top of page

Player Profile: Jaydon Laudermilch (Harrisburg, PA)

Updated: Nov 30, 2022


Name: Jaydon Laudermilch


Height: 6 Feet


Position: Point Guard/Shooting Guard


High School: Hillcrest Prep (AZ)


Post-Graduation Year: 2023


Status: Uncommitted


Jaydon Laudermilch is a 6-foot Combo Guard from Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. He's currently a senior at Central Dauphin High School. Laudermilch most recently made the decision to attend Hillcrest Prep after graduation to continue his student-athlete career. I caught up with the 2023 prospect about his senior season, the decision on Hillcrest Prep and preparation moving forward in his career.

 

BREAKDOWN:


STRENGTHS

  • Can score at all three levels.

  • Finishes smoothly in the paint.

  • High IQ Passer

  • Improved Ball Handling

  • Knockdown shooter from three.

  • Makes everybody around him better.

  • One of the smoothest shooters in the Mid Penn.

  • Versatile Prospect

Jaydon Laudermilch was one of the best kept secret in the Mid Penn. The 2023 prospect is a smooth scorer from all three levels with a very high IQ and makes everybody around him better. Laudermilch is tough when penetrating the gaps as he possesses strong ball handling skills, and body control to finish through contact. Laudermilch's best ability is within his shooting. The senior guard goes on hot shooting streaks and isn't afraid to light the perimeter up. He's excellent off the catch and shoot as he stays shot ready. Laudermilch is a player you can count on to get you a bucket. Kid has a bright future!


THINGS TO IMPROVE ON

  • Becoming a sharper on-ball defender.

  • Building a muscular frame/getting stronger.

Jayden Laudermilch has the tools and drive to be special, but here are some things that the sharpshooter can work on. Becoming a better on-ball defender is a must for Laudermilch. Laudermilch isn't afraid to guard the opposition's best player, but becoming more sharp on the ball when reading a ball handler's hips and rotations, he will need to work on especially preparing for college later. Another thing that Laudermilch will need to work on is getting stronger. He's currently working on his lower body strength in order to become stronger in his hips and for agility. He's improved his strength throughout the offseason within a building a frame. But this is just a few pointers before he heads out west.

 

Jaydon Laudermilch Interview

When did you first start playing basketball?

"I started playing basketball when I was in 3rd grade, and I played in the STYBA league."

Describe your game.

"My game is based off of shooting from anywhere on the floor and me having the ability to score at any level. I am a offensive minded guard, but can lock up at the same time. I think my game is more fundamental. I have a little class to it here and there. But I really base my game off of shooting and getting to the basket no matter who is guarding me. I'm also the type to share the ball with my amazing passing IQ. I get everyone shots on the floor."

How would you describe your time at Central Dauphin High School?

"Central dauphin was interesting. I was cool with everyone and I didn't get into any trouble. For me, I’m going to prep to take more classes because my academics at Central Dauphin wasn’t the best."

How was your senior year?

"My senior year was one of the most improved years in basketball for me. Although I wasn’t a starter, I was getting starter minutes. I got one offer from my senior year, and I was able to get enough film to show even more coaches. It was a great year to end it with high school basketball."

What are some takeaways from your senior season?

"Some things that went well for me was having teammates around me that were ready to compete. Me being able to shoot with confidence, play my game, and being able to stay consistent with how I play each game. Things that weren’t so well was the fact that I was the second leading scorer coming off the bench, and I wouldn’t be in when they needed me the most."

What ultimately pushed you to make the decision on taking a post-grad year, and choose Hillcrest Prep?

"Well since I didn’t really play at all my junior year, every coach I have got in contact wanted to see what I could do with another year. So I have been thinking what if I go prep school for one year and that’s kinda it. I believe it was the best route for me if I want to continue playing basketball. I chose Hillcrest because I felt it was right. I had decisions and opportunities from prep schools such as Scotland, Mt. Zion Prep and Experience Academy. Out of those schools, no school has wanted me and talked to me like Hillcrest was. And, prep school is about business. The more they want you the less you have to pay."

What ultimately pushed you to make the decision to take a post-grad year, and choose Hillcrest Prep?

"Well since I didn’t really play at all my junior year, and every coach I have got in contact wanted to see what I could do with another year. So I have been thinking what if I go prep school for one year and that’s kinda it. I believe it was the best route for me if I want to continue playing basketball. I chose Hillcrest because I felt it was right. I had decisions and opportunities from prep schools such as Scotland, Mt Zion Prep and Experience Academy. Out of those schools, no school has wanted me and talked to me like Hillcrest was. And, prep school is about business. The more they want you the less you have to pay."

In terms of your college recruitment, how do you feel prep basketball will help with your exposure?

"From seeing players come out of Hillcrest, I expect to be to a totally different player coming out of their. Prep is a year to get better and to get more experience on the court before college, and that’s what I expect it to do which is get me better. I expect that if I do my thing, offers will start rolling in with the coaches we got there."

You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

"To make myself a better player right now, I am focusing on my mindset going into the prep year and college. I am trying to become the best player I can on and off the court. Coaches look at more on how you play and I want to focus on my body language. As far as skill wise, I have been training every day in the morning to make sure I don’t get rusty. I believe my mindset and attitude will be a big part this year for me."

Which athlete do you look up to the most?

"The athlete I look up to the most would be Kevin Durant. I look up to him because of what he does every game before he plays. He does a routine before every game. He touches the back of his numbers and in the front and that’s because of his high school coach that passed. I look up to him for that reason because that is his why of playing basketball and that's what keeps him pushing and why he keeps playing the game. All because of a 'why'. That is what I am trying to accomplish and set for myself while playing basketball. I also feel like Kevin Durant is the best scorer in the league and I wanna be called one of the best scorers one day."

Who do you look up to as role models?

"Coaches I look up to would have to be my trainers, Joe Stasyszyn and his son, Jordan at Unleashed Potential. They have pushed me more then any trainer or coach I know, mentally and physically. They are one of the best trainers in the area. Not only did they start working with me and I see the results already, but that they will get me to be the best player I can be."

What are your plans moving forward to help you prepare for the transition into prep basketball?

"I will be in the gym 24/7 until I head out to Hillcrest. I want to show up looking different, then I was on film.

Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

"All I have to say is anybody that plays a sport and things are going your way, just do not give up. That is one of the worst decisions you can make in life. Your time is coming. Just stay focused and have faith."


Jaydon Laudermilch - Hillcrest Prep - Class of 2023



Jaydon Laudermilch 2022 Spring AAU Highlights - Driven From Within



Jaydon Laudermilch Senior Season Mix (2021-2022)



Twitter: @JayLaudermilch





Komentarze


bottom of page