top of page

Player Profile: Kirby Mooney (Southampton, PA)

Updated: Mar 1, 2023


Name: Kirby Mooney


Height: 6-3


Position: Point Guard/Shooting Guard


High School: William Tennent (PA)


Graduation Class: 2024


AAU Club: PA Royals


GPA: 3.9


Status: Uncommitted


Accomplishments: Suburban One League - Second-team


Kirby Mooney is a 6-3 Combo Guard from Southampton, Pennsylvania. He’s a rising junior at William Tennent High School, and runs with the PA Royals on the AAU circuit. Mooney is also the nephew of University of Richmond head coach, Chris Mooney, who’s the winningest head coach in Richmond history.


I first discovered Mooney from the Jr. 76ers Classic at Spooky Nook a few weeks ago. His Royals team played my cousin’s team, South Jersey Jazz and seeing Mooney go to work on the court, the kid had no fear in his game. Scoring in bunches off penetration and showcasing the three ball, I immediately searched up his name in Google and the rest was history.


I caught up with the William Tennent standout on his stellar sophomore campaign, relationship with his uncle and the Philadelphia basketball culture.

 

Breakdown


Strengths:

Body Control

  • ”For Mooney’s size and frame, the Eastern PA product isn’t afraid to face contact. He’s strong on the drive and dribble penetration, as he’s always in ‘picture taking moments‘. His ability to stay low to the grind and accelerate is second-to-none.”


Can score at all three levels.

  • ”Mooney’s ability to score is impressive. And, yes anybody can say that nowadays, but the young man is special. Mooney is a polished three level scorer with range, and can put it on the ground for an easy two. Watching him, you can look at him and tell that he actually works on his game."


Finishing in the paint.

  • "Mooney is not afraid to hurt your feelings on the court, and that's a good thing. You can't ask for more as a coach. Regardless of his frame, Mooney is a scrappy offensive player that isn't afraid of taking opportunities to score. His will to finish in the paint, and put it in the basket takes guts. But this is one of Mooney's best traits."


Playmaking Ability

  • "While Mooney may seem like a ball dominant guard from how I'm talking him up *laughs*, he's a very unselfish basketball player. While facing contact and extensive pressure from defenses throughout games, Mooney excels at the kick in making the extra pass. I don't know if the IQ comes from being in a basketball family, but the dude is SMART."


Shooting

  • "Don't have to explain much, the boy has range. Still developing an even more polished catch-and-shoot game, Mooney excels with shooting the ball. No fear in his game, that's my new motto for him *makes howling noises*."


Things to Improve On:

Defensive Approach

  • "One of the biggest things Mooney will have to work on is his defensive play. Yes, he can get into passing lanes as an IQ defender, but why not become a lockdown defender? It wouldn't hurt one bit. Cleaning up on the defensive end and getting nasty on that side of the ball, will make a difference in his game."


Getting Stronger

  • "One of the biggest things Mooney discussed with me, he will need to cherish his physical strength trainings this summer. Whether it's in the weight room building muscle, or attacking his core to move better laterally, this will be crucial for him to take his game to the next level. And, would easily prepare him for what's to come in college."

 

Kirby Mooney Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball when I was 4 years old. I played multiple other sports, but didn’t love them nearly as much as basketball. I began taking it seriously when I got into middle school."


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • "I am a combo guard who can get into the lane, and finish over and through defenders. I open shots up for my teammates, and shoot the three ball well. I am good at drawing fouls, and am consistent from the line."


How was year two for you?

  • "I thought I had a good sophomore season. I led my team in points, rebounds, steals, blocks and assists. I was the leading scorer in my conference, and fourth most in the entire district out of 24 teams with 17 points per game. I was unsatisfied with the way our team finished at 9 and 13. However, we are looking to turn that around with multiple players returning. I thought I was snubbed from first team all league, but it gives me extra motivation to get better on my game over the off-season."


