top of page

The Dejah Hill Interview

Updated: Oct 13, 2021


It's towards the end of summer and the AAU live period has wrapped up for prospective basketball players. Many student-athletes are now focusing on college applications, visits, preparing for fall showcases and bringing the same intensity, or in this case, lessons back to their school teams heading into their winter start dates.


I caught up once again with Dejah Hill on her college recruitment, summer ball and a fun filled questionnaire in which she provided a lot of thoughtful answers. She's a rising senior at Cumberland Valley who averaged 7.6 points and 5.6 rebounds per game in her junior season. Hill is expected to play a huge role alongside Division 1 recruit, JIll Jekot this upcoming season. Below is our interview!

 

THE DEJAH HILL INTERVIEW

Hello D Hill, welcome back to the blog! How's everything been with you since our last encounter?

  • "I’ve been really good! I’ve kept myself pretty busy everyday with workouts either for school ball or AAU. Most days it’s a mix between both and my own workouts."


How was the AAU season?

  • "AAU season was very successful with Mid Penn Motion. We played a lot of really good teams that helped us prepare for collegiate sports and our last year of high school ball. Overall, AAU this year was a lot of fun and meaningful because it was my last season."


How’s your college recruitment been going?

  • "Ever since this AAU season, my college recruitment has seemed to increase. Our team consisted of many hard workers, so I think our success in games is tied to the increase in interest. So far, I’ve visited Lock Haven, Bloomsburg, Saint Francis, Holy Family, Gettysburg, Susquehanna, Shenandoah and Misericordia. I currently hold an offer from Lock Haven."


Touching more on your future, have you considered any possible majors that you would want to study in college?

  • "I’ve always wanted to have a career in the health field, so I think health sciences or biology would be a great major for me! My dream career is to become a physician assistant, so a health science major would be perfect to get me into graduate school."


What is your favorite subject in school?

  • "My favorite subject in school is any science class. I’m going to be taking anatomy and physiology this year, and I’m looking forward to it because I think it’ll help me succeed in the health field. I love learning about anything that has to do with science and how the body functions."


If it wasn’t for basketball, what would you be doing in your past time?

  • "If I wasn’t playing basketball, I think I’d either be involved in track or swimming. I have a lot of respect for both of those sports because they take a lot of endurance."


What’s your music taste like?

  • "My music taste is all over the place. I like pretty much anything. Some of my favorite artists would probably be Kane Brown, Giveon and Khalid."


What are some of your favorite shows and movies of all time?

  • "My favorite movie is The Pursuit of Happiness because it shows that life gets better through perseverance and the determination to make it better and work hard. My favorite show is the vampire diaries because I can never predict what’s going to happen."


Who would you want to play you in a movie of your life?

  • "If there was a movie about my life I’d want Zendaya to play me because she seems so positive and lighthearted."


If a millionaire decides to fund your all expenses paid one week trip to anywhere, where would you go and what would you do?

  • "If a millionaire decides to fund all my expenses on a trip I’d definitely go to Italy because a majority of my family is from there. I’ve never gotten the opportunity to go there but it seems like a beautiful country with unique cultures. I’d use the money to travel all around Italy and even some surrounding countries to sight see and spend the week."


What’s your most controversial unpopular opinion?

  • "My most controversial unpopular opinion is waking up really early is so much better than waking up late. When I wake up early, I get such a good start to my morning and get so much more done."


If you could make a difference in the world, what would you be known for?

  • "If I could make a difference in the world, I’d want to be known for showing people that it’s okay to fail as long as you get up and work harder the next time. We all make mistakes, the difference is whether or not we try to advance from those mistakes."


You’re now a senior. The most memorable and exciting year of high school and there are a lot of emotions that comes with it. What are your most and least looking forward to this upcoming academic year?

  • "I’m very excited for senior year as a whole. Academically, I’m most excited to take anatomy and physiology so it can help me in my future career. I'm also excited to announce a college decision that is the best for me! Athletically, I’m so excited to experience senior night and have my mother and grandparents walk out with me. It’s just such a wholesome experience with the people who have supported me since day one. One thing I’m not looking forward to is saying goodbye to all of my friends because after senior year I won’t get to see them all every day. Thinking about senior year is exciting yet intimidating because once it’s over, a new chapter of my life begins."


MEDIA COVERAGE ON DEJAH HILL





Prep Scene/Linglestown Gazette Girls Fab15 team https://prepscene.org/girls-fab15-2021/




Twitter @DejahHill13


High School Coach Information

Bill Wolf - Email



Comments


bottom of page