top of page

Player Profile: Alina Abdulina (Russia)

Updated: Jan 11, 2022


Name: Alina Abdulina


Height: 6 Feet


Position: Small Forward


High School: Hoosac School (NY)


Graduation Class: 2023


AAU Club: No Wasted Reps Basketball


GPA: 4.0


Status: Uncommitted


Alina Abdulina is a 6 foot Small Forward from Moscow, Russia. She's currently a junior at the Hoosac School and runs with No Wasted Reps on the AAU Circuit.


Abdulina came to the United States in the summer of 2019 originally starting at Forsyth Country Day School, in Lewisville, North Carolina. It was her first academic year in another country, but for being on her own, Abdulina was able to perform at a high level as a contributor to the Furies basketball team earning NCISAA Triad All-Conference honors. After her freshman season, Abdulina decided to transfer from Forsyth to Putnam Science Academy in order to find a better fit basketball wise. But due to circumstances with the COVID-19 pandemic, Putnam's season was cancelled and Abdulina had a longer off-season than usual. She remained active by attending the Mustangs' workouts, scrimmages and open gyms throughout the academic year, but just as anybody else who was in the same position, Abdulina just wanted to hoop.


Moving forward a year later, Abdulina found the right opportunity that was the right fit athletically and financially. A couple of her friends heard that one of the known coaches in New England (Isiah Anderson) was starting a new basketball program at the Hoosac School. This caught Abdulina's interest as she contacted Coach Anderson and she received an offer to attend the school. Abdulina transferred into Hoosac this past summer being a part of the Cross country program, playing in tournaments with No Wasted Reps and getting a first taste of Isiah Anderson's coaching. Abdulina has fit in nice to her new school as she's on the team with six other international players and has a coach who's passionate about getting the best out of players. From our interview process and working alongside her for the last two months, Abdulina is special. She's a straight A student, independent person who's above her years and is a very skilled basketball player who has aspirations of playing at a high level one day. The sky is the limit for Abdulina as she navigates her way through the rest of her high school career. Let's get to know more about the Russian hooper!

 

BREAKDOWN:


STRENGTHS

Bigger Guard

  • "Being a taller guard who's able operate inside and out, Abdulina uses this to her advantage too create mismatches and see over the defense."


Can score at all three levels.

  • "Abdulina excels at all three levels with shooting the ball, and being able to muscle her way through by finishing in the paint."


Elite Sharpshooter

  • "Yes I know what you're thinking, she's from Europe and can shoot. Well then yes, she is from Europe and yes she can shoot. Abdulina is solid from the perimeter as it's a knock down every time she sets her feet up and is shot ready."


Natural Playmaking Ability

  • "Abdulina makes everybody around her better through her passing ability and high IQ style of play. One of the most unselfish kids I know!"


Strong Post Game

  • "While Abdulina has been on the wing the majority of her prep career, she grew up playing a big and still has it in her. Abdulina does a solid job of using her post moves to her advantage and finishing strong in the paint. It helps growing up a post into a guard because you have more in your bag and can switch positions anytime you want."


Tough as nails.

  • "Abdulina is one of the more athletic girls prospects I've had in my network. Maybe it's because she's from Russia and they're known for having tough skin. But Abdulina is a very nice person don't be fooled *laughs*. In her skillset, she's a very strong player who plays with a chip on her shoulder. You can't coach toughness from a player. They either have it, or they don't and Abdulina is tough!"


THINGS TO IMPROVE ON:

Ball Handling

  • "Abdulina told the RPN that she continuously works on her ball handling in order to build upon skill. Being a good ball handler as a guard is much needed if Abdulina wants to take her game to new heights."


Confidence

  • "One of the biggest things that Abdulina can improve on, confidence. At times she's very aggressive and has a nice flow to the game and other times, she has a tendency to get too passive. Abdulina is a very unselfish kid who makes everybody around her better, but if she wants to be a threat, she will have to start becoming a little more selfish with the rock."


Reaction time on defense.

  • "Abdulina told the RPN that she needs to improve at being quicker on the defensive end. This can be with help side defense, playing on the ball or naturally reacting quicker being in place. Now playing in one of the toughest regions of basketball in the country, she will have to be on point as a defender."

 

ALINA ABDULINA Q&A

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "Since I was young, I have tried myself in different sports, such as tennis, figure skating, and volleyball, but it didn’t feel right. I started playing basketball at the age of 8, and at that time I was in third grade. In 2012, I had my first basketball practice and I have been in love with this game ever since."


