top of page

Player Profile: Erique Myers (Roanoke, VA)

Updated: Dec 31, 2021


Name: Erique Myers


Height: 6-4


Position: Point Guard


High School: Comenius School For Creative Leadership (SC)


Graduation Class: 2023


AAU Club: Big Shot Virginia Nets Elite/Team Harry Giles


GPA: 3.4


Status: Uncommitted


Favorite hobbies outside of basketball: Being a homebody and rapping.


Expectations heading into junior year: "Really to show why I'm one of the best guards in my class nationally. To make an all-state team and hopefully player of the year in the state of South Carolina in god's will."


Erique Myers is a 6-4 Point Guard from Roanoke, Virginia. He's currently a junior at the Comenius School and ran with Big Shots Virginia Nets and Team Harry Giles, NBA Player Harry Giles' AAU club, this past live period. Myers is a prospect who's one of the toughest minded guards that I have seen in a minute. The young man can absolutely GO. He's a strong two-way guard who can score at all three levels and gets everybody involved no matter if it's his leadership by example, or playmaking ability. Off the court, Myers is an outgoing individual who's the "cool dude" in the crowd and loves to rap with his friends. The young man is a character who any coach would be delighted by to have in their program. But besides my word, let's get to know more about the southern hooper!

 

ERIQUE MYERS INTERVIEW

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball around the age of two, my dad had put the ball in my hand at a young age which made me grow to love it."


Describe your game.

  • "I would describe my game as a player who can do all things. I can shoot from anywhere past half, I can get to the rack when I want to and I play hard on the defensive end. The best thing about my game I would say is my playmaking skills and IQ."


You are originally from Virginia from what I understand. How was the process of you moving in your experience?

  • "The process of moving from another state wasn’t too bad. Of course leaving was kind of hard mentally because I was leaving a lot of family and friends behind, but I know the move was for the better. Plus my family really wanted me and my younger sibling to grow up in a different city because the one we were living in was a crab pot with way lesser opportunities."


How was your sophomore season?

  • "My sophomore season was really a wake up call season I would say. I went through a lot of ups and downs on and off the court, but it made me better. Playing through the pandemic wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. We still had fans and everything you just had to wear a mask. Playing wise thought it was my first year, I got to play for Coach (Greg) Jones, it was different. He’s a coach who had seen more in me than I had seen in myself so it would be hard at times. Like in games, I would hesitate a lot on taking shots, get very passive and he hated it because he knew what I could do. So most of the season he was trying to break me out of that shell. I didn’t fully get out of it 'till around the end of the season when we played Mt. Zion, and finally seen in my own eyes what I could do which made me grow confidence rapidly."


How was the live period for you?

  • "The live period went well for me even though I don’t get any real offers the interest I gained motivated me even more. Each team camp we had for school ball I had shown I was a top player there if not the best player. During AAU for the live period I wasn’t on a circuit team, but I had played for Team Harry Giles. I played under another passionate coach who believed in me and gave me the keys. The first AAU game in the live period, I had 37 points and the next I had 20 while I was being doubled the whole game. That day alone I had picked up interest from Florida State, High Point, and Cleveland State. Moving forward for the rest of live period playing AAU, I picked up interest from Niagara, Gardner Webb, and Coastal Carolina."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "What I’m doing now to make myself a better player is eating less bread and focused on just eating overall better than I have in recent years. I run about 1-2 miles every weekday. Plus school workouts then I go get shots or some runs in at the Y after."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "It’s not just one athlete I look up to the most, but I look up to Damian Lillard, a guard who would do whatever for his team to win, and can shoot from anywhere on the court. I try to take bits and pieces from his game, but not fully model it. The other athlete I look up to is Shai Gilgeous-Alexander. He’s a big guard like me and is great at changing his pace and controlling his teams offense. He has a deep bag that I really have been trying to model for the past year. Off the court he always is dripped out too which is tough!"


Who do you look up to as a role model?

  • "My role model I look up to would be my mom. She just showed me to never quit. Even when times are tough she will always make a way somehow, and I know once I make it in this she the first person I’m going all out for. I know you probably here that from a lot of other athletes but she really is my rock!"


It’s still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your junior season?

  • "What I’m looking forward to this season is just to compete harder and play a longer schedule this year. Really just to show my team is one of the best teams in SC, even through we’re really young. For me to show I’m top 2 and not 2 in my class for South Carolina."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "My motivation or advice I have for players like me or younger, please don’t get caught in the hype. I’m not just talking about on the court, I’m talking about off the court. I know it could be tempting, but don’t let temptations get in the way of your grind and PLEASE don’t let procrastination be the reason you fail."



Erique Myers - Comenius School - 2023 Guard


Prep Hoops Profile


Twitter @EriqueMyers


High School Coach Information

Greg Jones - Email


AAU Coach Information

Lawrence Cole

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page