top of page

Player Profile: Lauren Glazier (Snoqualmie, WA)

Updated: Jan 24, 2022


Name: Lauren Glazier


Height: 6’4


Position: Power Forward


High School: Mount Si High School, Class of 2022


AAU: Northwest Blazers GUAA


GPA: 3.7


Offers: Hawaii, Montana, UC Santa Barbara, UC San Diego and Washington State.


Status: COMMITTED - Washington State University


Favorite hobbies outside of basketball: Enjoy hanging with friends, Camping, Boating. Tubing, Playing with her Dog, Charlie and Being with family.


Expectations heading into junior season: "We are still waiting to play high school ball here in Washington state, I’m hopeful we’ll have a short season. We have a young team but I’ll have a chance to really work on my leadership skills."


Lauren Glazier is a 6 foot 4 Power Forward from Snoqualmie, Washington. She is currently a junior at Mount Si High School and runs with the Northwest Blazers on the Under Armour AAU Circuit. Lauren is one of the top players in the state of Washington and is a top 100 player in the class of 2022. She was a 2nd Team All-Kingco selection this past season at Mount Si. Lauren is a fundamentally sound stretch forward who plays the right way and is very skilled in many areas on the court. Standing at 6'4 with a 6'2 wingspan, she's mobile on the court blocking shots, grabbing rebounds and operates from the high post-low post area. Lauren is a hard working prospect who let's her game do the talking and takes every opportunity out there to get better. Lauren currently holds offers from the University of Hawaii, University of Montana, UC Santa Barbara, UC San Diego and Washington State University. Lauren had a solid sophomore campaign and is looking to be even better her junior season. Here is my breakdown of the Mount Si product!



 

BREAKDOWN


STRENGTHS

  • Able to guard all positions on defense (1-5).

  • Active Rebounder

  • Court Vision - Taller player who can see the floor.

  • Great timing on blocks - Strong Shot Blocker

  • Finishes tall and efficiently around the rim.

  • High Basketball IQ

  • Lateral Quickness

  • Long, Lengthy big

  • Mid Range Shooting

  • Stretches the floor at her size - Plays inside and out

  • Versatile Player - Operates from the low post/high post area.

  • 6'2 Wingspan - Helps her on the court in many areas.

Lauren is a versatile forward who's able to do many things on the court. She's a threat on the inside blocking shots and grabbing rebounds at a rapid rate throughout a game. Lauren uses her size and length to her advantage and this makes her standout to college coaches in her recruitment. Lauren is able to score in many different ways posting up low and stretching out her game to the high post and wing area knocking down a 15 foot jumper or squaring up to face at the basket. Lauren isn't the most athletic basketball player but with her dedication on getting better and using the fundamentals to move on the court, she is a legit Division 1 prospect.



WEAKNESSES/THINGS TO IMPROVE ON

  • Attacking the basket

  • Being more physical in the paint.

  • Getting stronger

  • Playing aggressive

  • Staying efficient

Lauren is a very smart and talented basketball player, but every young player has things they can improve on in their game. The biggest things for Lauren moving forward is being more physical as a player and getting stronger. As I mentioned before, Lauren uses her size and length to her advantage but at the next level, you have to have some physicality to your game. Lauren has been working on getting in the weight room throughout the offseason and playing more physical to become a dominant force in the Northwest. Another things that ties into those last two factors for Lauren to work on is playing aggressive. Lauren can do many things with a basketball, but once she adds that aggression piece on the offensive end and staying efficient then she can easily be the best post player in Washington. Lauren should also work on attacking the basket more off the dribble and recognizing mismatches when she sees them.


I believe Lauren will have a monster junior season for Mount Si. Already standing out among other players in skill and height, offers from Power 5 schools and touring with the NW Blazers over the summer, her drive and mentality going into next season will be different! I asked Lauren several questions so the audience can get to know her better.


Interview is below ↓



 

LAUREN GLAZIER Q&A

When did you first start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing when I was seven years old in Bend, Oregon. It was a coed team. I’m sure everyone thought I’d be a great addition to their team since I was the tallest, but I could barely catch the ball. Let’s just say I wasn’t very coordinated being so tall and skinny. My parents told me it was difficult to watch."


Describe your game.

