top of page

Player Profile: Jazmyn Stone (Tacoma, WA)

Updated: Jan 24, 2022

Name: Jazmyn Stone


Height: 5’6


Position: Point Guard


High School: Annie Wright Schools, Class of 2022


AAU Club: NW Blazers GUAA


GPA: 4.3


Offers: Portland


Status: COMMITTED - College of Charleston (8/10/21)


Favorite Hobbies Outside of B-ball: Reading, Participating in activities with her little brother David, Running, Hangout with friends, Watch professional and college basketball with her parents.


Expectations for your junior season: "Whether the season is pushed back or shortened due to COVID, I would love to get back on the court with my team. I was injured my sophomore season so I’m hopeful that I can return with establishing my leadership role on the team but also get my flow and rhythm back since I’ve been out a whole year! For the last couple of years, we’ve been inching closer and closer to winning a state championship. I believe we can bring it home this year!"


Jazmyn Stone is a 5 foot 6 Point Guard from Tacoma, Washington. She's currently a junior at Annie Wright High School and runs with the Northwest Blazers on the Under Armour AAU Circuit (GUAA). Stone is a lightning quick point guard and (in my opinion) has one of the most fluid and deadly change of direction game off of the dribble. Stone reminds me a lot of Stephen Curry in certain areas and has a lot of upside in her game. She was a huge contribution to the Lady Gators during her freshman season, but due to an ACL tear she sat out her entire sophomore season. Stone holds an offer from the University of Portland but her recruitment should take off more throughout her junior season. Here is my breakdown of the Washington prospect!


Breakdown is below ↓

 

BREAKDOWN:


STRENGTHS:

  • Catch and Shoot threat

  • Change of direction

  • College ready Point Guard

  • Creative Scorer - Finds different ways to score.

  • Deadly accurate three point shooter.

  • Elite Ball Handler

  • Elite Passer

  • Flashy finisher at the rim - reverse layups, slithery finishes.

  • Fundamentally sound guard

  • High IQ

  • Size up game - Uses ball fakes, jab steps, pivots and shot fakes to shake defenders off. Steph Curry like shot - High release and quick off of her feet.

  • Strong Mid Range Game

  • Transition game - Runs the floor and finishes strong at the rim.

Jazmyn Stone is a very skilled high IQ Point who can do many things with the ball. She's a solid three level scorer who does a wonderful job at penetrating and pulling up in the paint. Stone is a very good jump shooter who always has her feet set and stays shot ready in order to score. One overlooked thing about her game is her size up game. Stone uses a variety of moves to shake a defender off while sizing her up. Moves such as strong and quick jab steps, over and under rip-throughs and sometimes automatically going into a dribble off the catch in a blow-by sequence. As mentioned above, Stone also does a great job at changing direction and speed off of the dribble and her athleticism is second to none.


THINGS TO IMPROVE ON

  • Being aggressive throughout the game.

  • Consistent Shooting

  • Finishing through contact.

  • Not passing up on open shots.

  • Utilizing the mid range.

Jazmyn Stone has all the keys to playing at the division 1 level through her IQ and shooting ability, but there are still things she needs to work on. Mainly having to deal with being more aggressive and her consistency. Stone will need to work on being more aggressive with the ball in terms of not being too passive and starts taking over. She will need to use every ounce of her game to play at the next level and getting too passive won't help her improve. Consistent shooting, finishing through contact and utilizing her mid range are keys too that she has been working on over the offseason. The best is yet to come for the Jazmyn as she's looking to make a comeback. Washington state lookout. She is NEXT UP! I caught up with the Annie Wright product in our interview.


Interview is below ↓


 

JAZMYN STONE Q&A

When did you first start playing basketball?

  • "I actually only started playing competitive basketball when I was in the 6th grade. For most of my early life, I was a competitive runner and was running on a national level; traveling to South Carolina and Alabama for races but eventually I started to take a liking into hoop and was positive it was what I wanted to do for as long as I can. That’s when my parents signed me up for Rec-league and eventually I was playing AAU. My dad became my primary trainer and he really taught me how fundamentals can branch into so many more complex moves and skills. In my years of playing AAU I played for FOH, Tree of Hope EYBL, and currently the NW Blazers, which have all provided me with opportunities that have helped me be the best player I can be."


Describe your game.

  • "My playing style is efficient and versatile. I have the ability to create open shots for my teammates but also find pockets for me to get buckets to. I feel like im very vocal yet I like to lead through my actions and I’m able to be effective and be a threat without the ball, which I feel likes makes me tough to guard. I’m a very humble person and a 'silent but deadly' type player but at times I can be crazy energetic and loud. My versatility comes to play because I can run sets, set up plays, and follow through on them but I can also run up and down the floor in transitions or quick hitter plays. This is why I feel like my style of play can fit into any college school's style and I'm flexible to adjust however."


What is your role on Annie Wright’s basketball team?

  • "My role on the AWS basketball team is being a leader and the glue of the team. I joined the team and was fortunate enough to play with one of the best shooters to step on the court, Julianna Walker, and she was averaging 30+ per game. With her being a key scorer on the team, it was my job to contribute by scoring too but also preparing our other girls for the big stage such as state to perform at the best of our ability alongside Julianna and I’s buckets. My role also included holding my teammates accountable and also led through my actions, showing my team the work and dedication it takes to be a powerhouse squad."


You missed your whole sophomore season because of an ACL tear. Describe the events that occurred at that moment, the recovery process and how you’re looking to come back from it.

