top of page

Player Profile: Kennedy O'Brien (Lewisberry, PA)

Updated: Jan 24, 2022


Name: Kennedy O’Brien


Height: 5’8


Position: Point Guard/Shooting Guard


High School: Bishop McDevitt High School


AAU Club: Central PA Elite


GPA: 4.0


Offers: Pitt-Johnstown and Roberts Wesleyan.


Status: COMMITTED - Pitt Johnstown (8/10/21)


Favorite hobbies outside of basketball: Snowboarding


Expectations/Main Focus for the off-season: "This offseason is definitely going to be one of the most exciting ones yet. I’ve never faced a challenge like being unable to play a season so this is also going to be my most important offseason too. One of the things I’m focusing on is strength and conditioning work because I know I need to get stronger and faster to compete with some of the girls I’ll be playing against my senior year."


During the fall last year, the PIAA decided to rule Kennedy O'Brien ineligible for her first season at Bishop McDevitt. I created this project to help keep Kennedy's name in the loop and I see a lot of potential in her game and how she carries herself. Thank you for viewing this it's much appreciated!


Kennedy O'Brien is a 5 foot 8 Point Guard from Lewisberry, Pennsylvania. Kennedy previously attended Red Land High School before transferring into Bishop McDevitt High School over the summer. She's currently a junior and ran with Central PA Elite- Alyssa Thomas Elite on the AAU circuit. Kennedy is a versatile guard who is a do-it-all player. In her sophomore season, she averaged 12.5 points per game for Red Land and showed flashes of being an elite guard while making PennLive's Big 15 All-Star team. Kennedy is a very dedicated player and her attention to detail is unmatched as she takes every game, workout, practice and other basketball related events seriously. But enough of this paragraph, here is my breakdown of Kennedy O'Brien.

 

BREAKDOWN:


STRENGTHS:

  • Attention to detail

  • Elite Scorer from all three levels.

  • Excellent Passer

  • High IQ Guard

  • Lethal Shooter - Nothing but net.

  • Natural Born Leader

  • Natural Playmaker

  • Nice shooting form- Goes straight up and down every time

  • One of the best deep threats in Central Pennsylvania.

  • Quick hands on the defensive end - Gets a lot of deflections and steals due to length.

  • Solid mid range game

  • Taller guard

  • Uses a variety of moves to score - Very creative

If you haven't heard of Kennedy O'Brien yet, you need to tune in, period. I'm just kidding, but seriously though don't sleep on the kid. O'Brien is a natural born leader who is very versatile on the court. She doesn't lead just by her voice, but by example. She's an offensive threat who scores at will. O'Brien loves to attack whenever she sees an open gap or her defender doesn't press up enough. She's able to shoot from 20 plus feet out and can put it on the ground to pull up for the smooth jumper or go strong to the basket. If you are caught overplaying her, or having a hand down. good luck. O'Brien plays strong defense on and off the ball and has a knack for getting a lot of deflections and steals off of lazy passes. O'Brien is the definition of tough and you do not want to forget her name.


THINGS TO WORK ON

To simplify things down I won't need a list to list every one of Kennedy's flaws and weaknesses, but getting more physical on the boards and not letting one season set her back. She has all the tools to play in college in a year, or two and she needs to keep her foot on the gas. Bishop McDevitt will be much younger next year losing Taja, Maya, Diana and others but her senior season will either break her or make her!


My interview with Kennedy O'Brien is below.



 

KENNEDY O'BRIEN Q&A

When did you first start playing basketball?

  • "I first started playing basketball in around kindergarten. I grew up playing sports with my mom and dad, especially basketball, and wanted to get on the court as soon as I could."


Describe your game.

  • "I would say that I love to run the floor and play a lot of transition game. In the half court, I look to set up my teammates for success while looking for my shot as well. My range is pretty deep and I’m also considered a tall guard which makes me a pretty versatile player on the finishing end as well."


I heard you had a pretty good sophomore season. Tell me more about the previous season!

  • "Individually I had a really good sophomore season. My team struggled a lot but I was able to help lead them throughout the year and keep our heads up. It was a really good experience of being the go to person on my team. I played almost every minute, was the major contributor in a lot of areas, and also got to work on my leadership in challenging times."


How has the summer been for you?

  • "This summer, almost all of my time was spent in the gym, the weight room or even outside running hills. I worked out every chance I got, a lot of times doing 3 a days trying to improve my game. At the time, I wasn’t aware that I wouldn’t be able to play my junior season and my main focus was improving my game to prepare. This summer I played for Tina Thomas at Central PA Elite. Because of COVID we weren’t able to travel everywhere we wanted, but we got to play some really talented teams which was great exposure for the next level."


How has the transition been going from public to private school?

  • "Changing schools was definitely a challenge at first. Red Land and Bishop McDevitt are two very different schools but I couldn’t be happier here. I feel like I’m in an environment where I can thrive in the classroom and I have all the resources and mentors that I need to do that."

During the Fall, the PIAA decided to rule against your transfer for your junior season at Bishop McDevitt. Describe how that will affect your offseason in terms of motivation and how you’re looking to come back from that.

  • "After the PIAA ruled against my transfer I felt defeated. I kind of lost what I had been working for the entire summer and it pushed me back. After talking to some of my mentors and coaches, I realized that I couldn’t let this hold me back. I became so motivated to prove people wrong because I didn’t want anyone to think this would bring me down my senior season. Once I am able to play, I think I will be the most hungry I’ve ever been."


Which coaches, teammates or any other significant figures that you look up to as role models?

  • "My trainer, Nashon Walker, has been the biggest support I could ask for. I met him around a year ago after playing against Bishop McDevitt and he immediately took me in as one of his own. He motivated me during the summer to never miss a workout and he helped me work past the setback of the PIAA. My coaches at McDevitt, Kevin Dupes, Jordan Dupes and Erin Davis have also all been there for me since I met them. They push me everyday to be a better person and player and I wouldn’t be the person I am without any of these role models."


How was your preseason?

  • "My junior preseason was not what I expected it to be. With COVID and the PIAA ruling against me, there was a lot of confusion on how to stand out. Luckily, a lot of the trainers in the area were able to help me by hosting events to get college exposure. A few months back, my high school team was invited to an event that helped us gage where we were at for the season. I also played at Unleashed Potential’s first college showcase where coaches were present and watching."


What are your expectations for your senior season?

  • "With losing a few key players next year, my biggest goal for my senior season is to step up and take leadership of my team. I also want to lead my team in scoring and be a big contributor on both ends of the floor. Another goal for my team is to make districts and go far in the postseason."


Do you have any words of encouragement, or motivation that you have for people?

  • "The one thing I feel is the most important for young players to know is to never take for granted the time you have playing basketball. In my case, you never know when your season could be taken away from you and you should always play like it could be your last game."



Kennedy O'Brien, Bishop McDevitt Class of 2022




Kennedy with teammate Maya Carter (West Chester University Recruit)


2020-2021 Bishop McDevitt Lady Crusaders Basketball team


Chasin - Episode 1 (The Kennedy O'Brien Vlog)


Kennedy O'Brien Sophomore Season Highlights @ Red Land


OTHER LINKS ON KENNEDY O'BRIEN



Twitter:


High School Coach Information

Kevin Dupes - Email


For more information on Kennedy O'Brien's recruitment contact risesportshd@gmail,com or cdickerson@firststatepreps.com

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page