top of page

Player Profile: Jonathan Byrd (Lancaster, PA)


YOS Productions | yosprod717@gmail.com


Name: Jonathan Byrd


Height: 5-8


High School: JP McCaskey (PA)


Graduation Class: 2023


Status: Uncommitted


Jonathan Byrd is a 5-8 Point Guard from Lancaster, Pennsylvania. He's a rising senior at JP McCaskey High School, and spent time with Athletes Plus and Team Final Red on the AAU circuit. Byrd is one of the premier guards in the region, who was a Lancaster-Lebanon All-Conference guard this past season in section one.


I caught up with the 2023 prospect on a breakdown of his game, junior campaign, summer basketball period and preparation for the last chapter. He's a very humbled player, who lights up a spark in every room he steps foot in!

 

Breakdown


Strengths:

Athleticism

  • "Youngbull can go at 5'8". You rarely see Byrd tired, or playing down a level when on the court. Being a speedy guard has it's perks, but being explosive and having a second gear comes in handy much more at a high level."


Ball Handling

  • "Yes, every guard needs to be able to handle the ball. I know it sounds basic. But, Byrd does a solid job of handling the rock through contact, and has the strong ability to break defenders down in the open court. Very capable of running an offense as well."


Can score at all three levels.

  • "Byrd is an All-Conference guard for a reason. And, his scoring ability puts defenders in a blender within his movements. Being able to show improvements from behind the arc while pulling up and attacking off the dribble, Byrd isn't afraid to attack anybody. One of the most slept on guards that I've seen throughout the last two years."


Makes his teammates better

  • "Now you might think to yourself, his game seems flashy. Well, Byrd isn't all handles. He cares about playing the right way. Byrd is a solid distributor who's able to look for the open teammates, and can make the right read. Although McCaskey didn't live up to standards last season, Byrd always made sure he was playing the right way away from his scoring output."


Strong Slasher

  • "Trust me, Byrd is an ox in the paint. He's strong on the take. Being able to finish strong, but crafty around the basket is something that most kids can't master at the high school division. Especially being in control while doing it. But Byrd is on a mission to prove that small guards have to be the toughest people on the hardwood."


Things to Improve On:

Trusting his pull-up in situations.

  • "Byrd is a dynamic scorer, yes, but he believes and has told the RPN that he needs to pull up more often. And, preparing for the next level, Byrd will not just need to utilize his pullup but trust his jumper more. Being 5'8", you can only do so much but I trust that Byrd can become a high level shooter, and work on this part of his game."


Understanding Critical Situations

  • "The biggest thing that Byrd told the RPN he needed to work on was understanding game like situations. More on the offensive IQ end. Knowing in timely situations who's around him to feed, or when to set himself up more properly to score. One thing I loved about Byrd is he's a student of the game. He doesn't stop learning, and that can take him far throughout the game and life. Byrd has a bright future, and I can't wait to see it unfold."

 

Jonathan Byrd Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

"I started playing basketball around 3, or 4 years old. My dad had me in the gym bouncing the basketball almost everyday."

Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

"I am a pure point guard. I love to facilitate, and lead my teammates. I make quick decisions, and put my teammates in the position to be most successful."

How was life growing up in Lancaster?

"Life was good growing up in Lancaster. I loved being able to play, and train everyday with my father and friends. I never had any problems I stayed out of trouble, and I stayed in the gym so it made everything better."

How was your junior season?

"I felt like I should’ve done way more my junior year. I also think that when we needed it most, I didn’t show up to make the right decision. As a team we could’ve went really far. Our team just wasn’t ready for what was up ahead."

You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

"I get up every morning at 4:30, and get to the gym at 5. I train until 7:30. The first hour, I lift and get my body stronger. Then I get as many shots up as possible because I’m working on my shot and trying to master it. My dad pushes me very hard because he knows I want it, and he’s going to help me get there. The AAU teams I played with was Athletes plus, and Team Final Red this summer."

Which athlete do you look up to the most, or role models?

"I honestly don’t look up to any hooper. The only person I really look up to is my father. I wouldn’t be anything if it wasn’t for him. I strive to be like him because he is a great man and knows how to handle anything."

As you’re now at the age where you’re starting to look for college opportunities, what do you ideally look for in a college?

"The things I look for in a college is if it's pure interest. I need to make sure it's a good fit, and if the school will benefit me."

Entering your final chapter, what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

"I am looking forward to just going out there trying my best and getting the job done. I’m going to try to win every single game and make sure my teammates get better every time we step on the floor."

Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

"I would just say if you are really trying to go far in basketball it is not easy, stay in the gym, stay out of trouble, just worry about school and basketball, and lastly try your hardest every time you step on the floor."

Yos Productions Files

Jonathan Byrd - McCaskey '23


Jonathan Byrd Junior Season Mix


Jonathan Byrd Summer 2022 AAU Highlights


High School Coach Information

Freddy Ramos


AAU Coach Information

Marco Marcos


Contact Tyreese Smith

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


hockeymaskgames
Oct 17, 2022

I guess this is who I’m going up against

Like
bottom of page