top of page

Player Profile: Jevin Muniz (Bethlehem, PA)


Name: Jevin Muniz


Height: 6’5”


Position: Shooting Guard


High School: Executive Education Academy Charter School, Class of 2021


AAU Club: Team Final Red


Current GPA: 3.4


Status: Uncommitted


Favorite hobbies outside of basketball: Going to the Beach, Hiking and traveling.


Expectations for senior season: "Compete at a high level and win a third district championship!"




 

Jevin Muniz is a 6'5 Combo Guard from Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. He primarily plays on the wing, but also used as a Point Guard bringing the ball up and running the offense. Jevin is currently a senior at Executive Education Academy Charter School and ran with Team Final Red in the Hoop Group Showcase League. Jevin is the definition of a big guard. Standing at 6'5, he's a versatile guard who's capable of scoring at all three levels and is a high level passer who gets his teammates INVOLVED. Throughout his first three seasons, one at Freedom High School (2017-2018) and the last two at Executive Charter, he totaled 985 points, 389 field goals made and 146 made three pointers. He scored his 1,000th point in Executive's season opener against Notre Dame Green Pond on December 11, 2020. Throughout his first two games of the season, Jevin is currently averaging an impressive 30 points per game for the Raptors. Throughout this shutdown, Jevin is continuing to stay active through his workouts and his college recruitment. Jevin is one of the best keep secrets in the state and this dude can GO! Here is my breakdown of the combo guard!


Breakdown is below ↓


 

BREAKDOWN


STRENGTHS

  • Competitive Fire

  • Knockdown Shooter

  • Mid Range Game

  • Needle Threader - High Level Passing

  • Offseason - Cut down body fat turned it into muscle

  • Strong Slashing Ability

  • Volume Shooter

Jevin is a do-it-all guard. Jevin is an opposing team's nightmare as his ability to take over games is second to none. He attacks the basket well off the dribble and plays strong above the rim. Jevin is an excellent space creator with the ball as he has a solid mid range game and uses pump fakes and jab steps to shake a defender off. The big guard is also a fluid sharpshooter. Jevin has limitless range off the catch and shoot and once his feet are set, it's nothing but net. His competitive fire is what stood out to me the most as he told me he's extremely passionate about winning and expects his teammates to have the same passion. He is a college coach's dream within his desire to win games!


WEAKNEESES

  • Becoming Faster

  • Explosiveness

  • Strength

Jevin is a solid prospect, but every young player still has things to work on. Jevin's biggest thing he told me he's working on is becoming stronger. In the offseason, Jevin cut down 25 pounds of body fat and is still working on adding between 10-12 pounds of muscle. He's still developing into his body, but adding on more muscle will benefit Jevin to become more explosive and move a lot quicker especially at the next level.


I believe Jevin will continue to put up big numbers in his senior season. He's already shooting it at a high clip through two game and has all the potential in the world to compete at a high level in college. Executive Charter is seeking their third consecutive district 11 championship and Jevin will be a huge piece in making another postseason run. I asked Jevin several questions in the interview below.


Interview is below ↓



 

Jevin Muniz Q&A

When did you first start playing basketball?

  • "I first started playing at 5 years old. My dad used to workout at 5 am every day. I would get mad if he didn’t take me with him to get shots up before school when I was 7 years old."


Describe your game.

  • "I like to see my teammates thrive and try to set them up for success. In every game, I’ve been dubbed a shooter but I really like passing! I like to give up good shots for my teammates to take great shots."


What is your role on Executive Charter’s basketball team?

  • "As a third year varsity starter and one of the few seniors on the team, I have to be a leader at all times. First one in the gym and last one out is very important in setting that tone."


How has the summer been for you?

  • "When AAU and school shutdown in March it was tough to think about how things would go since there were a lot of unknowns. Me and my family actually went away for the entire month of June. I trained in Florida’s summer heat for almost 5 weeks! When I came back I had a renewed sense of how ready I wanted to be once the season got going again. I adopted a clean diet and exercise. I was able to lose about 25 pounds, did a lot of jump roping drills and a lot of skill work to work on my weaknesses!"


You recently scored your 1,000th point last Friday. How did it feel knowing that you reached such a prestigious milestone?

  • "Felt great! Like I said, when everything shutdown in March and I was only 15 points away, I kept telling myself if I get one more game just one more opportunity, I will absolutely aim to get it in the first quarter and seize the moment. My dad always says to be successful in life you have to do things twice: once in your head and then once in real life! Living the moment mentally before it happens definitely helped me prepare for the moment. God willing, I was able to accomplish 15 points in 5 minutes of the first quarter!"


What do you look for in a college?

  • "Really a combination of all three. Athletics is the platform, but academics and the environment will setup the lifestyle. If any of the three are not up to par, it will be hard for success to align."


Who do you look up to as a role model?

  • "I’d say Jayson Tatum is a player I look up to. I feel we play similar, he’s a little bit bigger, but his work ethic and fearless mentality makes him a tough competitor which I like!"


How has the preseason been for you?

  • "Preseason has gone well. We have taken some losses playing tough opponents but we have young players making strides to get better every practice and every game. That is all we can ask for as a unit."


What are your expectations for your senior season when play resumes?

  • "God willing we will have a complete healthy season. Win districts for my 3rd year in a row and make a deep run at states. Hopefully bringing something home that hasn’t happened in this area for over 3 decades!"


What is one message of encouragement or motivation that you would give to people?

  • "Do not let anyone ever influence you to not try something you are passionate about! Set your goals and make sure your daily actions match them!"









Jevin posing with his parents his 1,000 Career Points poster frame and ball.

(December 11, 2020)


2019-2020 Executive Education Academy Charter School Basketball team.

(PIAA District 11 2A Champions)



Jevin with a nasty dunk on Notre Dame defender. (December 11, 2020)



Jevin Muniz vs. Cardinal O’Hara (Philadelphia Catholic League)


Jevin Muniz vs. Spire Institute (Lamelo Ball's old prep school)


Jevin Muniz vs. Trinity - PA (Mid Penn)


Jevin Muniz vs. Steelton-Highspire (Mid Penn)


OTHER LINKS ON JEVIN MUNIZ

HUDL - Junior Year Highlights



Jevin Muniz explodes early, Executive holds on late in win over Notre Dame as boys basketball season begins - https://www.mcall.com/sports/varsity/basketball/mc-spt-notredame-executive-boys-basketball-20201212-6hsiu2fztvcznhemgazjvvosue-story.html


Twitter:


High School Coach Information:

Ray Barbosa - Email


Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page