top of page

The Jaida Helm Interview (Willow Grove, PA)

Updated: Aug 12, 2022


Name: Jaida Helm


Height: 6 Feet


Position: Small Forward/Shooting Guard


High School: Lansdale Catholic (PA)

Graduation Class: 2023


AAU Club: Mid Atlantic Magic HGSL


Status: Uncommitted


Accomplishments: Suburban One League Second-Team


Jaida Helm is a 6-Foot Combo Guard from Willow Grove, Pennsylvania. She's a rising senior at Lansdale Catholic High School. Helm spent her last three years at Abington High School. I've had Helm's name on my watchlist since last summer, but following her junior season stepping into a bigger role for Abington, the wait was worth it. Helm is a scrappy big guard who can score from all three levels, and play on both sides of the ball. She was a huge reason alongside Cire Worley as Abington clinched a District 1 playoff berth and made a 6A state tournament appearance. Helm is expected to have a big summer alongside Mid Atlantic Magic, as she will be playing in front of college coaches. But in the meantime, let's get to know more about J Helm!

 

Jaida Helm Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

"I started playing basketball when I was about 11 but I wasn’t good at it. I just played to have something to do until the spring because I played softball and I was really good at that. Because I wasn’t good I didn’t really enjoy playing basketball but my brothers played, so I was always around it. I didn’t enjoy playing until 7th grade and then I stopped playing softball and started to take basketball seriously."

Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

"As a player skill wise I would say I’m really versatile. I rebound the ball really well, and I can get to the basket whenever I want. I can take over a game without shooting, but you’re going to have to respect my shot. A high energy player that you have to pick your poison with."

How was life growing up in Southeastern Pennsylvania?

"Growing up was really chill. I hung out with the kids on my block playing all types of games all day long. We’d be outside until like 10:00 at night sometimes if we could."

How was your junior season?

"My junior season didn’t go how me or any of my teammates wanted it to go. We lost in the second round of States and the third round of Districts. But I think for all we went through this season with losing our senior PG and having 2 freshmen start, we probably did a lot better than most people expected of us. We didn’t get to play in the state playoffs my freshman or sophomore year because of COVID so nobody on our team had been in a real state or district playoff environment. It was a good experience and I think we can build off of it next year with a district and a state title."

You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

"I’m trusting that everything is going to come together, sticking to what I do best and I’m working on the things I can do better. I workout on the court at least 3 times a week because of school, sometimes more if I can get a gym or go outside to a court when it’s nice with my dad, Brian Coleman. I lift and do cardio about 4 days a week to build my strength. But in the summer, we try to go 5 days a week with lifting on 2 of those days and I rest on the days we don’t go. It just depends on when my tournaments are."

What are your plans for spring/summer?

"This summer I’ll be on the Hoop Group circuit with the Magic. We’ll be at Spooky Nook, Atlantic City, Run4Roses, and a few other tournaments."

Which athlete do you look up to the most?

"Someone I really look up to is Rhyne Howard from Kentucky. Last year she was Honorable Mention WCBA All-America after having a great season and she used that as fuel to just work and be better than what she was the year before, turning her into a SEC champ and #1 overall pick in the WNBA draft. I was Honorable Mention after having a great sophomore year and I found out around the same time they announced she was Honorable Mention and I just really admired how she used the disrespect as fuel to her fire."

Who do you look up to as role models?

"My dad is a big influence in my life. He worked hard for everything. He used to dribble the ball up and down the street, going all around the city looking for games. He ended up going to The University of Santa Barbra to play basketball. He always just tells me to keep working, play my game and it’s gonna pay off."

I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

"In my senior year, I’m looking forward to having one last go around with my team. The mission is still the same with districts and states, so I’m excited to go out and go to war with them one last season."

Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

"Don’t compare yourself to anybody. What's meant for you will find you. Be patient, trust your work and do what’s best for you. Surround yourself around solid people that are going to be there no matter what. Awards, and being high on the rankings is nice, but winning feels better. Don’t get caught up in the hype, just put your head down and keep working."

Twitter @jaidaaa3x


High School Coach Information

Daniel Marsh - Email


AAU Coach Information

Mike McDonald - Email


Contact Tyreese Smith

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page