Many may not know outside of your area and some possibly do, but you’re the nephew of University of Richmond head coach Chris Mooney. Tell me about, what has your experience been within the basketball bloodline of your family?

  • "My uncle (Chris) has been my biggest inspiration ever since I was little. Going to see all of his games at Richmond as a kid, it really inspired me to work as hard as I can to get to that level. I sat front row to see them play in March Madness this year, and I realized how much quicker and more physical the game is at the D1 level. He had a phenomenal career at Archbishop Ryan, and went on to play at Princeton back in the day. My ultimate goal is to follow in his footsteps. My dad, Kevin Mooney, has taught me basically everything I know. He played at Holy Ghost in the 80’s, and had a great four years there. He keeps me motivated, and helps me become the best player that I can be. Having a lot of basketball experience in my family has allowed me to push myself harder, and have such a serious passion for the game."


Even though William Tennent is on the outskirts, some parts of the metro are arguably still apart of Philadelphia basketball culture. Growing up around the area, talk about the high level of play and even competition within the Suburban One League?

  • "The Philadelphia basketball culture is honestly unmatched. The competition is off the charts. I’m from outside of Philly but have gone to camps, participated in events and followed some of the big name teams in Philadelphia to help keep up with the competition. As a player in the Suburban One League, I’d say our league is a bit underrated. We have a lot of talent that doesn’t get seen. This is something that does make me a bit nervous for my future, but I believe if you can play, you’ll get noticed."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "I do my best to lift four to five days a week. I’ve always been on the skinnier side, so getting in the weight room as much as I can is very important to me. I get shots up everyday whether it’s at the park, in my high school gym, or at my house. In the off-season, I train five days a week with my AAU coaches, Ray Horn and Nick Mackell. Outside of these, I have AAU practices twice a week and high school leagues in the off-season."


What are your plans for the summer?

  • "In the summer, I am playing with the PA Royals. We are a new program with lots of underrated talent. For tournaments, I will be playing in the Beach Blast, East Coast Nationals, Hoop Group East Stroudsburg, Hoop Group Atlantic City, and Hoop Group Summer Jam fest tournaments. I’ll be at Wildwood, Spooky Nook, East Stroudsburg and Atlantic City."


As you’re now at the age where you’re starting to look for college basketball opportunities, what do you ideally look for in a college?

  • "The main factors that I’d consider for picking a college are the academics, environment, culture, the coaches, and the teams style of play. I have always taken my academics very seriously, and I believe playing at a school in a good environment would be ideal for me. I want to play for a team where the coaches push me and believe in me. I believe playing at a school that fits my style would help me showcase my skills the most."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "I look up to Kobe Bryant the most. I used to go to Lower Merion basketball camps as a kid, and he’s been one of my role models ever since. Especially him playing for a public school in PA, it has always inspired me. His mentality was unmatched."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "I look up to my family as role models. My three siblings have all played sports and they motivate me to be better then they were. I look up to my parents since they’ve always been there for me and want me to become the very best I can be. I also look up to my friends since they push me to keep working each and every day."


I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your junior season?

  • "I am looking forward to making District playoffs this year. It has been a few years since our school has made it and I feel very confident about this season. My goal is to lead us to a league championship. I plan on improving on my numbers from last year and hopefully getting my name out."


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • "I want to thank Tyreese for taking the time to help me out throughout this opportunity. It truly means a lot. For younger kids, I’d just say don’t worry about all the publicity and rankings. Just play your game and get better each and every day."


Kirby Mooney Interview


Kirby Mooney Summer 2022 AAU Highlights


Kirby Mooney Sophomore Season Highlights (2021-2022)


Kirby Mooney’s Scouting Report http://filedropper.com/OFWUBrgU


Twitter @k1rby_mooney


High School Coach Information

Robert Mulville - Email


AAU Coach Information

Ray Horn


Contact Tyreese Smith




Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page