top of page

Player Profile: Dwayne Snead Jr (Bensalem, PA)

Updated: Apr 20, 2022


Name: Dwayne Snead Jr


Height: 6 Feet


Position; Point Guard


High School: Pennington (NJ)


Graduation Class: 2025


AAU Club: New York Rens - EYBL


GPA: 3.6


Status: Uncommitted


Dwayne "DJay" Snead Jr is a 6-foot Point Guard from Bensalem, Pennsylvania. He's currently a freshman at the Pennington School, 8 miles north of Trenton, New Jersey, and runs with the New York Rens on Nike's EYBL circuit.


I'm going to get straight to it, Snead is a walking highlight reel. Whether that's within his ability to shake defenders and score at will or getting other involved through swift passing, Snead's an energy ball with the rock in his hands. The freshman guard was a 6 man off of the bench for the Red Raiders that went 11-12 in the 2021-2022 season. Despite the Raiders getting off to a slow start, Snead was exposed to high level play being an instant spark on a veteran heavy team. I normally can't stand people who go left, but Snead is an exception (If y'all caught that joke) *laughs*.


But off the court, Snead is a well rounded individual who's humble and always shows the utmost respect. The young man is going to go a long way, as long as he continues to stay the course. Let's get to know more about DJay Snead!

 

Breakdown


Strengths:

Agility

  • "Snead's athleticism is at a high point for a freshman. Being able to beat defenders off of the dribble with quickness, Snead is a 'picture taking moment'."


Change of Direction

  • "Furthering my last comment, Snead's 'picture taking moments' is a scientific way to describe his game. Snead's ability to handle the ball while staying low is at an efficient level throughout his offensive game. Having a second gear at a young age, Snead makes it easier for himself when facing tenacious defenders in the open court!"


Great hands on the defensive end.

  • "Standing at 6 feet with a 6-6 wingspan, Snead is able to get a lot of deflections on the defensive end."


Making the right reads with the ball - Playmaking

  • "One of the smartest guards I've witnessed as a freshman, Snead always looks to make the right reads on the offensive end. One of Snead's best traits is within his playmaking ability. He always looks for his teammates while penetrating deep in the paint and with the separation he creates, it's an easy two for anybody on his squad. Snead understands that you have to make the game simple, while being unique!"


Runs in transition.

  • "Snead could honestly be a track star if he wasn't hoopin'. He takes pride in the transition game when it comes to pushing the ball and scoring at will. Snead gets most of his points off the fast break as it's hold value to filling the stat sheet for him."


Shooting Ability

  • "He's still scratching the surface as a shooter, but Snead has shown the ability to knock down shots around the perimeter. Sometimes, his shot is so lethal that it doesn't even touch the rim. Now that's different!"


Things to Improve On:

Building a frame.

  • "While Snead is still a freshman at the moment, heading into next year could be a breakout year for him. And, while he has a chance to get the green light, Snead will need to make improvements in his body. Building a frame over the summer will be crucial for him. Once he adds the strength, Snead will be able to effortlessly go through defenders on the dribble and absorb contact."


Shooting

  • "While I may attack this point, Snead's shooting is up to par, but becoming an elite shooter is something he should consider. I'd highly recommend Snead to work on moving without the ball and shooting standstill 3's this offseason. Being a lefty, this is something that he should take advantage of!"

 

Dwayne Snead Jr Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I first picked up a basketball when I was 3 years old. I started playing for the Salvation Army Recreational League when I was 5 years old. After that, I joined the Bensalem Chargers AAU for 4th-6th grade. I joined the Under Armour circuit towards the end of my 6th grade year."


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • "I’m a perspicacious guard with a shifty style of play and excellent ability to handle the ball. Since I'm a lanky athletic left-handed guard. I study my opponent and know when to drive in, and or kick the basketball out. I believe that I’m definitely smooth with the ball and can move with ease and precision with both hands. I have the ability to transition from a smooth playmaker to a slasher while becoming a lockdown defender. I take pride in my defensive abilities such as my on-ball defense and off-ball defense. I love playing defense, and guarding the best players on the opposing team. I disrupt passing lanes, opponents' paces, and their ball handling. I feel that my basketball strengths are speed, great basketball IQ, strong defense while sizing up the opponent. Also, having a strong mid-range, 3 ball, ability to take control and being a floor general. Fantastic capability to explode and get to the basket and finish, creating space off of the pick and roll, making great reads to create the best shot for my team. I also take pride in being a leader, a player that everyone loves to play with and being able to hit a crucial shot under pressure."


Why did you decide to make the move and choose the Pennington school to continue your student-athlete career?

  • "I decided to make the move and go to The Pennington School for various reasons. It started with the amazing diversity and inclusion that was represented. The environment is rich in culture, and I felt I would be a good fit. The Pennington School is very high academically which was a huge deciding factor when my family, and I were in the process of choosing my high school. Academics are very important in my family. The basketball program is steadily growing. I felt that I would add more to the program throughout my stay at Pennington. Therefore, I chose to attend The Pennington School."


