top of page

The Chloe Collin Interview (Canada)

Updated: Apr 29, 2022


Name: Chloe Collin


Height: 5-11


Position: Shooting Guard/Small Forward


High School: Humberview (ON)


Graduation Class: 2025


AAU Club: Canada Elite GUAA


GPA: 3.9


Status: Uncommitted


Chloe Collin is a 5-11 Shooting Guard from Brampton, Ontario. She's currently a sophomore at Humberview Secondary School, and runs with Caledon Basketball Academy in the Ontario Scholastic Basketball Association (OSBA) and Canada Elite on the Girls Under Armour Circuit (GUAA).


I discovered Collin through my research within the OSBA circuit. Specifically looking for a bigger guard, my wish was granted and I was able to reach out to the Canadian guard. Collin has been one of the more better prospects I’ve seen in her class that utilizes her size to an advantage. Playing “bully ball” taking girls off of the dribble and even in her size up game, Collin uses her strength to score at will from the wing and in the paint. But as she may seem like she has all 6 infinity stones while wearing her usual headband (I call her White Iverson), Collin can also showcase her range from 18+ feet out.


But off the court, Collin is a well rounded individual who’s a joy to be around. Hearing from sources, Collin is always a bright spot of any team she plays on. Always smiling and encouraging teammates and friends, you can’t ask for more as a coach with her positive influence on others. But even outside of ball, Collin is an experienced snowboarder who’s up for any adventure whenever she gets the time to hit the slopes. It explains why she isn’t afraid to take risks on the court. But enough of me gassing her up, let’s get to know White Iverson!

 

Chloe Collin Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • “I started playing basketball in grade 7.”


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • “I am a lengthy athletic player who likes to take it from end to end. I like drawing the contact, and getting to the free throw line. Also, I like being able to use my vision to create open looks for my teammates.”


COVID-19 has impacted the world and especially with your previous season being postponed. How has the adjustment been getting back in the swing of things and finding rhythm?

  • “There was definitely a dilemma with basketball, finding it hard to get in a gym. I was working out about 2-3 times a day to keep up with my fitness. I was able to do ball handling outside. I’d ride my bike to the nearest court and put up shots whenever possible. Now with having a season and playing as much as I have, I have definitely gained all my skills plus more, and working out everyday has helped my physical being on the court.”


How was your first OSBA season as a sophomore?

  • “As a sophomore, I adjusted to the game pretty quick. I always loved playing at a fast pace, so I enjoy how fast the game moves. I got lots of minutes which helped me as a player develop my confidence, endurance and skills. My mindset is also different on the court now that I am used to playing with juniors and seniors.”


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • “To keep improving as a player, I attend shooting practice in the morning before school 4-5 times a week. Then after school, we have practice for about an hour and a half 4 times a week. The one day we don’t have practice, we are in the weight room working on building strength and muscle endurance. On weekends, I like to do a training session with my trainer for an hour and a bit. Then on Sunday, I have my Juel Prep practice from 9-11 a.m.”


What are your plans for spring/summer?

  • “I will be travelling with Canada Elite, we will be attending these showcases. GUAA 1 in Hoover, Alabama on April 22 through 24. Atlantic City Showcase in New Jersey on May 20 through 22. Slam Summer Challenge back in Canada on June 25 to 26. Then back to the states for Run 4 Roses in Louisville, Kentucky on July 5 through the 8. Then finishing out with the UA circuit with the second GUAA session in Hamilton, Ohio from July 10 to the 12 and then GUAA Finals in Lancaster from July 23 to the 25.”


How has your snowboarding journey been going this winter?

  • "It has been lots of fun this year hitting the slopes. I’ve been able to go almost every other weekend. I go with my family, and I even helped my brother with snowboarding."


Have you ever heard the song “White Iverson” by Post Malone? Every time I see the headband, I start humming the song as I go about my day. I loved my high school era, but you’re known for the gear so which would be your favorite color headband and why?

  • "I would say my favourite colour headband would either be royal blue or black. Black matches everything I wear, and blue matches my OSBA team colours. In the OSBA the headbands I wear have to either be black or taken off, so in the US I wear whatever headbands I want. I have a total of 14 headbands of all different colours."


Speaking of music, who are some of your favorite artists and why?

  • "I would go with Drake, Lil Baby and A Boogie. Drake because he is one of my favourite artists and can go from R&B to rap. You can always vibe to his music and if you are from Canada, you just have to listen to him. Lil Baby because he is one of my favourites and it's a good type of music for pregame to get you hyped up. A Boogie because his words can have an impact on people, and some of his lines are relatable. His music you can turn it way up in the car or on a speaker."


Editor: I hope she's talking about prime Boogie from 2016 and 2017 *laughs*.


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "I look up to Kobe (Bryant). His skills and mindset were outstanding. His mentality and work ethic is something I want to match, so I can become the best player possible. He was super athletic and mobile and had a really good personality."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "A role model I have is my mother. She is a strong, hardworking woman who does what she loves and does it well. She puts her family first and always does her best to make everyone happy."


I know it is still early, but what are your goals for junior season?

  • "For my junior season, I am hoping to become more consistent with my 3’s and having a higher percentage from midrange. I hope to build more chemistry with my teammates, so we can build trust with each other and helps us play better. I also hope to build stats and get more looks for my future college career."


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of

encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • "Do what you love and work hard at it, you won’t do it forever so make every training session and every game count. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to answer a these questions for you."


Chloe Collin - Caledon Basketball Academy - Class of 2025





Caledon Basketball Academy 2021 Media Day (Kaitlyn Martin, Abygail Thivierge, Natalia Marchand and Chloe Collin)



Chloe Collin Sophomore Season Highlights - OSBA


Photography Credits: Reuben Polansky-Shapiro

Instagram: @polansky.photo


Media Coverage on Chloe Collin


High School Coach Information

Gord Everett


Contact Tyreese Smith

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page