Describe your game.

  • "As a child, when I was one of the tallest in my team, my coach used to put me as 4 or 5, which is the power forward or center. I gained experience and skills as a player who works under the rim. Over time, they outgrew me and when I switched teams. My new coach wanted me to play as a wing. I had a long way to go, but I figured out how to play and what to do in the game. I participated in training camps that helped me improve my skills as a player. I see myself as a hardworking person and I like to see myself also as a leader on the court. Some of my strengths on the court are that I am talking on defense, I get defensive and offensive rebounds, boxing out, and running fast breaks. Right now, I am working on improving my shooting percentage in the game."


How was your sophomore year at Putnam Science Academy?

  • "The school wasn’t that hard. I got used to virtual learning and had no problem having classes in the classroom or remote from my room. My sophomore year I finished with straight A’s and my GPA was 4.0. The pandemic had more impact on my basketball schedule than on my academic process. When I came to Putnam Science Academy, I was hoping to play during basketball season, even with COVID restrictions. But we ended up not having the regular season, so our coach planned tournaments outside of the state, but they were canceled due to COVID restrictions."


Why did you decide to transfer to the Hoosac School?

  • "This was my parents' decision due to financial difficulties. Unfortunately, COVID makes its own adjustments to people's plans. I always try to look with optimism at the difficulties that come my way. I heard from my friends that one of the best coaches in the New England area is looking for players for his brand new women’s basketball school team and the summer league team. I contacted him and received an invitation to Hoosac School, which is a part of the NEPSAC league."


What is a typical day for you like at Hoosac?

  • "Preseason consists of 5 o'clock weight room or shooting practice, 7 am breakfast, 8 am chapel then 9-12 is school. The second half of the day is lunch at noon, 1 pm study hall, cross country at 3 and at 5 another basketball workout. The rest of my night is dinner at 6, 7-9 study hall, and lights out at 10. Since basketball season started, I am not going to have any more cross country practices, but overall that’s my schedule."


What are some of your favorite hobbies to do in your part-time?

  • "Basketball and school take up almost all of my energy and most of my time. Therefore, my hobby gives me the opportunity to take a little time out to switch to a quiet rest. I really like to watch movies and TV shows when I have days off, also it helps to improve my English and expand my vocabulary. I can say that one of my hobbies is looking for new drills that I can use during my workout in the gym."


What are some of the biggest differences or similarities that you have noticed between Russian and American culture?

  • "The first thing I noticed was the hospitality and mentality of people here. My friends always invite me to their place for a weekend to spend time with their family. American schools have a lot of differences from Russian schools. The education system itself is very different and I think it is more convenient for students in the US. Teachers are always open to communication with students at any time. With great enthusiasm, they try to explain the subject that they teach in an interesting and simple way. Communication between students and teachers, coaches, and players is more trusting and equal than it is in Russia."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "It is very important to be disciplined and patient to achieve success. Sometimes it is very difficult, especially when you are a teenager and there are no parents nearby to remind you of this. To become a good player, you need to work a lot on your own in the gym, and you can't limit yourself with team practices. I train my skills and physical strength every day. Usually in the evening after dinner, when the gym is free, I come and work on dribbling skills and do shooting drills as well. My rule is: if there is an opportunity to go to a party or to the gym, I always choose to go to the gym. Because I know that I need to do a lot of work with myself to become even better and more effective."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "Stephen Curry, I like his style of game, particularly how he makes his three-point shots from any angle. Also, he makes a ton of assists and I admire his drives and his attitude towards the game with how passionate he is in each game."



Who do you look up to as a role models?

  • "I look up to my parents as a person because of how they manage financial aspects, and guide me every day through my emotions and help me out in tough situations."


It’s still early, but what are you looking forward to in your junior season?

  • "I hope that all the scheduled games and tournaments will happen this season. Also, I look forward to spending the maximum amount of time on the court and showing all the skills that I have improved over the summer. Hopefully, this will give a good result in the game and help my team win the championship. My junior season will be a good opportunity to prove myself as a good promising player for the college coaches and I expect them to contact me."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "If you have a dream, make it a goal for yourself. Don't be afraid of changes in your life."




Alina Abdulina Sophomore Offseason Tape (2020-2021)


Alina Abdulina Freshman Season Highlights (2019-2020)



High School Coach Information

Isiah Anderson - Email


Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page