  • "I think as a player, I excel more within a faster pace transition game. I guess you could say the more movement, the less overthinking I do. Which is a bonus! Offensively, I prefer the wing and high post position. I’m big on ball movement and feeding the inside players. I prefer to attack from the outside or look at the outside shot. I can hit the three but also drive the baseline looking to dish inside. I’m a team player in every way playing with a group of athletes who communicate, have fun and encourage each other is my ideal environment. Defensively I can move my feet well especially for my size. My lateral movement is strong and I prefer to be challenged with guarding the point guards and not letting them get by me. Each season I’m getting more consistent with blocking shots as well. I’m improving at communication and being more verbal on and off the court."


What is your role on Mount Si’s basketball team?

  • "I am a Team Co-Captain. We are a young team but we definitely have talent. My focus this year is to be a leader, but also help teach and encourage the younger players on our team. I know when to focus and be serious but I believe you also have to have some fun to build team chemistry. I am definitely one that likes to be goofy and make people laugh."


How was the summer for you?

  • "This was my first year with the NW Blazers. I have to say I found my home. My NW Blazer team was a group of positive and unselfish girls that performed at a high level. We had a blast playing together. COVID definitely made training as well as competing a little more difficult. Our tourneys were spaced out and we had to try to keep in shape on our own time. I trained with Chris Hyppa the last few months which really helped my ball handling and IQ for the game."


From the previous question but for AAU, how has the experience been of playing with the Northwest Blazers?

  • "Northwest Blazers has been nothing but positive. Coaches definitely know the game and really help give me direction within my personal game. They’ve taught me so much in just one season. Great program!"


How has your recruitment been?

  • "My first offer was the University of Montana over zoom of course. My parents and I connected with their whole coaching staff. They were an awesome group of coaches who I still talk with often. When they offered me I was in shock. It was an amazing feeling to know a college program believed in me and wanted me to be part of their programs future. I’ve also received offers from WSU, UC Santa Barbra, UC San Diego, and Hawaii. I feel truly blessed because everyone has been so kind. And all the coaches I’ve spoken with have helped me grow with more confidence in my game. I know I have a way to go but I have the ability to go far."


What does the term “Student-Athlete” mean to you?

  • "Student Athlete means making sure you have your priorities in line by creating habits to be successful and finding the perfect balance. Being an athlete has really help teach me many life lessons that I’ll bring to the classroom as well the gym. My plan and goal is to study hard and play hard."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "Training, weightlifting and always working on mindset, improving my basketball IQ."


What do you look for in a college?

  • "Somewhere that I really fit and it feels like a home. The environment, coaches and teammates that I truly can connect with. The extra support in the classroom and classroom size is huge as well. Someplace sunny always sounds nice, but really the connection is the most important. I want to play but also want to be developed more and a staff that is known for their development is an important factor to me."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "Kevin Durant, probably because I’ve been told I play his style of ball. He’s a big guy who can play multiple positions and moves well for his size. Jazymn Stone as well, she one of my best friends and we’ve hooped together for years. We have a blast together but also connect so well on the court."


How has the preseason been for you?

  • "Haven't had a preseason yet. Waiting for the green-light to play. As a Co-Captain we have small groups to over see that include incoming freshman to help build a connection before the season starts hopefully."


What are your expectations heading into your junior season?

  • "Really work on my leadership skills and help our High school program be successful."


What is one message of encouragement or motivation that you would give to people?

  • "One of my favorite coaches in my career so far has always told me when I started to overthink the game he said, “Focus on what you are good at and everything else will fall into place.” Or, “Just play basketball!” Thank you David Stone!"







2022 Nw Blazers UAA Basketball team



Lauren Glazier Sophomore Season Highlights (2019-2020)


Lauren Glazier 2020 AAU Season Highlights with NW Blazers UAA



OTHER LINKS ON LAUREN FRAZIER

Glazier’s big night keeps Mount Si’s girls’ hoops season alive, plus CHS against Shorecrest and a preview of TODAY’s Mount Si girls’ playoff game - http://snovalleysportsjournal.com/?p=52383



Merry Christmas from the SVSJ! Today, examining the current college options for Mount Si girls’ hoopster Glazier




Twitter:


High School Coach Information:

Jason Marr - Email


AAU Coach Information:


Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page