top of page

Player Profile: Genevive Wedemeyer (Germany)

Updated: Jan 11, 2022


Name: Genevive Wedemeyer


Height: 5-7


Position: Point Guard


High School: Putnam Science Academy (CT)


Graduation Class: 2023


AAU Club: New York Gauchos


Offers: Canisius

Status: Uncommitted


Genevive Wedemeyer is a 5-7 Point Guard from Lurup, Hamburg. She most recently played for BG Hamburg West and Sportclub Rist Wedel E.V in Germany. Wedemeyer transferred into Putnam Science Academy this summer as another international addition to the Mustangs' program. Through way of PickUS Education in Barcelona, Spain. When I first noticed the German prospect, I recognized that there was a level of maturity to her game. She grew up training with older players in her home country so you know, it all makes sense. Wedemeyer is an aggressive scorer from all three levels who also takes pride on the defensive end, and boy does she know how to terrorize opposing teams *laughs*. But I'm all about kids reaching their dreams at the end of the day. Wedemeyer told me that her dream is to play in the WNBA one day. I best believe that she can achieve this goal as she's already on a path to success, and even making the sacrifice to leave for a new country, it takes a certain level of bravery. Wedemeyer is a strong kid who will go the extra mile to be great. But let's get to know more about the German product!

 
BREAKDOWN

STRENGTHS

Athletic Guard

  • "Wedemeyer's speed and agility are up to standard as she puts it to good use on the hardwood. Less dribbles and quick to the point when it comes to scoring."


Ball Handling

  • "Handles are pretty solid. She always works on her ball handling in every workout that I have peeped this far."

=

Catch and Shoot

  • "Wedemeyer is a knockdown shooter from three. Sets herself up well being shot ready and has a nice lift on her shot. I'm so convinced that Europeans have their Hall of Fame green light badges from the day they are born!"


Mid Range Game

  • "Wedemeyer has a grown woman pull up game. With how she sizes her defender up and able to create separation off of the dribble, trust me it's some pro stuff going on."


Strong slasher in the paint.

  • "One of Wedemeyer's best traits, she's tough with the rock when penetrating and finishing around the rim. Gets most of her points in a smart way by getting into the paint. Really aggressive scorer!"


Tenacious Defender

  • "If you think you get a break from Wedemeyer on defense, you are pretty delusional. She's just as an aggressive scorer getting steals in the passing lanes and grabbing the best of boards. Wedemeyer is a solid two-way prospect who takes pride in her game."


THINGS TO IMPROVE ON

Self Awareness

  • "Wedemeyer told the RPN that she has gotten better at being more self aware. In terms of not forcing things on the court and knowing when to kick out to open teammates. Being the same way when I was younger in my hoop days, you have to learn when to adjusts your athletic ability to relate to your skills. Knowing when to make a simple basketball move, but also not doing too much with the rock is something that you have to master. Wedemeyer is still working on this to make sure that she becomes a complete player."

 

Genevive Wedemeyer Q&A

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball in 3 Grade, but taking it serious at the age between 13 and 14."


Describe your game.

  • "Playing in my own pace. Being fast and aggressive with my athleticism."


Leaving your home country during this team must've been very hard for you. How was the process of coming to the states in order to achieve your dreams?

  • "If I’m being honest it wasn’t that hard for me. I was excited to start a new chapter in my life and to get to know a new culture with new people and new values. Of course it was hard leaving my family, but I know that they’re supporting me on every step I’m taking. So I’m ready for my next steps. My dream is it to play in the WNBA. I’ll try everything to success and working hard to become the best version of myself"


What is a typical day for you like at Putnam Science Academy?

  • "Waking up 6:30-7 in the morning, with shower and breakfast. 8-2:25 is school. The rest of the day is practice, weight room, hanging out with Friends, homework and calling my family."


How has your junior season been this far for you?

  • "I think it’s been good so far. We are a big group of girls with different backgrounds and cultures. We are all really talented. Everyone is bringing something different to our team, which is great because we all get to know something new. I love playing with the girls, we all work good together and are ready to grow as a team to achieve our goals. I think the last two games were good but we have more potential, we still need to learn each other’s way of playing."


What are some of the biggest differences or similarities that you have noticed between German and American culture?

  • "I think in general it’s the vibe. It’s an new environment with different people and different culture, I mean I had the same in Germany but having it here, brings out another type of it. The food is definitely different. I really miss my mom’s food though. But having people coming from all over the world to follow their dreams and become the best version of themselves. I never been in such a small school that something totally different, everyone knows everyone which is great but at the same time kinda weird."


What is one thing that you miss from home?

  • “I really miss my Family and my friends and everyone who supported me and close with.”


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "Staying focused, trying not to get frustrated with small mistakes. Getting repetitions and putting my head in the game. Not getting distracted by things going on outside of the court."


I heard you are a very physical guard from how you play the game. Training with older players at a young age, did that push you to become the player you are now?

  • "It definitely pushed me, I got stronger and more physical. I got way more confident practicing with them by finishing at the basket and playing with contact. I got more discipline with it and I started building my mindset."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "Diana Taurasi, Stephen Curry and Kyrie Irving"


Who do you look up to as a role models?

  • "My mom and coaches Levi Levine, Dominic Csender, Nele Herbst-Kirsten, who also was my first Basketball Coach. I definitely also think that there were a lot of players who I played with back at home who helped me become the player I am right now. As if helping me how to use my strengths or were just there and pushed me through the games and supported me."


It’s still very early, but what are you looking forward to for the rest of the season?

  • "I’m looking forward to growing as a team, to develop as a basketball player as well as a person, travel a lot and enjoy life in its fullest. I think our goal is to be the best team we can be with all the talent we have in our team, building our team spirit and keeping it simple. Enjoying the time together and just do the best out of it."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • “Hard work beats talent if talent doesn’t work hard.”



Genevive Wedemeyer - Putnam Science Academy '23


Genevive Wedemeyer Open Gym Highlights


Genevive Wedemeyer Scrimmage Highlights


Twitter @genwedemeyer


High School Coaches Information

Head Coach: Devin Hill - Email

Assistant Coach: TaNaija Smith - Email

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page