top of page

Player Profile: Cameron McNamara (Downingtown, PA)

Updated: Aug 12, 2022


Name: Cameron McNamara


Height: 6-1


Position: Power Forward


High School: Busche Academy (NH)


AAU Club: Team Pennsylvania S40


Graduation Class: 2023


GPA: 3.8


Status: Uncommitted


Cameron McNamara is a 6-1 Power Forward from Downingtown, Pennsylvania. She's a rising senior at Busche Academy. This is probably a new one, but McNamara's game reminds me of Christian Laettner, the infamous villian of Duke Basketball in the 90's. In my mind, McNamara is far from a villian, but I was thinking of her height, she can take girls off the dribble, how she seals defenders on the block and how she moves laterally, she reminds me of a Christian Laettner in some way. But besides the comparison, McNamara was a former standout at Downingtown West during her sophomore year scoring a season high of 21 points in one game, and playing strong on both sides of the ball. But let's get to know more about the Chester County product!

 

BREAKDOWN


STRENGTHS:

Athletic Forward

  • "Moves well laterally within the flow of the game. Always diving for loose balls, hustling for rebounds and out muscling the opposition, McNamara shows a lot of heart when playing the game."


Elite Shot Blocker

  • "McNamara blocks the best of shots down low. One thing I'm impressed about in her game is that she always swats high and not low. You know reaching for the stars is what I call it. Whether that's going straight up or chasing down a block on the other side, she will hustle like no other."


Quick on her feet.

  • "In the half court game, McNamara has a solid ability of taking advantage of mismatches by taking girls off the dribble. Read the next note for more of an explanation."


Strong Slasher

  • "Touching more on the last note, McNamara has tough skin and has no regard for human life. I'm kidding, she's not a villian. But using her athleticism and frame to her advantage, she loves to get to the rim for the quick bucket."


Tenacious Rebounder

  • "Probably the best trait of her game. McNamara is a tenacious rebounder who's mean on the glass. She will jump over two girls if she has too in order to get a board. But she's very active on both ends of the floor."


THINGS TO IMPROVE ON

Ball Handling

  • "If McNamara can develop more on her ball handling, she can be a force to be reckoned with. Even if it's running the fast break or working on ways to set up defenders, this is a must for her."


Consistent Jumper

  • "One of the biggest things that I've noticed is that McNamara needs to add a jumper to her game. In this day and age of basketball, everybody needs to know how to either handle the rock or shoot. McNamara will need to consistently develop a jumpshot from 15 plus feet out to show that she's a threat on the offensive end. Whether that's a mid range, a pull up jumper on the drive or a three ball, this is much needed."


Recognizing Reads

  • "McNamara will have to improve on recognizing reads on the court. Whether that's being smarter on the offensive end with shot selection or being better with the Pick and Roll on defense, McNamara will need to develop this part of her IQ."


Transitioning into a bigger guard.

  • "This was the biggest thing that McNamara preached to me throughout her project. As mentioned above in these notes, if McNamara can add some guard skills to her game, that's a big ticket right there. I believe it will come naturally and with the system that Scotland runs in developing players, McNamara will develop over time."

 

CAMERON MCNAMARA Q&A

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball for fun when I was around 5 years old. But my first time playing school and AAU basketball was 8th grade."


Describe your game.

  • "I am a quick and athletic player, who is strong and has good basketball IQ. I play tight defense, get rebounds, and can finish at the rim. I have good post moves as well as I can play out on the perimeter."


How was your sophomore season?

  • "Playing in a pandemic was definitely tough and our school team went 7-7 for our season. I played very well and had a season high of 21 points, and the team played much better than last year, where our record was 3-18. My role on the team was being a power forward and scoring a large majority of the points for our team."


How was the live period for you?

  • "My AAU club is Chester County Storm under Coach Evans, and this period was tough with playing being on and off, but we did extremely well this season. We went 51-3 and were 2 time national champions."


Why did you decide to transfer to Scotland Campus to continue your prep career?

  • "I decided to transfer to Scotland Campus to gain more exposure from colleges to play at the next level. My coach saw me play at Run for Roses in Kentucky and decided that my playing style could fit into his program. Leaving my family has been tough, but I would definitely say that I have built something like a second family with these girls here and it makes my time here much easier. I am expecting and have already gotten much better and have become conditioned. I am hoping to better learn the game, perfect and learn moves down low and how to play on the perimeter."


What is a typical day for you like at Scotland?

  • "On Wednesday mornings, we have chapel at 7:30 before school. On every other day I start at 8:15. We go to school which ends around 12:10, then get food at the cafeteria. After this we have a couple hours of downtime and on Tuesdays and Fridays, we have weight room 2:30-3:30. If there is no weight room we hangout at the house until study hall 6-7 and then practice 7:30-9:30."


How has your college recruitment been lately?

  • "My college recruitment has been pretty good lately, with a lot of D3 and D2 schools interested."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "I am working extremely hard at practice everyday and keeping my grades as high as possible. Knowing that that is a huge part of the recruitment process. I am watching a lot of film to learn from my mistakes and get better. As well as stretching and keeping my body healthy."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "I would say I look up to Shante Evans the most, as she has trained me and helped coach me for the past couple years. She has been extremely supportive of me and my AAU team, and her game is something that I strive to be similar to."


Who do you look up to as a role model?

  • "Coach Will Evans has been the most influential part of my life when it comes to basketball. He shaped me into the player I am today. I also think that the mentality that I have gained from him will forever be a part of my life and help me succeed in things beyond basketball."


It’s still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your junior season?

  • I am looking forward to playing and bonding with my team, as well as playing some of the best competition we can find. I am looking forward to getting better everyday, as well as getting exposure from colleges and seeing where my basketball career can take me.


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "I have always said that it is not that hard to work hard. You may have an off game and not be playing your best, but you can choose one thing to do well, such as rebounding, and work hard to get every rebound you can the entire game."


Twitter @CMcNamara23


High School Coach Information

Isiah Anderson - Email



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page