top of page

Player Profile: Avery Kopcha (Hershey, PA)


Name: Avery Kopcha


Height: 5-11


Position: Point Guard


High School: Mount Calvary Christian (PA)


Graduation Class: 2024


AAU Club: Central PA Elite and Team Final Red HGSL


GPA: 3.5


Status: Uncommitted


Favorite hobbies outside of basketball: Fishing and spending time with family and friends.


Expectations heading into sophomore year: "Becoming the scoring leader in school history and winning a district and state championship!"


Accomplishments: Commonwealth Christian - 2nd Team All Conference, Mr. PA Basketball Nomination


Avery Kopcha is a 5-11 Point Guard from Hershey, Pennsylvania. He's currently a sophomore at Mount Calvary Christian School and runs with two clubs, Central PA Elite and Team Final Red in the Hoop Group Showcase League. Kopcha is one of the most competitive guards that I have covered in my network as his motor does not stop. The young man is an aggressive two-way guard who's an efficient scorer from all three levels. In his freshman season, Kopcha averaged around 15 points per game throughout 22 games showcasing his ability to put the ball through the hoop. Even though Mount Calvary is a small school, Kopcha still plays at a high level throughout the year on the AAU circuit and showcases where he's thrown in the fire. I believe that Kopcha's game is going to skyrocket on another level as long as he remains healthy and hungry throughout these next few years. Let's get to know more about Avery Kopcha!

 

AVERY KOPCHA INTERVIEW

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started started basketball at a very early age. In kindergarten I would go to the gym every morning before school to work on my skills with my dad. I also started playing AAU in kindergarten. I played up a few grades with like the second and third graders and that’s where it all started."


Describe your game.

  • "About my game, I love to play defense and that’s still something I’m working on but picking someone's pocket, it's just the best feeling ever. On the offensive side, I’m good at the 1 or the 2. I like to get my teammates open without the ball. I don’t need it in my hands to make plays. But I can attack if needed and I can score the ball at all three levels."


How was your freshman season?

  • "Playing as a freshman was pretty cool. I got to start this past year. Scoring wise I felt I did pretty well. I averaged 15.7 points per game shooting 48% from the 3-point line. I made second team all conference and was nominated for Mr. PA Basketball. I also finished as the top scorer this year in the state for my class. I joined a very successful team especially from the year before winning our first district title. I am extremely thankful for everyone who let me fit in cause this past year was fun. We spent most of the year ranked #1 in the state, but unfortunately our only loss was season ending so we finished at 21-1. This year I'm going to have to step up a lot. Last year we had 2 seniors and myself that led the team but both of them are gone so it’s on me now. Other than being a leader, I would say my role is to score a lot this year, but also make the right plays and to create for others and help our team be efficient."


How was the live period for you?

  • "This year I played a lot of AAU for both Central PA Elite and Team Final Red. I have great teammates and coaches on both teams. I think I played pretty much every weekend from March through the end of June. Some of the events were crazy seeing all the coaches there, but they were mostly watching the 16’s and 17’s so I'm getting ready for that next year."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "This fall is going to be key for me personally to get ready for this winter season. To prepare I’m in the gym every morning before school for an hour workout and then after school in the weight room pretty much every day. I also have personal basketball trainers I go to in addition to open gym and fall league. I will also play in some AAU events this fall."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "I don’t really look up to any famous athletes. But I do look up to some local ones. Our senior guard last year, Aiden Masters who led the team in scoring is going to play D1 baseball right now. I look up to him he taught me a lot about basketball and how to act in the classroom. Another person I look up to was another senior from last year, Hunter Stewart who played our big man role. He’s also taught me a lot he’s always been amazing in school and a great leader in the classroom and on the court."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "I would like to mention my dad. With him playing D1 in college, he has taught me pretty much everything I know about basketball. He’s also taught me how to be a better person."


It’s still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your sophomore season?

  • "This upcoming year I have a few goals. My biggest one is to win a state championship. I think last year if we would’ve won our last game, we would’ve won the state championship so that’s been on my mind all spring and summer. I’ve also had playing in the giant center and winning a district title on my bucket list. Other than those two, I would say helping my scoring tittle I would like be the leading scorer in school history. Right now I’m on pace so I just want to add to that."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "Words of encouragement, I would say if your serious about something work at it and go get it done. Never wait for it or get caught up talking about it and just make it happen. Just to keep at the grind never give up."


Avery Kopcha - Mount Calvary Christian - Class of 2024



MEDIA COVERAGE ON AVERY KOPCHA

Freshman Season Highlights http://www.hudl.com/v/2FPvWd

Mr. PA Basketball Nominations:

Twitter @AveryKopcha


High School Coach Information

Kory Pruner - Email


AAU Coach Information

Central PA Elite: Brad Kopcha - Email

Team Final Red: David Archer - Email

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page