top of page

Player Profile: Idara Udo (Plano, TX)

Updated: Jun 3, 2021


Name: Idara Udo


Height: 6 Feet


Position: Power Forward


High School: Plano East Senior High School, Class of 2023


AAU Club: DC Queens Basketball Club


GPA: 3.8


Status: Uncommitted


Favorite hobbies outside of basketball: Cooking, roller skating with friends and shopping.


Expectations heading into your junior season: "My expectations heading into my junior season are to get more rebounds, shoot on the perimeter more, and continue to do what I can to help give my teammates and myself opportunities offensively and defensively."

 

Idara Udo is a 6 foot Power Forward from Plano, Texas. She's currently a sophomore at Plano East Senior High School and runs with the DC Queens (TX) on the AAU circuit. Udo is a powerful big with a great feel for the game. Udo is capable of putting her back to the basket scoring in bunches while able to guard all 5 positions on the defensive end. I watched some film on the Panthers and Plano East presses a lot in the full court. In all my years of basketball, I have never seen a big move that well being at the top of a press as she hustles and busts her behind every play to get a stop. She had a very bright, joyful personality throughout her process working with me in which she uses this energy on the court. In her sophomore season, Udo averaged 8.3 points, 6.1 rebounds, 1 steal and 0.9 blocks per game while capturing District 6 6A Defensive Player of the Year. Udo is a product in the making and in store for a big summer as her people are starting to take notice on the Texas product. Let's get to know more about Idara Udo!


BREAKDOWN


STRENGTH:

  • Elite Low Post Defender

  • Finishes strong at the rim while maneuvering through traffic.

  • Guards 1-5 on defense

  • High IQ player with a great motor.

  • Strong Rebounder

  • Tough Shot Blocker

  • Very Athletic Forward

Idara Udo is a beast in the making. Standing at 6 feet, Udo does a pretty good job at putting her back to the basket and scoring when in rhythm. She shows flashes of slashing to the rim to get her buckets whether that's on the fast break, or dribbling from the wing. Although her best trait on the court is her defender. This prospect is a monster. One of a kind. She covers a lot of space on defense by sliding with the best of them, swatting shots if players don't go up strong enough and is a very strong rebounder. It's Udo's world in the paint and the young big is only getting started in her high school career!


THINGS TO IMPROVE ON:

  • Adding a mid range game.

  • Finishing at the highest percentage possible.

  • Getting Stronger

  • Self control on defense.

Idara Udo is an aggressive player, but sometimes overthinks the game or loses control when she plays. Udo most of the time is in foul trouble because of being so aggressive throughout games. If she can tune down her foul count and play straight up, this can change whole outcomes of games for her. Also, once she gets older and adds on more strength and a mid range game to her bag, she'll be unguardable on the court. Finishing at a high percentage will also help her but consistency comes off with time so this isn't a real big concern for Udo.


Below is my interview with Idara Udo.

 

IDARA UDO Q&A

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball when I was in 4th grade for a random PSA team my mom signed me up for."


Describe your game.

  • "I would describe my game as strong, dominant, and tenacious. I rebound, shot block, and guard multiple positions. Offensively, I play more with my back to the basket when I make moves."


What is your role on Plano East's basketball team?

  • "My role on the Plano East team is to play defense, rebound, and score as much as possible to give my teammates offensive and defensive opportunities."


How was your sophomore season?

  • "My sophomore season was great. There was lots of improvement from my freshman year and I think overall I became more confident. The team's success also greatly increased during my sophomore year given that we made it to the 5th round of playoffs. This year I became defensive player of the year for my district and made the all- area team."


What are your plans for the Spring/Summer?

  • "My plans for the Spring/Summer are to play in tournaments and have a great season with my DC teammates. We will be playing in the Battle of the Boro tournament in Kentucky, as well as Nationals in Florida during the month of July."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "Things I am doing to make myself a better player are getting in the gym more, working more on my handles, and shooting on the perimeter more so I have the confidence to do so in a game."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "The athlete I look up to the most is Kobe because of all the things he brought to the game of basketball and all the ways he changed it, especially for women."


Who do you look up to as a role model?

  • "A person I look up to as a role model is my mom because even though she doesn’t play basketball she gives me lots of really good advice that is applicable to basketball and helps improve my game."


It’s still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your junior season?

  • "In my junior season, I am looking to contribute more points, rebounds, and blocks on defense to hopefully help lead my team to state. At least further than the 5th round."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "My words of encouragement/ motivation for people are to never give up on a dream or goal, because any goal is attainable with hard work, and also to stay humble with everything you do."




Idara Udo, Plano East Senior High School Class of 2023



MEDIA COVERAGE ON IDARA UDO



Twitter:


High School Coach Information

Jessica Linson - Email


AAU Coach Information

Lou Ritchie

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page