her mind to it!


WEAKNESSES/IMPROVEMENTS

Maddie is an elite offensive player but a few things that she will need to work on are on the defensive end and agility. Maddie isn't a "weak link" on defense but even she knows that's a part of her game that she will have to improve on. In order to be a great guard, you have to be able to guard your position as well. Another thing that Maddie will have to improve on is her agility. Maddie isn't the quickest player as she relies more on skill and her basketball IQ but adding more speed to her game will be beneficial down the stretch at the next level. She has been working with trainers in the offseason to improve her game heading into her senior season. One thing I can say that defines Maddie as a player: She has never backed down in finding an opportunity to become a better player.


I believe Maddie will be successful in her basketball career as long as she keeps being a scoring threat on the court and continues to leave an impact no matter what she does in life! I asked Maddie several questions so you guys can get to know her better.


 

MADDIE LAFRANCE Q&A


When did you first start playing Basketball?

  • "I first started playing basketball when I was 5 years old. My dad played basketball all his life and introduced it to me at a young age and I just fell in love with the game. Since I started playing at 5 years old, I have not stopped since. It is definitely made me into the type of person I am today."


Describe your game.

  • "The type of game I have is I am a sharp shooter. I love shooting 3s and finishing shots around the basket. The style I would say is definitely quick efficient shots and teamwork."


What is your role on Central Dauphin’s Basketball team?

  • "My role on Central Dauphin’s team is definitely to shoot and lead the team. My strength is my shooting ability as well as leading and being a vocal leader on the floor. Last year I was a mix of the point guard handling the ball as well as getting the most shots off. This year it will be less of the point guard area and more of the getting shots open for me."


How has the summer been for you?

  • "The summer was great. Very busy with AAU tournaments, working out at EXP, cross-fit at Signal 5, and hooping with my teammates. Over the summer I received many offers, some from Tusculum University, University of Sciences, Catholic University, and a preferred walk on spot at Fordham. Sadly it was my last AAU season but I wouldn’t have wanted to spend it with any other team!!!"


Describe the feeling of receiving your first official offer.

  • "When I got my first offer this past summer, I felt really happy and proud of myself. But I knew I have to keep grinding to get other opportunities and have things fall into place."


What do you look for in a college?

  • "What I am looking for in a college is a highly competitive and hard working basketball program that will also give me the chance to get a great education. Getting my degree while playing the game I love at a university is all I could ask for. Definitely want to be close with my coaches because I feel like I thrive being so close with them on and off the court. Distance doesn’t matter to me, I just want to go where it will be best for me, best fit, and where I feel like I’ll get the most out of. Not only will I be competitive and driven on the court but off the court as well with getting the best education for me to then make a career out of."


Who’s an athlete that you look up to?

  • "An athlete that I look up to is for sure Sam Gress. The first time I saw Sam play basketball was my freshman year and she just blew me away of how she played. I had the amazing opportunity to play with her 1 year my sophomore year and it was a dream come true. To this day, I look up to her not just with basketball and sport skills, but life skills."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "Things that I am doing to make me the best player I possibly can be is I am working with my personal trainer Dave Brixius at EXP, cross-fit with my teammates dad, and CD Lady Ram team workouts. I am always improving some part of my game everyday and I am so thankful that I have the people and resources to help me reach my full potential as a player."


Which players or coaches do you think of as role models?

  • "A coach that I think of as a role model is definitely my assistant varsity coach Julie Denninston. She is my absolute rock when it comes to the game of basketball or life itself. She is always encouraging me and pushing me not only on the basketball court but also in life. The essential things she has taught me with basketball has made me a better player and I cannot thank her enough for how much she has changed my life. She is the type of coach you want to have, someone who will push you to be the best version of you and be there for you no matter what."


What do you value in friendships and relationships?

  • "What I value in a friendship/relationship is how much the other person cares. If the same amount of effort is given then it will be smooth. There are also just some people I naturally just connect with and that’s the best feeling in the world. Having a lot in common with someone can definitely make the friendship stronger and connection better."


What are your expectations heading into your senior season?

  • "My expectations for my senior season is that this team will be one of the best teams Central Dauphin sports will ever see. We have athletic and hard working girls that if we put all of our strengths together, the skies the limit. I expect more girls basketball banners being held up in the gym and even a solid state tournament run. Sadly it is my last season so I of course am going to give all I got this last ride."


Do you have any words of encouragement or advice for the people out there?

  • "Some words of encouragement I have for people is nothing is given, you have to work at it and earn it. Work hard in anything you do, whether it is with sports, school, art, etc. You put the work, time, and effort and you will get yourself so far in life. No matter how hard life can get, never give up and persevere. Also another thing is enjoy every moment being a kid because it goes by in a blink of an eye."








2020 PIAA District 3 6A Champions- Central Dauphin Lady Rams


Maddie LaFrance Sophomore Season Highlights (2018-2019)


Maddie LaFrance Uncut Summer Workout Highlights at the Cavoli Barn.


Character and Player References: Maddie LaFrance


OTHER LINKS ON MADDIE LAFRANCE:



Team Pennsylvania AAU Profile: https://www.teampahoops.com/maddie-lafrance/


Contact Information


High School Coach Information

Randy Gambelunghe- Email


AAU Coach Information

Don Lepley- Email

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentarer


bottom of page