top of page

Player Profile: Cici Hernandez (Bethlehem, PA)

Updated: Jun 21, 2022


Name: Cici Hernandez


Height: 5-6


Position: Point Guard


High School: Bethlehem Catholic (PA)


Graduation Class: 2024


AAU Club: Philadelphia Belles


GPA: 4.3


Status: Uncommitted


CariyalysCici“ Hernandez is a 5-6 Point Guard from Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. She’s a rising junior at Bethlehem Catholic High School, and runs with the Philadelphia Belles on the AAU circuit. Hernandez is also a phenomenal student at Becahi with a whopping 4.3 GPA in the classroom!


I first discovered Hernandez during the spring. I forgot if I was randomly in my database looking for players or came across film on Twitter, but I seen Hernandez’s film and I was in awe about the tape.


And, In my eyes, Hernandez’s level of play is beyond her years.


Being a shooter, everybody thinks that it’s just standstill shots. But Hernandez’s IQ is through the roof as she excels moving without the basketball, and within her shot creation. If you know or have seen a Lehigh Valley guard, they have a very chill demeanor but their game speaks for their self. Hernandez has sauce in her bag with a mean mid range game, and can even shake defenders if you’re caught slipping.


But, I can just explain more in the next segment *laughs*. I am in no rush. But I caught up with the Becahi sharpshooter on a breakdown of her game, year two and preparation for her junior campaign.


Check it out below.

 

Breakdown


Strengths

Ball Handling

  • “Ball handling is a basic skill that you need in order to hoop. And, if you want to be an elite guard at the next level, you have to be able to handle the rock. Hernandez demonstrates strong ball handling skills when breaking down defenders, or even going through contact.”


Elite Sharpshooter

  • ”Hernandez might not think she’s up to par yet with her shooting, being a humble person, but Hernandez is one of the best shooters I’ve seen in Pennsylvania. From above not because of standstill shooting, but her footwork in setting her feet to shoot and a quick release, Hernandez gets her shot off at any moment because of her mechanics. It’s what grabbed my attention in offering her!”


High IQ Prospect

  • Hernandez is one of the smarter players on the high school scene right now. Through her ability in having proper shot selection to playmaking for others, Hernandez is a coach’s dream. And, although Hernandez tends to overthink a lot on the court, sometimes, its a good things as it shows that she cares about the game.”


Mid Range Game

  • ”The ability to have a mid range game is crucial for the next level. And, Hernandez’s ability to score at will in the mid range is top tier. Shaking defenders off the dribble to pull up or even going full Melo at times, Hernandez is a joy to watch on the offensive end!”


Playmaking

  • “One of Hernandez’s best traits, if you believe in her, Hernandez will deliver. Playing at a high level, Hernandez is best when she creates for herself. Whether thats within her shooting, showtime passes to set teammates up or even impacting the game in other areas, Hernandez is able to get the job done.“


Things to Improve On

Overthinking

  • “Hernandez tends to overthink on the court. And, yes a lot of smart kids in the classroom tend to do this. But many prospects have to realize that not everything is going to be perfect. One thing I loved about having Hernandez is that she wasn’t afraid to tell me how it is with her game. To tell me this is a huge issue for her took guts. But overthinking is a mental thing, and Hernandez will grow to learn on playing with skill and instinct so it’s no real issue.”


Stamina

  • ”Playing at the same pace is crucial. And, although Hernandez doesn’t have much of an issue in my eyes, she said this is a big that she has to work on. Being able to play at the same pace is something that Hernandez will need to improve in order to be a complete guard. Not being able to speed up through quicker defensive or play too comfortable at times, Hernandez will learn throughout this live period who she is as a guard.”

 

Cici Hernandez Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • “When I was five, my parents signed me up for every sport so that’s when I started playing basketball. I was absolutely terrible. The love for basketball definitely came first, skill came way after.


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • “I’m a very team oriented player. I look to get my teammates open, and put them in successful situations. But at the same time, I can score from all around. Mid range is my favorite, but I am versatile. Court IQ is my strongest skill. I can see what and who is open, and get the ball to where it needs to be.”


How was life growing up in the Lehigh Valley?

  • “The Lehigh Valley isn’t the most flashy city, but it’s home. It’s where I developed the love for the gameC and it’s where I became the person and player I am today. Plus, my parents balled out here, so it only seems right to continue the tradition.”


How was your sophomore season?

  • “Sophomore season was about growth, showing out, and proving everyone wrong. No one expected us to do anything. So from the beginning, it was personal. Compared to freshman year, I played much more loose, confident, and overall like myself. From winning league and districts, and being named to second-team in the EPC, Morning Call All-Area, and the Lehigh Valley Live All-Area.”


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • “I’m getting in the gym everyday. After school I go straight to a court and work on my ball handle, shooting, and fundamentals. I have a trainer, Don Dentith, who works on my ball handle and finishing. I go to strength and agility work 3 times a week. Any chance I get, I have a ball in my hand. Things I want to do to become the best player I can be is getting in elite shape. I want to be able to last an entire game, with no drop in energy. I want to be stronger, quicker, smarter every time I step on the court. No matter what, I want to always get better and work.


What are your plans for this summer?

  • “My goals for this summer is too play to my fullest potential. As well as getting interest and offers during this upcoming live period. I play with the Philadelphia Belles for AAU, and we’ll be heading to Indianapolis, Chicago, and Virginia! I hope to take full advantage of the opportunities to come.”


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • “My favorite player has to be Sue Bird. She controls the floor, maintains pace, gets everyone involved, the true definition of an all around player. She can give you 20 assists and 20 points. During the game her emotion and demeanor is always calm. She makes everyone around her better, and she’s 41 keeping up with anyone and everyone.


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • “My parents are my biggest inspiration. They sacrifice everything for me to be where I am, and push me to be the best version of myself. They established the love I have for the game and have taught me how to work for everything I want. I don’t know where I would be without them.


I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your junior season?

  • “In my junior season, I’m looking forward to playing my game without overthinking. Play with confidence and energy. I want to be a leader who builds up, and makes everyone around her better. In team aspects, I want to win the EPC, districts, and states. I want to make a run no one expected by playing together no matter what.


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • “Don’t overthink, just play!”.



Cici Hernandez - Bethlehem Catholic ‘24


Cici Hernandez’s Sophomore Season Highlights (2021-2022)



Media coverage on Cici Hernandez


Full Sophomore Season Highlights http://www.hudl.com/v/2HBCer




High School Coach Information

Jose Medina - Email


AAU Coach Information

Andrea Peterson - Email


Contact Tyreese Smith



Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page