  • "I was in a pre-season game when I tore my ACL and all I did was plant my foot down while attacking the basketball and I felt a big pop and my leg gave out. The doctor thought it was just a torn meniscus but when I got my MRI results back It said I had torn both my meniscus AND my ACL, which meant I would have to sit for a year. The recovery process has been a journey and it’s been tough but looking back, I put in a lot of work and learned how to push myself further than I thought I could. My physical therapist Chad never let me cut corners and always challenged me to go harder, which I'm very thankful for. I DID miss all of my sophomore year but I made sure to be at every practice and at every game to still be present and to learn and watch from a different standpoint: The bench. It was difficult at first, sitting and watching and not being able to contribute but I found other ways to do so. During timeouts I’d make sure to communicate with my teammates on game plans and would give advice while on the bench. Overtime, I realized to find the good in my injury and understand that it helped my IQ grow watching the game from a new view. My 'comeback' is going to be crazy and i'm excited to put my new knowledge and strengths in action!"


How has your summer been?

  • "My summer was pretty busy! Even though AAU tournaments were pushed back and gyms were shut down due to COVID, I was really able to hone in on my recovery process from my ACL tear but also take the time to get my body stronger! I wrote myself a workout schedule that includes 5 am shoot arounds on outdoor courts and lifting or speed and agility workouts. I wanted to really push myself and get back into the shape I was before my injury. We actually built a half court in our backyard over the summer which was awesome because all we had to do was go outside and not drive anywhere to get some reps. I just did activities with my brother over the summer whether it was skateboarding, playing video games, or anything that was competitive!"


How has your recruitment been?

  • "My recruitment has been exciting and very new to me. Since I was hurt my sophomore year, recruitment had been put on pause for me but I was still able to be in contact with a lot of coaches and just get to know them and what their program was about. Up until now, I have received an offer from the University of Portland and I have other interests from many other schools. Receiving my first official offer felt amazing and I was very excited and thankful for my many conversations with Coach Rissmiller and Coach Meek. It also made me remind myself not to settle and to keep pushing myself to improve along with the attention I'm getting from colleges."


How has the experience been playing with the Northwest Blazers for AAU?

  • "My experience playing for the Blazers has been great! The program is welcoming and it’s legit. I have only played a couple of tournaments with them, since I was just recently cleared from my injury but I’m enjoying every moment while being a part of this program. The coaches continue to challenge us and help us develop our game to the best of our ability. The way the program is set is that we only have 2 practices over the summer and then we go and play in elite tournaments. This method is new to me but I’ve adapted and realized how efficient it is. Coach Steve brings to together the top girls in Washington. Idaho, Montana and possibly other states, and puts them on age-grouped teams to compete, bond, and win, win, win. I’m sad I only have one Spring left to play with the Blazers but im enjoying every moment with the girls, the coaches, and the exposure they provide us with."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "Being at the earlier stages of my career, I like to make sure I create good habits and I make sure that every time I set foot in a workout or a game, I find some way to improve on something and find a way to get better. I also constantly remind myself to have fun while i'm playing because frustration is not worth my time, especially while doing something I want to do for the rest of my life. I like to stay humble and grateful for all the opportunities handed to me and all the people that are supporting my process. At the end of the day, I acknowledge all the hard work I put in and I am proud of myself for pushing through but I stay hungry for more and I'm willing to put in the work, which I feel pays tribute to the player I am today."


What are some of your favorite activities to do outside of basketball?

  • "I like to read a lot and I love to hang out with my family and friends. My brother and I are always in the backyard, either jumping on the trampoline or shooting hoops on our half court, so I like to be outdoors too. If I’m not working out, I watch hours and hours of Law and Order: SUV and I like to go do things with my friends. Even though it’s basketball related, I love to watch college and professional basketball because I like to talk about it with my dad and I liked to learn what it takes to be a part of the next level."


What does the term “Student-Athlete” mean to you?

  • "Student-Athlete means having the capacity and the will to manage both school and sports but I also feel like we student-athletes often don’t get enough credit. As a student-athlete, we have to get better at our craft but to also maintain solid grades. This means late nights either in the gym or at the desk and it means early mornings, sore days, and wanting to sleep all the time, which I can speak on behalf of student-athletes and say sleep is always something we look forward to! Personally, I love school and I love basketball and in my opinion, those two go hand in hand. They both require focus, passion and the will to learn which is why I feel like student-athletes are some of the most resilient and hard working people to be around."


How was the preseason for you?

  • "Pre-season hasn’t happened yet due to COVID but I'm very hopeful it does. My sophomore year preseason, I tore my ACL during a game, so I’m really looking forward to finishing my junior year preseason out strong and injury free!"


What are your expectations heading into your junior year?

  • "First and foremost, I hope we have a season. COVID has stopped us from coming to school along with all workouts and school activities. If my junior season happens, I expect that our team makes it to the state tournament and I have a very good feeling we have a chance of winning. Since I was out my sophomore year, I expect to come back out and establish more roll back into the team and have a lot of fun getting back on the court with my teammates."


What is one message of encouragement or motivation that you have for people?

  • "A message of encouragement I have; that I still remind myself to this day, is 'trust the process'. With social media, and all of these other platforms that we see other hoopers getting attention on, it makes us wonder what we are doing wrong or why we aren’t getting that same attention. Constantly remind yourself that your journey is YOUR journey and everyone's path is different. If you trust the process, stay humble, and grind, grind, grind, your time will come!"







Annie Wright School Lady Gators Basketball.


Jazmyn Stone, Annie Wright High School Class of 2022


OTHER LINKS ON JAZMYN STONE


Twitter:


High School Coach Information

Chris Spivey


AAU Coach Information

Steve Gilliam

Steve Klees

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page