top of page

Player Profile: Charlie Werner (New Cumberland, PA)

Updated: Dec 31, 2021


Name: Charlie Werner


Height: 5’10


Position: Point Guard


High School: Cedar Cliff High School, Class of 2022


AAU Club: Nook Raiders Basketball Academy


Current GPA: 3.73


Status: Uncommitted


Favorite hobbies outside of basketball: Listening to music, Cooking


Expectations heading into your senior season: "I’m hoping to show the work I’ve been putting in over the off season and lead my team to a winning season."


Charlie Werner is a 5 foot 10 Point Guard from New Cumberland, Pennsylvania. Charlie is a primary ball handler but sometimes spends time on the wing. He's currently a junior at Cedar Cliff High School and runs with the Nook Raiders on the AAU circuit. Charlie is a two way guard who's efficient on both sides of the ball. He's your typical Cedar Cliff Guard: tough scorer, strong with the ball and takes advantage of opportunities when they are presented to him. Charlie averaged around 9.8 points per game adding 91 assists, 31 steals and 29 made three pointers in his sophomore season. Charlie has a lot of upside as a player and is looking forward to taking on a bigger role as a captain for Cedar Cliff this season with the departure of standout guard Joey Zvorsky (Wilkes University). Charlie is a role model in the classroom, great teammate on and off the court, and comes from a loving, supporting family. Fun fact: Charlie's dad, Chuck Werner is one of the best barbers in Central Pennsylvania from seeing his work! Here is my breakdown of the quick guard from Cedar Cliff!


Breakdown is below ↓


 

BREAKDOWN


STRENGTHS:

  • Change of Direction/Speed

  • Excellent Ball Handler

  • High IQ - Has a great feel for the game.

  • Makes the Right Reads

  • Quick Release on Shot

  • Threads the Needle - Excellent Passer

  • Volume Shooter

Charlie is a two way point who has a great feel for the game. Having a 3.7 GPA is beneficial for the Cedar Cliff guard on the court. Charlie is a natural playmaker who always looks to make the right play. Charlie has a strong handle which allows him to dribble with control against strong defenders. His change of direction and speed on the dribble allows him to be in control breaking down his defender and this opens the floor for him. He's a volume shooter who has a consistent release on his shot. Charlie attacks the basket strong finishing through contact and uses his athleticism by hanging in the air on acrobatic layups. He has been working on his offensive game throughout the offseason and is expected to have a big season!



WEAKNEESES/THINGS TO IMPROVE ON:

  • Consistency on Both Sides of the Ball

Charlie doesn't have much flaws in his game but the biggest thing for him to work on is putting everything together, He has the potential to be the best guard in the Mid Penn once he completes his game. As I said above, Charlie is a tough guard with a high ceiling and is a college coach's dream but will have to remain consistent throughout his prep career.

I believe Charlie will have a standout junior season for the Colts. Tigh Savercool's teams are always competitive and well coached from playing against them during my high school career. Charlie is one of the main options this year for Cedar Cliff and is playing alongside Nick Strain (2021 Forward), Tyler Houser (2022 Forward) and a cast of teammates who are willing to come together in a competitive Mid Penn Keystone division. I asked Charlie several questions so the audience can get to know him better.


Interview is below ↓


 

CHARLIE WERNER Q&A

When did you first start playing basketball?

  • "I was around 8 or 9. I played a lot of sports but not basketball. My parents made me try out and once I started playing I loved it. I didn’t really take it seriously until I was 11 and started playing at the parks and in different tournaments."


Describe your game.

  • "I like to play fast but I can also control a pace and play slow if needed. I am a good team leader that scores, shares the ball, and plays defense. My go to moves would have to be a hesitation or a cross."


What is your role on Cedar Cliff’s basketball team?

  • "I am one of the captains and leaders of the team. My role is to control the pace of the game, create offense for myself and the team, and lead verbally and by example on and off the court."


Who inspires you the most?

  • "My past teammates that have pushed me to get better and my family and friends that support me."


How was the summer for you?

  • "During the summer I had a couple of good tournaments with my AAU team. Playing basketball and working out was limited so I went to the parks to shoot a lot of the time. I trained all summer working on my strength and athleticism. For fun I drove down to the beach a few times."


What athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "I look up to a few players but I really liked Kobe Bryant. I loved his work ethic and his will to win and get better all the time."


What do you look for in a college?

  • "I take academics very seriously and am looking for good medicine programs. Athletically I just want to play with a very hard working culture."


How has preseason been for you?

  • "The preseason has been on and off. Personally, I went to a few showcases this Summer and fall My school team participated in a fall league at Spooky Nook and we trained in the weight room and on the track for a few weeks. Now we are practicing and making the most of our time on the court and in the weight room."


What are your expectations heading into your junior season?

  • "I’m hoping to show the work I’ve been putting in over the off season and lead my team to a winning season."


What is one message you would give to people out there?

  • "If you really want something you have to work hard for it. If you are not getting better then you are getting worse."







2019-2020 Cedar Cliff Colts Boys Basketball Team


OTHER LINKS ON CHARLIE WERNER

HUDL - Sophomore Year Highlights http://www.hudl.com/v/2DHaAg


Twitter:


High School Coach Information

Tigh Savercool - Email


AAU Coach Information

Jim Shipper - Email

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page