top of page

Former Susquehanna Township guard Kamya Jenkins has transferred to Bishop McDevitt



Kamya “Lil Bit” Jenkins hasn’t had an easy going prep career. Jenkins has gone through two ACL injuries in the same knee in the matter of two years. She’s probably spent more time in rehabilitation than on the court and it has taken a toll on the rising junior.


After two years of being enrolled at Susquehanna Township, Jenkins has told me that she has transferred to Bishop McDevitt and will spend her last two years there.


She will be teaming up with Kennedy O’Brien (2022 Guard), Sophia Formica (2024 Guard), Olivia Grella (2024 Guard), Taylor Foster (2022 Wing) and some of her old teammates in Kalea Ferguson (2023 Guard) and Sanai Moore (2022 Guard) once she’s cleared from injury.


I caught up with Jenkins in an interview as we talked about why she transferred into McDevitt and her expectations heading into junior season.

 

KAMYA JENKINS INTERVIEW

Hello Kamya! Long time no see, how’s everything been?

  • ”Since the last time we spoke, I had a great season in AAU while coming back off my first ACL repair. Got some looks and possible offers coming from the season. Then, we had a late start to my sophomore season due to COVID. I wasn’t able to workout and condition like I wanted to and was hoping to have a great season once we returned to playing. We quickly returned in January and I had to play both JV and Varsity, which was something I didn’t expect. I had a great game against Trinity bringing the team back into a chance of winning but we weren’t able to pull it off. Got some good minutes and put in a lot of effort to come back strong, but got injured again in February against McDevitt. So I am in the process of a comeback this season at McDevitt. I look forward to helping them out once I am cleared to play.”


Having your 2nd ACL injury 2 years apart, describe how you went down the second time early this year.

  • “Honestly it’s kinda of hard of to say because I was in the Motion of saving the ball out of bounce and when I was turning at the same time, my leg didn’t follow through. I fell down and I heard it pop so I was in shock.”


Let’s get to the real question. Why are you transferring to Bishop McDevitt?

  • ”So, I’ve been at the Hanna most of my life and my family have had many discussions on things that needed to change and haven’t changed in education there. My mom and relatives are alumini. My parents wanted for my siblings and I to go to McDevitt, but knew financially they could not make that happen with three kids. My sister was the first to graduate from the Hanna and her experience was not what my parents wanted for her. She could have gone further in her cheerleading career if circumstances were better and she was pushed by her teachers to continue her education today. She is an entrepreneur doing nails and also went to school for Medical Assistance and is a phlebotomist. She chose that path based on her experience at the Hanna and not wanting to waste our parents money knowing she did not want to go to college. Then my brother graduated in 2019 from the Hanna and is going to Saint Francis University for track and field. But the Hanna upset my parents when they found out my brother was a credit and a half short for NCAA requirements for Division 1 to compete, and or practice with the team and he lost money expected. So again I could not go to McDevitt my freshman year as my brother and I were both a freshman as well and he needed the money. So nowadays we have found it affordable as my brother and I both enter our junior years, our parents want better for me and I want better for me and I look at this as business. I want to do better so they won’t have to worry about me in the future.”


Going from public to private school isn’t an easy transition. How do you think the transition will be going to McDevitt?

  • “The good thing about going into a new school, I have some friends that I grew up with that are letting me know what’s expected at McDevitt. I believe I can follow those expectations that they have at there school.”


What are your expectations heading into junior season once you’re clear to play?

  • “I will be getting cleared pretty soon, but the major thing is staying healthy so I can play a full year for the season. Definitely putting up big numbers and helping out McDevitt as much as I can.“


Do you have any more words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • ”Just remember that you can do all things through christ who strengthens you.”



Twitter


High School Coach Information

Joel Falcone - Email

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page