top of page

Player Profile: Arpandeep Singh (Italy)

Updated: Feb 10, 2023


Name: Arpandeep Singh


Height: 6’6


Position: Shooting Guard


High School: George Harris Preparatory Academy, Class of 2022


GPA: 87%


Status: Committed to the University of Victoria (8/28/22)


Arpandeep Singh is a 6'6 Shooting Guard from Northern Italy. Singh was born in Italy, but moved to Newfoundland at 10-years-old, and currently lives in Brampton, Ontario. He is a junior who attends George Harris Preparatory Academy and they compete on The Grind Session circuit, one of the top International prep basketball circuits in the world. Singh is a rising prospect with a torch. He's a natural born shooter who always sets his feet and is ready to fire at any moment. Singh is currently averaging 12 points per game while shooting 45% from three in the Grind Session. I found the young man off of a retweet on Twitter and was impressed with how humbled he was off of the court. This is actually my first international prospect that I have had the chance to write on, so this project was a very exciting moment for me. Let's get to know more about Arpandeep Singh!


BREAKDOWN:


STRENGTHS

  • Agility/Footwork

  • College Ready Prospect

  • Elite Shooter

  • Excellent release off the catch

  • One of the smoothest shooters that I've ever seen

  • Taller Guard

Singh is a force of nature from the perimeter. Singh's shooting ability is second to none as his feet are always set and he's ready to fire. He's shooting 45% from the field and that's quite impressive. Singh uses his size to his advantage as he gets a nice lift off of his to the point where it's quick and un-blockable. He's looking to add more to his offensive game, but at this point in his career his shot is where it needs to be.


WEAKNESSES

  • Building an offensive game

  • Physical attributes - Getting Faster, Stronger

Singh is a legit shooter, but he will need to add more to his game in order to become a complete guard. Singh will need to build on his offensive game by adding a consistent mid range shot and a variety of finishing moves at the rim. This will provide Singh to create more mismatches when the ball is in his hand. Singh will also need to work on more physical things such as getting stronger in the weight room and becoming more quicker. Standing at 6'6 helps him see the floor and shoot over defenders, but adding more to his physique will give him more of an advantage.


 

ARPANDEEP SINGH Q&A

When did you first start playing basketball?

  • "I first started playing basketball in Italy when I was in 3rd grade."


Describe your game.

  • "I am an elite shooter, always a threat on the perimeter."


What is your role on George Harris Prep’s basketball team?

  • "My role on the team is to bring lots of perimeter presence. We have many elite guards that are very good at getting to the rim and me being there stops the defense from being able to collapse. If they do collapse I make them pay by shooting."


How was your summer?

  • "My previous summer I was fully focused on training and getting better. I did not play any AAU because of covid, but I was able to train everyday outside."


I’m glad to have an international player on board. Tell us more on how it was growing up and moving to many different places.

  • "I grew up in Italy, I lived there until I was 10 years old then I moved to eastern Canada for 5 years in Newfoundland. After that In 2019 I moved to Ontario. I’ve been to many places growing up and many different apartments. But I didn’t let that distract me. I kept working hard in basketball and after moving to Ontario, I am now able to play against some of the best high school players in the world."


How was your junior prep season in the Grind Session?

  • "My junior season is obviously not what I expected it to be. Because of the pandemic we haven’t been able to travel to the states much and haven’t been able to train in gyms a lot. I’ve only been to one grind session and it was good. We got 2 tough wins against Veritas prep and Bella Vista and I had a 21 point performance In one of the games."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "I’m working as hard as possible every day and making sure I stay focused at all times. I’m staying away from anything that could cause a distraction or anything that I shouldn’t be involved in."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "One of the players that I’ve started to recently look up to is Duncan Robison. He went from division 3 to one of the best shooters in the NBA. He’s one of the guys that has had to prove himself over and over. That gives me even more motivation as me and him have very similar play styles."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "I look up to my parents as role models, they’ve worked extremely hard for me to be here playing basketball. I’ve seen how hard they had to struggle to get here and how hard they’ve worked for me, and that gives me motivation every single day."


It’s still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

  • "I will focus all my summer training on my weaknesses going into my senior year. In my senior year I expect to be a leader at all times to set an example for others. I will expand my game and effectively score on all three levels. Lastly, I expect myself to be the best shooter in Canada and America."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "If you keep working hard you will get your chance to shine no matter where your from."





Arpan Singh | George Harris Prep | Class of 2022


OTHER LINKS ON ARPANDEEP SINGH

George Harris Prep Gold team roster https://georgeharrisprep.com/ghpgold/


Twitter:


High School Coach Information

George Aramide - Email

Recent Posts

See All

Komentáře


bottom of page