top of page

Player Profile: Cameron Binder (Auburn, NE)


Name: Cameron Binder


Height: 6'0"


Position: Point Guard


High School: Auburn High School (NE), Class of 2021


AAU Club: OSA Crusaders Adidas


GPA: 3.9


Status: Committed - University of Nebraska- Kearney (11/16/20)


Favorite hobbies outside of basketball: Fishing and Golfing.


Expectations for the rest of your senior season: "Winning our 3rd state championship in a row."


 

Cameron Binder is a 6 foot Point Guard from Auburn, Nebraska. Cameron is primarily a ball handler for Auburn but his knockdown shooting ability allows him to play on the wing. He currently attends Auburn High School and runs with the OSA Crusaders on the Adidas Gauntlet AAU Circuit. Cameron is committed to the University of Nebraska Kearney (Committed 11/16/2020) to continue his student-athlete career. Cameron is the real deal and one of the most underrated players in the class of 2021. Cam is your typical tough, strong Midwest guard. He's a fundamentally sound player who doesn't shy away from competition and is a natural born leader. Meeting the young man a couple of weeks ago, I have been impressed every minute I've talked to the Nebraska prospect learning about himself as a competitor, person and his passion for life as a whole. Over his last three seasons at Auburn, Cameron has surpassed 1,000 career points and won two state championships, both games won off of game deciding moments hitting big shots. He's also a very talented linebacker and offensive lineman for Auburn recording a team high 119 tackles last fall. Cam's other accomplishments including:

  • All Class Captain

  • American Insurance Player of the Year (2019-2020)

  • KMA Land Player of the Year (2019-2020)

  • 2 First Team All-State awards (2018-2019, 2019-2020)

  • 2 First Team Super Tournament awards (2018-2019, 2019-2020)

`Cameron has been a man on a mission so far in his senior season. He's currently averaging 19 points through 8 games. Cameron is on the verge to leading Auburn to another state championship appearance and only has one thing on his mind, to win a third state title to cement his name in Auburn High history. Here is my breakdown of the Nebraska product!



 

BREAKDOWN:


STRENGTHS:

  • Closer - Has a knock for hitting big time shots in games.

  • Elite Facilitator

  • Knockdown Shooter

  • Natural Born Leader

  • Offensive threat - Can score consistently from all three levels.

  • Solid Defender - Defends his butt off.

  • Tenacious player - A determined winner, will not settle for less.

Cameron is a very special player that is one of the best Nebraska high school players in recent memory. He is a tenacious player on both sides of the floor who plays his butt off. This young man's determination and will to win is unmatched. Cameron is an elite facilitator who gets every one of his teammates better on the court. Not just by his play style but of his leadership and demeanor. Cameron is an offensive threat who can score at all three levels and he's able to make tough shots throughout games that has you thinking, "What have I just seen!?". He's sinked tough shots throughout his high school career at the big state and this kid knows how to win. Here is a clip and another angle of his game winning shot from the 2019 state championship game


:


THINGS TO IMPROVE ON

  • Adjusting his game for college

Cam has all the tools to be a complete guard. He is a leader, dominant scorer and a solid defender who takes pride on the opposite side of the ball. The only thing in my view that Cam needs to work on is adjusting his game at the next level. He already has an elite skillset and will do great things at UNK, but being undersized can have its problems at the next level. Cam will have to stay efficient and consistent to help him in college by learning how to play off the ball more and keeps being aggressive by staying shot ready. I asked Cameron several questions so y'all can get to know him better.


Interview is below ↓



 

CAMERON BINDER Q&A

When did you first start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing when I was about 2 years old on a little hoop in my room, but I quickly wanted to go to the 10 foot hoops and try my hardest to heave it up there. Eventually I got it and it was the best day of my life. I’ve never looked back since then!"


Describe your game.

  • "My game is a lot like Bobby Hurley back in the day. I can shoot it at a high level and lead the team. I prioritize defense as well. Also I like to get out and attack and penetrate and kick throughout a game."


How was the experience growing up in the small town of Auburn, Nebraska?

  • "It was great. The people here are so caring and want the best for me just as family would. Going to Kearney was a huge part of that so they can go to my games as well. I can never thank them enough for what they’ve done for me."


What is your role on Auburn’s basketball team?

  • "My role is to be the guy my teammates look to when we need something. A stop, score, anything. I am the leader and do whatever my team needs for us to win."


Why did you choose the University of Nebraska Kearney to continue your student-athlete career?

  • "I chose UNK because it felt like home for me and there is a coach there that believes in me. I'm looking forward to accelerating my game to get to that level very soon. I see myself thriving there for sure."


How was the AAU experience playing on the Adidas Gauntlet?

  • "It was a ton of fun playing with some of the other best players in my state, and a couple out of state. I got to see where my game was with the best and be with the best."


After two successful seasons, you have captured two state championship victories. This year with the coronavirus still up in the air and a lot on your plate, describe the road to a three peat.

  • "It’s very easy to get complacent after one, let alone two. The thing that separates us is our toughness and want for more championships. We practice and play like it. For me, I need to be the guy everyone looks to and to deliver every time. I believe if we do all the work we did the last two years, we can finish it off big."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "I for sure look up to my parents. They’re humble and very faithful people I can talk about anything with. They are always there for me and love me no matter if I picked up the game or not. They are truly my rock!"


How was the preseason for you?

  • "This fall I worked extremely hard on my game and athleticism and lost some weight. I dropped 14 pounds in the offseason and raised all my testing scores. I took time to take care of my body and get it to the level I needed for this season."


What are your expectations for the rest of your senior season?

  • "My expectations are to win the state championship and go out on top with my best friends!"


What is one message of encouragement or motivation that you have for people?

  • "One thing I would say is always keep your head up. There are days that just won’t go your way, other days you will be on cloud nine. Be around people that will keep you level minded and love you no matter what happens and always, always give everything to whatever you may do in life."







2019-2020 Auburn Bulldogs Basketball team.


Cameron Binder, University of Nebraska Kearney Commit


Binder the Bulldog


Binder wins it for Auburn; Bulldogs talk winning first state title


OTHER LINKS ON CAMERON BINDER





Twitter:


High School Coach Information

Jim Weeks - Email


AAU Coach Information

Bob Franzese - Email

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page