You played vital minutes as a freshman on a loaded Pennington team. How was your freshman campaign?

  • "I feel my freshmen year was a solid year. I was able to grow and get better from the first game I played on varsity to the last game. Playing varsity as a freshman helped enhance my confidence level since we are in the Mid-Atlantic Prep A League. We played against some post-grad schools. Postgraduate high schools have 19-year-olds playing on their varsity basketball team. I am proud to have had a couple of chances to start while being on a team with 4 seniors and 2 juniors who get vital minutes as well. My coach trusted me, and I always had the green light to play my game. All of the upperclassmen respected my game, and they helped guide me throughout my freshman season. It was an honor to have been selected as one of the Top 100 freshmen in NJ for NJ.com. Over the course of the season, I played and made an impact in many major games throughout the season."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "I strive to keep myself in shape. Now, since my season is over, I’m able to attend more personal training sessions. I’ve always used the school gym during my free periods to put up shots. After school, I stayed in the gym and did different ball-handling workouts, and shooting drills before and after practice. I keep my shot on point by working on my outside, and inside shot during these times. I do pushups every day to stay in tune, but my lifting schedule is coming in next week."


What are your plans for spring and summer?

  • "For the spring/summer I’ll be playing with the EYBL New York Renaissance, or NY Rens for short. We are anticipating playing in the Kyda Invitational tournament, some Hoop Group tournaments, the NYC Invitational, and the EYBL circuit. We are going to hit Orlando, Indianapolis, Louisville, and Kansas City for the 4 sessions, then Augusta for Peach Jam."


Absolutely love the bond you have with another Pennington standout, Morgan Matthews. Describe the relationship between you too over the past year that you’ve attended Pennington.

  • "I met Morgan 4 years ago through my trainer Devon Still. He was training Morgan one day, and my session was after Morgan’s. From there we became really good friends to the point where we call each other cousins. It’s been hard not seeing her as much because anytime she’s in one building I’m almost across the entire campus. Other than that, I talk to her anytime I can. If she has a home game, I’m there watching, or if I have a home game she’s there. For away games, we watch each other’s games with live links. Before practice, if time allowed, we would put up some shots and rebound for each other. We always trash talk that we can’t guard each other, and who is the better shooter. Don’t get me started on the height. Any chance she gets, she’s trying to say how I’m not 6 foot, and that it’s just my hair and shoes that I wear that makes me look taller. But to make sure you guys know, she can’t guard me. I’m the better shooter, and I AM the 6 foot one."


If you could have lunch with anybody dead or alive, who would you choose?

  • "With an enormous list of candidates, I would choose to eat with Kobe Bryant. It’s hard to choose, but I had to pick Kobe. I grew up as a Kobe fan for one. Growing up, I had many different pairs of Kobe’s. I would sit down, and pick his brain for basketball and his mamba mentality. I would love to spend any second I could eating lunch with him."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "I look up to Ja Morant and Kyrie Irving the most in the NBA. I have recently been looking at Bones 'Bizzy Bones' Hyland because I see that he and I have similar traits, and a similar body build. Ja Morant has the athleticism that I see myself having, Kyrie has the handles, and the way he plays is so smooth on the floor. For Bones, he is one of the best shooters for the rookies, and what am I? A pure knock-down shooter! For high school, I have been looking at Ty’Luar Johnson. He is small compared to other guards in his class, and he plays for the same AAU Team as me. I look up to him for high school basketball because he is poised, fast, shoots the ball very well, plays defense, and I feel that somehow my game emulates his."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "I look up to my father as a role model. I look up to my father the most because he tries to instill so many good attributes of a man and a good person in society in me. I know he’s hard on me because he wants me to succeed in life and be better than him. I also look at LeBron as a role model because of the way he leads every team he has been on. 'UNINTERRUPTED' is the platform he has created. I have aspirations to be in the NBA then end up starting something in order to give back just like LeBron."


I know it is still early, but what are you looking for for the sophomore season?

  • "I look forward to being a Top 15 sophomore next year. In the Mercer County Tournament, or MCT, my school team lost with the goal to win the entire MCT. This was the first time we hosted MCT in 6 years. Now, I look ahead to winning MCTs with a vengeance from losing so early. My goal is to help my team as much as possible, in order to bring home a Mid-Atlantic Prep A State Championship. I feel we should have a better record than this season, so we could capitalize on our record. I want to be one of the top leading scorers on my team, while making my teammate better and being a Captain as a sophomore."


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • "I appreciate it, thanks for having me! One last piece of motivation I have is to always trust your dopeness, and keep working on whatever you love!"


Dwayne Snead Jr Freshman Season Highlights (2021-2022)



High School Coach Information

Chandler Fraser-Pauls - Email


Contact Tyreese Smith


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page